We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour View Hotel

Save Saved
You added Harbour View Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Harbour View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lorong Temple, Kuching 93100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 42 hotels in Kuching
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have read in the "lonely planet " about this hotel and expected a good hotel. But is was not more than 3 star. The room we had was very small and all the things looked a bit worn out. The service staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast a bit meager.
Positiv is the center location of this hotel, but that it is really. Do not expect to much.
This hotel was part of a round trip, so I cannot say anything about the price relation.
Good enough for a stay of 1 or 2 days.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    60
    36
    8
    7
See reviews for
24
29
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
loomis ca
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stumbled on this after returning early from Bako. It was recommended by a guide we ran into. Good mid range price, modern, nice amenities, beautiful view, pretty clean. We were very pleased and would definitely return. Great location just a few blocks from the esplanade. This hotel seems to cater to Asian families rather than westerners. A definite plus. They seem to know good value

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

The hotel location is so strategic. We rented a car for our holiday but decided to walk bcause it is very near to the main bazaar n the watefront!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketapang
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The location of this hotel is excellent, and puts you within a few minutes walk of everything downtown - taxis are always parked out front if you need to go further afield. I chose this hotel over others that looked to have a bit more character because it looked well run and had complimentary internet in each of the rooms (my partner had to work for some of our trip so this was important). Internet access can of course be patchy anywhere, but it was frustrating that this was advertised as a feature of the hotel, but once we got the hotel there were notices everywhere that internet is never guaranteed and may not work. It didn't work once in our 4-day stay. It would be more honest is this was published up front at the point of booking, or not advertised as a feature at all.

Highlights are that the breakfast is good with a good combination of local and western options, if a little expensive at 20R extra per person per day, and the beds were really comfy. Low points were the cockroaches in the bedroom and bathroom, and the bathroom being quite run down overall.

Overall, it it actually a comfortable place to stay and the location is great, but it's worth checking out other options before booking.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a view of the river - be sure to ask for one if you want to see sunset over the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I can't comment on value for money as my stay in this hotel was part of an organised tour. But the location is fantastic, they offer an adequate breakfast in the mornings (although it is very busy and they are somewhat slow to replenish. The coffee is best left alone). The room was a great size, very clean, lovely bathroom and the shower had good pressure. There are lots of restaurants near by as well as the 'shopping district'. I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

My excellent rating for this hotel is very much influenced by the excellent service I received for the modest price I paid, everytime when I checked in. It is quite surprising my first choice city stay in Kuching will remain to be this 3-star rated hotel. Do not expect extravagance when you enter Harbour View; the environment conforms to her 3-star rating. But this hotel vigorously pursue excellence in her core business, which is service, and making you feel comfortable away from home. Checking in and out is never a problem. Room quality is very good value, but request for higher floor and river-facing rooms for a more comforting stay. Buffet breakfast is very modest, however a la carte menu more than makes up for this insignificant shortcoming....after all, my eating choices when in Kuching are well-pampered by the excellent restaurants nearby. The location offers the best walking distance (compared to other major hotels in the area) to the water front shops, but above all, the staff here will always do their best to make you feel at home....this pretty much seals the deal :-)

Room Tip: Request for any number 12 room from 9th floor onwards - 1312 the best. The most panoramic view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

The taxi coupon from Kuching International Airport to the hotel is RM26.
Once arrived in the hotel, we checked in and got a view facing to the river and the temple. There are restaurant all over the area but make sure not too late to go to the local restaurant as they close early. The river cruise just opposite the hotel and a lot of historical building within the walking distant. The main bazaar is very close within 5 minutes walk (or less).

We book a tour with Interworld Travel Services (opposite the hotel) to Semenggoh Nature Reserve for orang utan , Damai Central and Sarawak Culture Village. The tour packages is very reasonable.

The wifi connection is stable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Hotel

Also Known As:
Harbour View Kuching
Harbour View Hotel Kuching, Sarawak
Address: Lorong Temple, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 42 hotels in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour View Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Venere, Otel and Fastbooking so you can book your Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.