We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A kind if tourism I suggest to try” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saloma's Villagestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuching
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saloma's Villagestay
no 75 Kampung Sadir | Jalan Puncak, Siburan, Kuching 94200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 69 Kuching B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A kind if tourism I suggest to try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Getting there is not easy: a winding road up and down the hills. But when you get there you will be repaid.
A peaceful traditional Bidayuh village with beautiful houses and smiling people. Saloma's house is so warm and everybody there is so welcoming.
Please go, enjoy great moments and great local dishes and at the same time help Saloma with her project aimed to improve villagers' life.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Saloma's provided me with some amazing experiences for the end of my Borneo trip. Saloma was able to create me a custom itinery which involved an overnight trek, waterfalls, long houses and an genuinely authentic experience. During my 3 day stay I met many nice people including her wonderful family and tried loads of great local food. I noticed that the more well known home stays were very touristy at one point I saw a bus load of tourists stopping at one as we drove past. I am extremely glad that a chose Saloma's she is truly passionate about what she does and is doing great things for the local community.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My family and I spend 2 nights and 3 days in Saloma's family. They are very kind and smiling people. It's a good way discovering the local life. Saloma is answering all your questions and share a lot of from her Bidayuh culture. You will eat and try different bamboo cooking taste (rice, tea, chicken, etc ...). Waterfalls experience is amaising; serenity and cold water. If you go in borneo, be shure you can stay in Saloma's house, far from the tourist mass. Thank you Saloma !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I did 2 stay in Saloma’s village stay (2010-2013) and I RECOMAND this homestay.
Very nice experience inside Bidayuh village in Borneo hills, 3 days tour with activities like hiking in paddy fields, waterfalls, Orang-Utans, local jungle food, tubing, bamboo village,…

Far away touristic track, it is nice to see longhouse life and spend time with villagers.

The homestay design is very original, quiet and relaxing to be surrounded by trees. Comfortable, local house but safe during heavy rain.
The family is simple and very welcoming; it is nice to share their life for a while.

I wish I could stay more longer.
Thank you so much. And see you soon!
En un mot: Génial!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les Essarts le roi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I went to Saloma's family before it became Saloma's Villagestay
It was wonderfull
We have disovered the life in the village, in the camps (paddy field), the waterfalls, other villages in the mountains
All the family was very happy about thi experience and we would like to come back ther

Olivier

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

i went jungle treking with saloma in 1999, the whole thing was brilliant now its a business i know she will have time to make the whole experence even better, amazing food, people, scenery and great fun, if you love the outdoors you love this.

Room Tip: its not about luxuary!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saloma's Villagestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saloma's Villagestay

Address: no 75 Kampung Sadir | Jalan Puncak, Siburan, Kuching 94200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bedrooms setting up from the old days of Bidayuhs' tribes style. Each room comes with a mosquito net, open windows, authentic lights and a fan. We have cozy and relaxing open balcony surrounded by green forest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saloma's Villagestay Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saloma's Villagestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Saloma's Villagestay to your Saves list