We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ling Loong Seafood

Ling Loong Seafood
TopSpot-Taman Permata, Jalan Padungan | 4,5,6 - 6th Floor, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 350 Restaurants in Kuching
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Belgium
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

When arriving on the rooftop, we were a little overwelmed by the scene: 10 or 15 stalls selling seafood, hundreds of plastic tables and chairs, incredibly crowded, and no manual explaininh how things works. And suddenly, a charming girl from Ling Loong invited us to take place at one of her tables, gave us a menu and explained how this court is functionning. You have to buy your drinksfrom one of the dribk stalls, and pay them to the person bringing the drinks. Then you choose your meals from the menu. Wow wow wow!!! I never had seafood that tasted so good, so fresh as here. We had crab (black pepper), garlic prawns, king prawns, squid, oister ommelette, etc. We stayed 5 days in Kuching, and we had 3 of our dinners at this place. The bill was always around 150 RM (30 € - 40 $). Soooooooo gooooooood, if I ever need a reason to come back to Kuching, it will be Ling Loong! Greetings from William, Senta & baby Ella

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    7
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Incredible seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Directed here by our homestay owner and Lonely Planet, we were really not sure what to expect. I was expecting the more market end of the fish market it had been described to me as, but it turned out to be much more open-air Cafe/restaurant. Prices were reasonable for excellent fish (800g sea-bass was 32RM/£6 and 7 large prawns 18RM) and tasty veg (fried fern, 8RM?). Would highly, highly recommend for easily the best piece of fish I have, and probably will ever have, had in a restaurant. We chose to keep the fish quite plain - opting just for sambal. Still getting used to the shrimp paste (v fishy) sambal, we were a bit taken aback when the fish came out slathered in enough sambal for 4 people to share. Luckily it wasn't cooked in the sambal and it came off easily enough. Maybe ask for sambal on the side, if you're not sure!

Lovely atmosphere with a lot of locals (midweek too). Quite an airy location atop the car park (rid yourself of any dingey, grotty car park roofs you might have in mind - this was very clean with a swanky looking cocktail Bar sharing the roof...) but lacking in a great view.

Plus side it's very easy to find - you're looking for 'TopSpot' and when they say look for the lobster sign, I think they mean the bright red neon one on top of the building!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Our favourite at Top Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

During six days in Kuching we ate dinner four times in Top Spot which was just next door to our hotel. The food as well as prices of stalls are pretty similar to each other but we found the service at Ling Loong to be the best. Another favourite was ABC.

Be sure to taste jungle fern here. BYOB if you want to have wine with your meal. Drink stalls provide you with an ice water bucket and glasses free of charge if you order also some juice or beer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching
1 review
“Great atmosphere, great crowd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great butter prawns, black pepper crabs, oyster pancake and if that sounds like too much cholesterol for you, add in mixed vegetables, yam ring and szechuan soup. And to wash it all down, get the famous sugarcane coconut juice! I personally prefer the Ling Loong stall located nearer to the lift and not the far end corner Ling Loong stall. Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Service and food great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Being a coeliac I have to watch what I eat. The staff did the best they could to accommodate for me. Food was of abundance- the vegetables great and the seafood cooked to perfection. Being cheap by Australian standards a bonus. Very busy though. Seems the whole of Kuching eats here. Great fresh juice too

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ling Loong Seafood also viewed

 
Kuching, Sarawak
Kuching, Sarawak
 

Been to Ling Loong Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ling Loong Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.