We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel with wrong wifi charges” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour View Hotel

Save Saved
You added Harbour View Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lorong Temple, Kuching 93100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 47 hotels in Kuching
liège
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“nice hotel with wrong wifi charges”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Hello,
this hotel has comfortable rooms and bathrooms, very clean and of course an awesome view...

Unfortunately they charge you incredibly high prices for wifi connections... 25AUD / day and more than 10AUD for the first hour!!! In a period where you can buy a 3G sim card for 40AUD they should revise their policy...

have a nice stay in sydney!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear 9213olivier,

Thank you for your review!

We are surprised with your comment on our wifi charges as we provide free wifi to all room guest. I believe that your review may have been written for Harbour View Hotel in Sydney.

Anyway, we look forward to welcoming you to Kuching, Malaysia soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    62
    43
    9
    7
See reviews for
26
31
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sri Aman
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Harbour View Hotel is centrally located in Kuching. It is within walking distance to Kuching Waterfront, which is along the banks of the Sarawak River. The Kuching Waterfront is a popular tourist attraction. You can stroll along or can sit down on the benches and enjoy the scenic view of the Malay kampong across the river. The river is very clean and the calmness of the water gives you peace of mind. You can also find food stalls selling drinks and food there.There are many hotels of international standard around here. The Parkson Plaza is close by. Just opposite the hotel, you can visit the oldest temple in Kuching. There is also a cinema close by. There are many local restaurants nearby. I enjoy my stay at the hotel, though I spent only one night there.

Room Tip: Choose high level room. You can have scenic view of Kuching Town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Ahmad A,

Thank you for your review!

We are glad that you enjoyed your trip to Kuching and that we were able to be of service to you. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly should you required any assistance. We look forward to welcoming you and your guest again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have stayed at the " The Harbour View Hotel "a number of times and have always found it to be clean ,convenient and with staff who view serving the public a privilege. The first time I was there the bathroom was not " up to scratch " my complaint to the manager brought an immediate apology and a change of room to a far superior one . Their breakfast is one of the highlights for me , and always sets me up for a day of touring.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Ray A,

Thank you for your review!

We are glad that you have stayed with us on many occasion. However, we do apologise for any setbacks you experienced. The management will look into the matter seriously.

Do contact us if you need any assistance. We will be glad to be of service to you again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gombak
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Was in Kuching in March 2013 for business trip. First time in Kuching and really hoping that the hotel will be nice and comfortable. The location of the hotel is really strategic, as it is situated really in the heart of Kuching. The view from the room is over looking the river and Hilton, Riverside Majestic was just in walking distance. It was a decent sized room which is alright for a Deluxe but it was a bit gloomy. Everything was alright until i squashed a creepy crawly wandering around the table. At the end of my stay, three of those creatures have been squashed by the provided Astro magazine. Suggestion to the management : Please do some upgrading to your lovely hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We do apologise about the creepy crawly incident. We have called our pest treatment team to look into the matter.

Rest assured that we are constantly looking into upgrading of the hotel, products and services to provide better service to all our guest. We hope that this incident will not hinder you from choosing us again on your next trip to Kuching.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here with an Exodus group in Feb 2013. The room was small but adequate, but ours overlooked the road and there was a lot of traffic noise, even on the 5th floor! Good choice for breakfast, good location near waterfront, eating places and the bazaar. We ate at Brookes bistro, just around the corner. The food was outstanding.

Room Tip: Try avoid rooms over-looking the road, the traffic is non-stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for choosing us and for your review.

We do apologise about the noise from the busy streets. However, we are glad that you enjoyed your trip to Kuching and the food here.

Should you return to our hotel, do request for a higher floor facing the riverfront instead. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Reasonable price hotel in Kuching? You may opt for Harbour View Hotel which located conveniently in front of waterfront. Very accessible to other attractions in Kuching. Rooms are clean. Elevator space quite limited. Please request for river view, awesome! Overall,if you're looking for average price hotel, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and your compliment! We are certainly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you had a great time in Kuching.

We hope to see you again soon. Do contact us if you need any assistance or enquiry.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Pros - Quiet, clean room, water pressure is good, walking distance to chinatown, waterfront and eateries.

Cons - With the kind of hotel rates, they should provide daily newspaper. From the exterior looks, it is definitely not a backpacker hotel but they charge for extra coffee and tea bags (a very small item) .... I rated it below average.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Mr Thomas,

We thank you for your review but apologise for the shortfall. Daily newspaper is available upon request during check in for the whole duration of the stay. Our staff have been reminded to inform guest on newspaper request.

We only charge a very minimal amount for 2nd refill onwards during the day and we also apologise that the daily complimentary coffee and tea provided in the room was insufficient for you.

Rest assure we will look into these shortfalls and hope to improve in our service to you. Should you need further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Hotel

Address: Lorong Temple, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 47 hotels in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour View Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Kuching
Harbour View Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.