We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAMILY VACATION” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Continental Kuching

Save Saved
You added Hotel Grand Continental Kuching to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Grand Continental Kuching
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Ban Hock, Kuching 93100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Holiday In Borneo
Ranked #19 of 47 hotels in Kuching
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“FAMILY VACATION”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice & staffs is very polite and attentive. Room is large and comfortable. Got free WiFi also. My kids love the swimming pool. Breakfast is average nothing special but nice.

Parking is enough and free. It just 5mins drive to the Kuching Waterfront.

If I come to Kuching I will stayed here again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    26
    33
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
8
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newport
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is comfortable with very nice attentive staff. Rooms are large and fairly well set out. TV station selection is poor. WiFi is free but drops out often. Bathrooms are a bit tired but functional. The hotel is back from the main town, but not too far to walk. Views from the rooms are quite good. Overall is is clean and tidy and breakfast is OK.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

stay here only when my 1st choice is fully book.
Good location and value for money. Did not really check out the other facilities here. It near to town and there's a lot of taxi nearby so getting around should not be a problem.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

This was my first visit to Kuching with my family. Location was convenient. Most of the interesting places were within walking distance. Disappointed with the swimming pool. No children's pool. The pool starts at 4 feet depth, younger children not encouraged to play there, I guess.. The pool was empty when I checked in, no one was manning the distribution of the pool towels. Another point is the TV channel offerings. Should at least consider 5 main Astro channels - Cartoon, CNN, Discovery, Movie and ESPN. At present only Movie, sports, and news. Staff was polite and helpful. We were lucky that we had friends staying there to take us around if not, not much activities to be done in the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bintulu, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

When we arrived at this hotel, it was lunch time and because my daughter need to sit for a test soon after lunch, so for convenient sake, we decide to have our lunch at this hotel restaurant. In my mind, the food in hotel restaurant is always more expensive compared to outside restaurants.
The waiters are very friendly and helpful. He recommended us their hot deals which is of very reasonably price. While waiting for the food, we were served with the welcoming drinks. My whole family is very happy and satisfy with that meals.

The hotel rooms which we are staying are big and clean. We are again surprised by the free fruits sent to our rooms.

The swimming pool is quite nice also. My children did enjoy it.

There is also a lobby (I forgot it is on which floor) where free beverage and cookies etc were
provided free. The place is quite spacious and there are also some magazines and a TV there. My kids love to spend their time there.

There are also a few restaurants within walking distant opposite the hotel. But unfortunately,
there isn't any shopping complex or any entertainment center nearby.

For me, I feel satisfy with this hotel and may come back to it again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel dont have any entertaiment.People came here i see only goverment staff to meeting or attend a course.Location not bad.Near to china town.I mean you have to walk 10 minute to get Padungan area.Secret Recipe not very far.Room that i stayed very big.1 queen size and single bed.For me this hotel not suitable for person that want to go shopping.Because this hotel not at central area.

Room Tip: Choose a non smoking room.Very smelly like they dont wash that room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Aman, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel is not in my priority list, but since my mother prefer a hotel closer to her favourite hangout, I decided to give it another shot for one night on 31 August.

Surprisingly, for our visit this time, the service has improved. Kudos to the staffs, especially the guy who won the August Employee of the Month. Now, this is the kind of little things that would make us return to the hotel.

However, we had a nightmare for breakfast the next day (1 September). The food in the buffet line depleted even faster than one can say 'kia-su'. Well, there's a certain association who celebrated their 40th anniversary in this hotel, and I can conclude that they milked out every single cent the spend on the hotel successfully during the breakfast (I think they forgot other people paid for their food, too). Their table manners and good attitudes was nowhere to be fund, and they put Sylvia Fine and other world class gourmand to shame with their multiple serving mountainous heap of food on their plates. Worst, some hogged the buffet table (yes, they ate in the buffet line) for easy access for extra food. If I were to belong to this kind of people, I would rather die than to live in embarrassment.

Having said that, I think the staff should take a proactive measure during this kind of situation. The breakfast itself was decent, but other guests made our morning a horrifying experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grand Continental Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Continental Kuching

Address: Jalan Ban Hock, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 47 hotels in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Continental Kuching 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within the central business and shopping district of Kuching,this business-class hotel offers well-appointed, spacious and comfortable Borneo-styled rooms for the discerning traveller. Banquet and Conference facilities able to accommodate up to 500 persons, Gala Dinner. Resort-feel Poolside to unwind after a long day at the Office or sightseeing in Kuching. International & Ethnic Sarawak Cuisine offered at the 24-hour Coffee House and In-Room Dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Grand Continental Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Continental Kuching
Hotel Grand Continental Kuching Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Continental Kuching, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.