We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs more exhibits” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sarawak Museum

Sarawak Museum
Tun Abang Haji Openg Road, Kuching 93566, Malaysia
6082-244232
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Sarawak Museum like an insider
Private Tour
$205*
and up
Private Tour: Kuching Sightseeing Tour and...
Ranked #19 of 67 things to do in Kuching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nature studies, tradition and local craftsmanship come together in this 1891 museum.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Needs more exhibits”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I always visit museums when I travel and the Sarawak Museum just needs some more support to provide some more exhibits. We saw the special exhibition on fossilised wood which was extensive, but needed some more interpretation. The dioramas in the entrance hall were interesting but a little old.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    163
    92
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“An interesting and free attraction in Kuching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Visited this place for the afternoon. All of the museums are located next door to each other (Sarawak museum, ethnography museum, art & history museum) All are free except the history museum which cost 4MR and was the least interesting.
In particular I loved the ethnography museum which even had a replica of a longhouse which you could walk around inside, displays on each of the animals, insight onto how an oil rig functions and also loads of cultural stuff. The Sarawak museum had loads of information about the different cultures in Borneo and how each of the ethnic groups perform death/funeral rituals which was very informative and interesting if you enjoy cultural stuff.
Am surprised this place does not get more visitors as I really felt it is a must see attraction for Kuching and should be at the top of the list.
Also if you visit the museum make sure you purchase a mango shake from the cafe. It isn't cheap (about 8 or 9 MR?) but is enormous and very very delicious.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Review on Sarawak Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This museum is really interesting as it was 'started' by James Brooke - the 'founder' of the Sarawak State(or the white Rajas in Sarawak) and it has been stored throughout the years showing casing items belonging to the different local tribes(ibans Dyaks) , taxidemy of animals etc. Worth to take a look if you are open mind.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUEENSLAND AUSTRALIA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“very informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

we visited the museum as part of our half day tour of kuching, we really enjoyed our visit mainly because our guide on the tour was very knowledgable on sarawaks history and explained a lot of the exhibits in detail, due to my wifes disability we didnt climb the stairs to the next floor but thoroughly enjoyed what we did see and strongly recommend you visit with a guide else you may find it a bit boring.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Nice building to pop into and see. Quick walk around with a few interesting exhibits - good longhouse replica upstairs.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarawak Museum also viewed

 

Been to Sarawak Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarawak Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.