We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay - female backpackers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Singgahsana Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Singgahsana Lodge to your Saves list
Singgahsana Lodge
2.0 of 5 Villa   |   1 Leboh Temple | 1 Temple Street, Kuching 93000, Malaysia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dehradun, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very nice stay - female backpackers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

If you are locking for a niceplace in kuching, than this is the place to be. A little expensive, but the athmosphere was nice, clean and comfortable. There a dorms for 30 rm and twin for 88. Familyrooms for 118. In the center of the city. Friendly personal. Cheap Laundry service. Good choice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    79
    26
    15
    4
See reviews for
24
86
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Hostel is quite nice, staff very friendly. They also have a travel agency which is pretty overpriced in my opinion. Breakfast is quite minimalistic for the price. Big Downer: our room was infested by bedbugs, which is quite a nightmare

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We recently traveled to Kuching and used Singgahsana as a base on 3 different occassions. Our original tour booking had to be moved back a day so we needed to change the dates of our accom and this was no problem at all. The lodge is in a great location to lots of good cheap food, the Chinese and Indian quarters and a stones throw from the waterfront. The lodge itself is in great condition with a nice rooftop bar and some nice travel photos lining the walls. Staff were very friendly and helpful in trying to re-organise our plans and the wi-fi in the lobby ended up saving us a lot of hassle.

Breakfast was slightly dissapointing, with just 2 slices of bread and one kind of fruit. We always seemed to need to pay for a second breakfast.

Be warned, some of the rooms upsatirs are facing the road and it can be very noisy at night. We unfortunately got one of these on our 3rd stay and had a hard time sleeping before our 5am flight in the morning. The downstairs rooms "with loft" were definitely the top pick.

Room Tip: The superior room with loft was the quietest we experienced and tastefully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Singgahsana Hostel is the best hostel I stayed at while I traveled KK, Mulu, Miri, Kuching in April 2013. The first thing that struck me when I entered is its cleanliness, then really hospitable manager named MAC, timeless simplicity and décor, and comfort of this adorable place. I think that Singahsana hostel sets the high standards for hostels and should be a model for all to follow.
There are really cheap eateries right across the street that serve really tasty noodle dishes. I had dinner and lunch in one of the eateries (I think it’s third) to the right of the hostel. There was a young man cooking a noodle dish by the sidewalk, he spoke English and prepared a Gluten free meal! He didn’t know what GF is but with basic English, he understood what has/not gluten. I also had calamansi (small lime) juice but had to pay two different people for food then drinks. Next day, I returned for lunch and the cook came to me and returned money he said I’d paid twice the night before. To encourage honesty, I gave him a small reward which he was at first hesitant to receive.
While planning my itinerary to Sarawak, I did not plan on going to Kuching at all as I have read that a bit of tourists go there. Didn’t want to be where most foreigners go but when I arrived in Malaysia, a few travelers had strongly recommended Kuching without my asking. I am so glad I heeded their advise about this special place and highly prized locals. If you are not sure about going to Kuching, my advise now would be to go and experience its beauty for yourself. By the way, also spend a night at Bako National Park.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed 5 nights here and found everyone extremely friendly. The room was decent for a lodge and a great place to meet people, especially in the rooftop bar. The only negative thing I could say is the breakfast but there are so many good restaurants around, I didn't really have breakfast there.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and will definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
506 helpful votes 506 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

After a long journey was greeted by friendly people, checked in and shown to our family room. The room came with a double bed and bunk beds for kids 10+12 with private bathroom. HC shower and room had AC. Not huge but ok.
Breakfast at the roof top bar was a great way to start to the day. Centrally located and within easy walk of places of interest and shopping.
They organised and assisted with our tours and provided a great packed lunch for Bako day trip.
The place is filled with a mixture of travellers and my family felt very comfortable and safe here, even chilling out in the bar area upstairs at the end of a busy day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

At the time it was my first hostel in Borneo and it still is my favourite. Staff are helpful and friendly - they helped me find my own way to Bako, the caves near Bau and Seminggoh. The dorm was AC'd, clean and safe - standard price. The bar on the roof is awesome for hanging out and meeting people. Breakfast in the morning is toast, coffee/tea, juice and toast. The toast is good, did I mention the toast? Good value all round.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Singgahsana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singgahsana Lodge

Address: 1 Leboh Temple | 1 Temple Street, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Singgahsana Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Singgahsana Lodge is a concept guesthouse by travelers for travelers. Guests wake up each day knowing that they are in exotic Sarawak, Malaysian Borneo in rooms tastefully fitted out with local arts and crafts collected from the 30 or more ethnic tribes of Sarawak. Travel information abounds and the generous common areas are most conducive to sharing travel tales and information with others. Singgahsana has become the haven for travelers to Kuching and is highly recommended in all guide books. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Singgahsana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singgahsana Hotel Kuching
Singgahsana Lodge Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Singgahsana Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.