We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 'must go' place in Sarawak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarawak Cultural Village

Sarawak Cultural Village
Damai, Kuching, Malaysia
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$43*
and up
Traditional Bidayuh Village Bamboo Longhouse Tour...
Ranked #7 of 35 Attractions in Kuching
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A 'must go' place in Sarawak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A living museum that demonstrates the collections and architectural of the people (mostly the local) of Malaysia. Informative and interesting centre for all tourists to Malaysia. Probably one of the best attractions but its location (Santubong) is a bit far from city. 45minutes cultural show / dance is enjoyable and professionally performed by the locals. Highly recommended to visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    316
    120
    23
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nsw
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Honky as but in a good way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We decided to go here on a whim and were immediately struck at the beauty of the location. This place is vast and we easily spent the whole day here despite the fact it was extremely hot. We loved the cultural displays and the interactions with the various dyaks. A thoroughly enjoyable and educational day out. Highly recommended. The venue must be amazing when the rainforest music festival is on. It is now on our to do list. We love Sarawak and its beautiful people and this showcases them in a totally engaging way.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“More enjoyable than I expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I usually shy away from tourist oriented places. I am glad I overcame my reservations and went. I learned a lot about the different tribes and picked up a few very nice handicrafts. The cultural show had great music and dancing. People were very happy to talk with us and explain things.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This in my view is the "must not miss" attraction for Kuching. Go if possible with a private guide and not the tour groups so that you will have plenty of time to walk around and explore the various houses in the village, and to talk to the "villagers" there. We went with James Chee (let me know if you want his details). There is a show (twice daily) which is very professionally done and is neither too long or too short. Time your visits to catch the shows. In the afternoon it can get rather hot on the footpaths so do bring along umbrellas or slap on the sunblock generously. Snacks are sold in some of the houses so do try these for a complete experience. We will certainly return to SCV when we are in Kuching. Please note that as at March 2013, there is a new food court (Damai Centre) across the entrance where food is sold. It is clean and despite appearances (no one seems to be eating there), the food served is delicious and good value for money. Ticket price for SCV is steep by local standards but it is worth the money. For those with very young children, please note that a bit of walking is necessary (you may end up carrying your kids) and some climbing up and down (to reach the houses) is to be done.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Worthwhile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Worth a day visit. Recommend going with a local guide - it is not self explanatory and there are lots of stories that can add to the fun.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarawak Cultural Village also viewed

 

Been to Sarawak Cultural Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarawak Cultural Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.