We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my cup of tea” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour View Hotel

Save Saved
You added Harbour View Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbour View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lorong Temple, Kuching 93100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 47 hotels in Kuching
Gombak
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Not my cup of tea”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Was in Kuching in March 2013 for business trip. First time in Kuching and really hoping that the hotel will be nice and comfortable. The location of the hotel is really strategic, as it is situated really in the heart of Kuching. The view from the room is over looking the river and Hilton, Riverside Majestic was just in walking distance. It was a decent sized room which is alright for a Deluxe but it was a bit gloomy. Everything was alright until i squashed a creepy crawly wandering around the table. At the end of my stay, three of those creatures have been squashed by the provided Astro magazine. Suggestion to the management : Please do some upgrading to your lovely hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We do apologise about the creepy crawly incident. We have called our pest treatment team to look into the matter.

Rest assured that we are constantly looking into upgrading of the hotel, products and services to provide better service to all our guest. We hope that this incident will not hinder you from choosing us again on your next trip to Kuching.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    62
    42
    9
    7
See reviews for
26
31
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thorne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here with an Exodus group in Feb 2013. The room was small but adequate, but ours overlooked the road and there was a lot of traffic noise, even on the 5th floor! Good choice for breakfast, good location near waterfront, eating places and the bazaar. We ate at Brookes bistro, just around the corner. The food was outstanding.

Room Tip: Try avoid rooms over-looking the road, the traffic is non-stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for choosing us and for your review.

We do apologise about the noise from the busy streets. However, we are glad that you enjoyed your trip to Kuching and the food here.

Should you return to our hotel, do request for a higher floor facing the riverfront instead. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Reasonable price hotel in Kuching? You may opt for Harbour View Hotel which located conveniently in front of waterfront. Very accessible to other attractions in Kuching. Rooms are clean. Elevator space quite limited. Please request for river view, awesome! Overall,if you're looking for average price hotel, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and your compliment! We are certainly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you had a great time in Kuching.

We hope to see you again soon. Do contact us if you need any assistance or enquiry.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Pros - Quiet, clean room, water pressure is good, walking distance to chinatown, waterfront and eateries.

Cons - With the kind of hotel rates, they should provide daily newspaper. From the exterior looks, it is definitely not a backpacker hotel but they charge for extra coffee and tea bags (a very small item) .... I rated it below average.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Mr Thomas,

We thank you for your review but apologise for the shortfall. Daily newspaper is available upon request during check in for the whole duration of the stay. Our staff have been reminded to inform guest on newspaper request.

We only charge a very minimal amount for 2nd refill onwards during the day and we also apologise that the daily complimentary coffee and tea provided in the room was insufficient for you.

Rest assure we will look into these shortfalls and hope to improve in our service to you. Should you need further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skivarp, Sweden
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Harbour View is a low price alternative in Kuching perfectly situated by the basars and the riverside.
Rooms are clean and all you need is available except a good Wi-fi. Wi-fi is sometimes available in the lobby but sometimes not at all and always with a low speed connection. It is thus hardly usebale as business hotel. The highlight is the breakfast in Sarawakan style but with an excellent omelett cook always ready to meet your own demands for spices etc.To change money there are many facilities a 100 meters away bur compare prices they are really different. The 7th and 11th floor are smoke free which by some chinese or malay people is interpreted that they can smoke in the corridor outside the smoke free room. When I made the staff aware of it they sent someone to let fresh air into the corridor. The staff is very friendly so if they only could install a working Wi-fi this could also be a nice business hotel.

Room Tip: try floor 7th or 11th like 1115 or 615 a little bit away from the lift and with nice view over the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and your compliment on our service. However, we do apologise on the shortfall. Glad to inform that we are in the midst of upgrading our wifi service.

We hope to have you with us again in future. Do contact us if you have any enquiries.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibu, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

i, for one, whenever i have time to go to Kuching, be it on vacation or on official business, will go to this hotel first. Not unless it's full, or beyond my means, only then i go for another place, with a heavy heart, of course. I love HarbourView @ HV as it is known locally.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for your compliment and glad to hear that we are your number 1 prefered hotel in Kuching.

We look forward to welcoming you again at "HV"!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

If you are working with a budget of USD 60 per night - then this is the best hotel for that value in Kuching. It is right in the middle of town near all the best bars, cafes, local coffee shops, and shopping malls and the extra bonus is it's literally a 2 minute walk from the Kuching waterfront! I like to run in the mornings and it was really super convenient to run every morning right outside my hotel by the waterfront. There are several great Chinese coffee shops around the left of the hotel, about 1 minute walking distance away... which serves my absolute FAVORITE local noodle dish, 'mee kolok' which is an instant noodle type noodle served either dry or in a soup with caramelized pork slices on top. Absolute HEAVEN. If you want to grab a nice cold beer at the waterfront while watching the sunset I recommend the James Brooke Bistro. You can't beat a USD 3 dollar beer with a great view! There are a couple of really cool restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. If you want an old school funky deco type restaurant and bar, try The Junk and Bla Bla Bla. They serve dinner and both have a bar for drinks after if you fancy.

In terms of my sleep quality. This hotel was good. The bed was nice. The bathroom was clean. And I couldnt hear any noise from the street below. So all light sleepers.... BOOK this hotel!!

Room Tip: Choose a high floor, facing the waterfront. The view will take your breath away EVERY MORNING.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your generous compliment! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the breath taking view from your room.

We strive to provide the best service to all our guest and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Hotel

Address: Lorong Temple, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 47 hotels in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour View Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Kuching
Harbour View Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;