We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Boring Place!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cat Museum

Cat Museum
Kuching City Hall, Kuching, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Visit Cat Museum like an insider
$43*
and up
Ranked #29 of 67 things to do in Kuching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Known as "cat city," Kuching is dotted with various feline sculptures and this unusual cat museum. Inside, see cat items from ancient times to "Hello, Kitty."
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Boring Place!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Nothing special, just wasting our time. Any type of cat can be found in the museum including Hello Kitty and Aristocat. Less than 15 minutes we left the place, not worth of driving all the way from the city.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    83
    97
    25
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A weird bit of fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

What a funny old place. I love cats, so I just found this museum interesting and amusing. The views from the museum are lovely and it's nice for a trip slightly out the city centre. The buses weren't running the day we went so we got a taxi there (i remember thinking it was really expensive) and a nice local couple drove us back to our hostel which was really kind.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“just ignore”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

not worth to drive all the way to this musuem. My dotter loves animal but also feel boring there... even don't wish to take any photos... if you take taxi or bus there... you may end up with "bad words"...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Cats Cats Cats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

How can you not want to visit a Cat Museum? Just a whole lot of fun, and in the end very interesting museum about every aspect of cats, including history and their influence on every aspect of human culture. I really enjoyed it. Entry is free (4 RM for camera use) and it was 50RM taxi fare return form Kuching city.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Cat Museum Kuching”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This museum is free to enter and you only need to pay if you are taking pictures(either with phone camera or cameras). Nothing fancy although statues of cats are plentiful in this museum.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cat Museum also viewed

 

Been to Cat Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cat Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.