We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average service given to me” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Telang Usan Hotel Kuching

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Telang Usan Hotel Kuching to your Saves list
Telang Usan Hotel Kuching
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ban Hock Road,, Kuching 93724, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Kuching
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“average service given to me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

room in bad shape, constructions going on during my stay

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    14
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
15
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

This is a good, simple budget option for Kuching. I stayed here along with two colleagues on a recent visit as per the recommendation of our local office. The rooms are simple and scarcely decorated. The staff was friendly and helpful. The coffee was ok at breakfast which is included in the cost.

My only complaint would be the large number of smokers who sit at the only social area-- They are allowed to smoke right past the lobby area but if you'd like to sit with your laptop to do work, you have to either endure the chain smoking around you or go somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

I was in Kuching from 1 - 5 July 2010 with friends from Bundaberg. We booked the hotel in early 2010 and received a prompt and friendly reply from the Reservations. We arrived on a delayed & late flight in Kuching exhausted. The hotel looked simple & unassuming but the staff were warm and welcoming and helped us settle down in our rooms. We were most impressed with the quality & finishings of the rooms, huge, cosy, beds with clean white sheets, wooden laminate floors, a flat screen TV, a kettle with coffee & tea sachets & bottled water. The bathroom had a great shower and little touches like fresh plants made alot of difference. We slept very well and the next few days were a pleasure. Staff were extremely helpful, and the food was excellent. there are plenty of good eateries in the vicinity of the hotel and we never had to venture far to find something which we enjoyed. Great value for money and we'd definitely recommend this hotel to friends planning a visit to Kuching at the end oif this year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Stayed here for ten days during a volunteer project near Kuching. This older hotel is owned and operated by an indigenous Dayak group. Furnishings are worn, but AC works and refrigerators provided in most rooms. Daily bottled water is supposed to be provided, but spotty delivery (my room never got any, but I didn't know I was supposed to get it, so I never complained!) Some rooms were problematic, but trades were implemented when available. Free wi-fi on the ground floor near reception reaches the first floor apartments on the front end of the building. Breakfast buffet includes English and Dayak food choices and the restaurant is open for lunch and dinner, as well. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to the waterfront and local shopping and tourist areas. Eating opportunities abound in the immediate area. The hotel caters mainly to Malaysian tourists who were all quite friendly and eager to offer advice. A night club-restaurant is located in front of the hotel, so ask for a room on the back side to avoid late-night distractions. If you're looking for inexpensive, basic accommodation in a convenient location and enjoy mingling with locals, this is a good choice.
Dining tip: The Hornbill Restaurant, a 5 minute walk away, is a "steamboat" restaurant where you grill and cook "all you can eat" at your table. A fun experience.

Stayed April 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights. Like others have said, its no frills. However, location is great, price is great, and the food is great too at the hotel. Breakfast was included in the room rate and it was very good! The decor is really something to look at if you are interested in local/Iban handicraft work. NO PROBLEMS with wet carpets, lousy bathrooms, or cockroaches as others have said. Looks like the rooms have gone through an update.. no carpet at all in room... laminate flooring. Great shower/water pressure. Free internet access in lobby area only. Excellent deal for the price!! Again, this is a pretty basic hotel but a definitely a comfortable place to rest and relax! I'd recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

Stayed here as a base to do our Sarawak adventures and it couldn't have been more convenient. It's not fancy by any means but very functional and the people are extremely friendly and helpful. The location is perfect, it is 10 minutes walk to the esplanade and we had no problems making frequent forays to restaurants and shops and markets day and night.

The Dalat Cafe serves wonderful local food. There is an organic grocer/cafe only 2 minutes up the road. We split our breakfasts between the hotel and Ah ha Organic depending on our schedule -- highly recommend that little gem.

The rooms are clean and the AC is strong, we had a tea kettle and an empty refrigerator for our items Yes, the room is dated, the elevator is a relic of the '70s and the outside surroundings are nothing to speak of, but if you need a good place to crash for excellent value, highly recommend this hotel. I looked at several of the hotels in Kuching, and for the type of adventure trip we were doing this was perfect.

They only had can beer for options at the cafe, probably our only disappointment as we wanted to have a nice tall bottle of Tiger beer after a long journey into the forest and it was pouring rain. Cans don't cut it for me, taste is not the same, so that was a very minor bummer.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettalong Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

I have stayed at the Telang Usan Hotel several times and really enjoy my stay each time. Sure, it is not of the same standard as the Crowne Plaza, Hilton or Merdeka Palace, but you gets what you pays for ... at a third of the price! I really like the location, the warm welcome, the Dulit cafe with it's fascinating ethnic artifact display, and the fabulous seafood restaurants nearby. Don't miss the See Good Food Centre next door, or the Top Spot Food Court just down the road. I have visited the 4-star hotels in Kuching but come back to Telang Usan every time. I am a very satisfied customer.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff, location, value for money, breakfast
  • Disliked — Rooms could do with a bit of TLC - time for an upgrade
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Telang Usan Hotel Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telang Usan Hotel Kuching

Address: Ban Hock Road,, Kuching 93724, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Telang Usan Hotel Kuching 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Telang Usan Hotel Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telang Usan Hotel Kuching Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Telang Usan Hotel Kuching, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.