We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect situated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour View Hotel

Save Saved
You added Harbour View Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Booking.com
and 9 more sites!
Harbour View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lorong Temple, Kuching 93100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 42 hotels in Kuching
Skivarp, Sweden
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Perfect situated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Harbour View is a low price alternative in Kuching perfectly situated by the basars and the riverside.
Rooms are clean and all you need is available except a good Wi-fi. Wi-fi is sometimes available in the lobby but sometimes not at all and always with a low speed connection. It is thus hardly usebale as business hotel. The highlight is the breakfast in Sarawakan style but with an excellent omelett cook always ready to meet your own demands for spices etc.To change money there are many facilities a 100 meters away bur compare prices they are really different. The 7th and 11th floor are smoke free which by some chinese or malay people is interpreted that they can smoke in the corridor outside the smoke free room. When I made the staff aware of it they sent someone to let fresh air into the corridor. The staff is very friendly so if they only could install a working Wi-fi this could also be a nice business hotel.

Room Tip: try floor 7th or 11th like 1115 or 615 a little bit away from the lift and with nice view over the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and your compliment on our service. However, we do apologise on the shortfall. Glad to inform that we are in the midst of upgrading our wifi service.

We hope to have you with us again in future. Do contact us if you have any enquiries.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    60
    36
    8
    7
See reviews for
24
29
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sibu, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

i, for one, whenever i have time to go to Kuching, be it on vacation or on official business, will go to this hotel first. Not unless it's full, or beyond my means, only then i go for another place, with a heavy heart, of course. I love HarbourView @ HV as it is known locally.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for your compliment and glad to hear that we are your number 1 prefered hotel in Kuching.

We look forward to welcoming you again at "HV"!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

If you are working with a budget of USD 60 per night - then this is the best hotel for that value in Kuching. It is right in the middle of town near all the best bars, cafes, local coffee shops, and shopping malls and the extra bonus is it's literally a 2 minute walk from the Kuching waterfront! I like to run in the mornings and it was really super convenient to run every morning right outside my hotel by the waterfront. There are several great Chinese coffee shops around the left of the hotel, about 1 minute walking distance away... which serves my absolute FAVORITE local noodle dish, 'mee kolok' which is an instant noodle type noodle served either dry or in a soup with caramelized pork slices on top. Absolute HEAVEN. If you want to grab a nice cold beer at the waterfront while watching the sunset I recommend the James Brooke Bistro. You can't beat a USD 3 dollar beer with a great view! There are a couple of really cool restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. If you want an old school funky deco type restaurant and bar, try The Junk and Bla Bla Bla. They serve dinner and both have a bar for drinks after if you fancy.

In terms of my sleep quality. This hotel was good. The bed was nice. The bathroom was clean. And I couldnt hear any noise from the street below. So all light sleepers.... BOOK this hotel!!

Room Tip: Choose a high floor, facing the waterfront. The view will take your breath away EVERY MORNING.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your generous compliment! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the breath taking view from your room.

We strive to provide the best service to all our guest and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminyak, Indonesia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

One of my favorite place to stay in Kuching. The hotel staff were nice and friendly. Breakfast was good, too. There are also many food stall near by the hotel area. Water front is within distance. Shopping center is just around 10 minutes walk from hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for choosing us as your prefered hotel in Kuching. It's been a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to see you soon!

Meanwhile, regards and take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Near to food and shopping and a Cinema right next to it. My usual hotel each time I'm in Kuching. Just across the road is the river taking a stroll by the river is relaxing or having a cup of coffee by the river to help clear the mind.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for your time to review our hotel. We are also glad that you liked our location and you were able to relax at the waterfront.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have read in the "lonely planet " about this hotel and expected a good hotel. But is was not more than 3 star. The room we had was very small and all the things looked a bit worn out. The service staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast a bit meager.
Positiv is the center location of this hotel, but that it is really. Do not expect to much.
This hotel was part of a round trip, so I cannot say anything about the price relation.
Good enough for a stay of 1 or 2 days.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loomis ca
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stumbled on this after returning early from Bako. It was recommended by a guide we ran into. Good mid range price, modern, nice amenities, beautiful view, pretty clean. We were very pleased and would definitely return. Great location just a few blocks from the esplanade. This hotel seems to cater to Asian families rather than westerners. A definite plus. They seem to know good value

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Hotel

Also Known As:
Harbour View Kuching
Harbour View Hotel Kuching, Sarawak
Address: Lorong Temple, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 42 hotels in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour View Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Venere, Fastbooking and Otel so you can book your Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.