We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cafe in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bean

Black Bean
No. 87, Ewe Hai Street, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 368 Restaurants in Kuching
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Best cafe in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is my personal favourite place in town for a quality fresh coffee. Excellent value, for under RM5 you get a cappuccino and a little biscuit on the side. All in a relaxing atmosphere and with lovely staff to look after you.They only have three tables (two outside and one inside) but that helps make it nice and cosy. Mornings tend to be quieter than afternoons. Location as people say is great, just minutes from the waterfront.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    26
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lovely coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great coffee, and such good value. Nicest cappuccino in Kuching! Great location near waterfront and lovely to sit outside

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great java”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We found this little gem while wandering down Jalan Carpenter. The service was friendly and prompt and the cafe latte was one of the best we've had anywhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great little coffee shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Tucked down one end of Jalan Carpenter in Chinatown, this is a nice little coffee shop - excellent hot, iced and blended coffees. They had some cakes on display but I didn't have anything to eat. Bought some coffee to take away for working afternoons at the hotel

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable place for a cuppa!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stumble on this shop by pure coincidence after seeing liberica coffee beans on sale in of souvenir shops.

The place is not big, only 3 small tables in the shop that can seated roughly 9 people at one time. Overall it is a cosy place.There are jars of different type of roasted beans being displayed at the counter - liberica, java, sumatra mandheling, etc. They will ground the beans on the spot if you opt to purchase in powder form.

I tried a cup of Americano using liberica coffee beans with brown sugar and a piece of cookie (FOC), and tasted fantastic!! Usually I will add milk to my coffee but this time I can go without one ;oD

Conclusions, recommend to drop by for a cuppa if you are in Kuching.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bean also viewed

 

Been to Black Bean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.