We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Uplands Kuching

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines Uplands Kuching to your Saves list
Citadines Uplands Kuching
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 55 Jalan Simpang, Kuching 93350, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Kuching
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We had a studio apartment, with a fully equipped kitchen, fridge, TV with English channels, lovely clean pool,and a good gym. The room, bathroom, and linen were all clean, and serviced daily. The staff were very helpful and accommodated any requests even when we ran out of shower gel at night. The included breakfast had variety.
There is a big shopping complex across the road, so we could buy groceries to cook in the apartment, or go and eat at the food court there. There is also a good bar on street level in the same building as the apartments.
It is a 30 min. walk out of the city of Kuching. A taxi costs RM15 to the city, and RM30 to the airport. We usually walked in to the city, but got a taxi back at night. Buses although not very regular only cost RM1.50pp, and we caught them a couple of times.
Would highly recommend this apartment to family and friends.

Room Tip: Some of the studios are bigger than others. We found the one we had overlooking the pool was bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharleneCUK, Manager at Citadines Uplands Kuching, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hi Laj S.

Greetings from Citadines Uplands Kuching!

Thank you very much for your recent feedback and for choosing Citadines Uplands Kuching as your preferred service apartments.

We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay. I will share your compliments with my colleagues and your feedback definitely motivates us to do better to ensure that our residents have a warm and pleasant experience.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,


Charlene Chan
Assistance Residence Manager
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    59
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
21
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sibu, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Highly recommended hotel..clean,tidy,cosy room with all neccasarry equipment. Friendly front counter staffs and spacoius lobby. Spring shopping mall just opposite the hotel. Plenty of convenient store just outside the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharleneCUK, Manager at Citadines Uplands Kuching, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Hello AlbertWong Hao,

Greetings from Citadines Uplands Kuching!

Such a wonderful compliments feedback regarding your stay with Citadines Uplands Kuching!
Am proud to share your review with the entire team and we hope to serve your again in your next stay with us.

Looking forward for you continuous support and have a good weekend!

Yours sincerely,


Charlene Chan
Assistance Residence Manager
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bintulu, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed for 6 nights, we enjoyed our stay here. Service was excellent, staffs were helpful & friendly especially the receptionist.
Location was good, just opposite The Spring and easy access to other places. Kitchen was fully equipped, swimming pool was good. Suitable for our family with 1 toddler.
The things that need to improve is the breakfast.
Will choose this hotel for my next trip :)

Room Tip: Higher floors are better. Book thru Citadines website is much cheaper than other online websites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharleneCUK, Manager at Citadines Uplands Kuching, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Vhievhieya,

Greetings from Citadines Uplands Kuching!

Thank you very much for your recent feedback and for choosing Citadines Uplands Kuching as your 'second home'. We were delighted with your feedback regarding your recent stay and have shared your compliments with our team. We pride ourselves on the level of customer service that we provide at Citadines Uplands Kuching and feedback such as yours is most encouraging.

With reference to your feedback on breakfast service, we have highlighted your feedback to our F&B operator and reiterated that need to improve breakfast variety as well as service standard.

Once again, thank you for your support and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,


Charlene Chan
Assistance Residence Manager
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed here few weeks back and we have booked for the 2 bedrooms apartment (928). Definitely love the location with a huge mall, The Spring just opposite the place. Big thanks to the IT Manager, Alex for assisting us with the internet connection. He was the most courteus staff we've encountered during our stay.

For Improvements:
1. To ensure that room is ready for arrival guest. The room that we had, has the moudly smell and all the drawers in both rooms stinks. There was even a used towel hanging in the closet. Main bathroom handle came off when we try to close the bathroom door. Telephone in main room has no telephone cable!
2. Staff should smile more
3. Housekeeping requests took forever for them to deliver

Other than that, we really love the place and we will be back soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharleneCUK, Manager at Citadines Uplands Kuching, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear JocelynHML,

Greetings from Citadines Uplands Kuching!

Thank you very much for the taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. Your feedback will be shared with the entire team at Citadines Uplands Kuching.

While we strive to maintain the highest customer satisfaction standards, monitoring our effectiveness can be a challenge at times. As such we appreciate your suggestions as mentioned as they indicate the areas where we can further improve.

JocelynHML, thank you once again for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back to Citadines Uplands Kuching in the near future.

Yours sincerely,


Charlene Chan
Assistance Residence Manager
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The service apartment that I stayed in comes with a kitchenette equipped with all basic cooking utensils, a spacious bathroom, a comfy bedroom and a small living room. The building has swimming pool on the 3rd floor. The greatest thing you could do late night is to go to The Library (pub) on the ground floor. The service apartment is connected to The Spring shopping mall via a covered overhead bridge. Breakfast choice is limited with common menu like toast, fruits, local cuisine.

Room Tip: Booking online is a better deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharleneCUK, Manager at Citadines Uplands Kuching, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Fwongwwl,

Thank you very much for your recent feedback and for choosing Citadines Uplands Kuching as your 'second home'.

We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay. I will share your compliments with my colleagues and your feedback definitely motivates us to do better to ensure that our residents have a warm and pleasant experience.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,


Charlene Chan
Assistance Residence Manager
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

For me, this is one of the better and comfortable stay in Kuching. Other than the location that is not on the touristy section of the city and a simple and standard breakfast selection, I have had a good stay here for my two trips to Kuching this year. Room is spacious, clean and very well equipped. Toiletries set is provided upon request. Bathroom/WC entrance is a bit tight. Gym and swimming pool is quite good though having a sauna would certainly complement the fitness section. Staying on the upper floors will provide quite agood view of Kuching. There is a supermarket and a bar with live music on the ground floor and a shopping mall opposite the road that is connected by a overhead pedestrian bridge. Will certainly return to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharleneCUK, Manager at Citadines Uplands Kuching, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Limgs33,

Greetings from Citadines Uplands Kuching!

Thank you very much for the taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. Your feedback will be shared with the entire team at Citadines Uplands Kuching.

Feedback such as yours inspire us to continually provide and improve the level of service that residents have come to expect. We shall look into your suggestion with regards to sauna.

Once again, thank you for your support and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,


Charlene Chan
Assistance Residence Manager
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We chose these apartments because they offered space and comfort. We stayed in a two bedroomed apartment with a separate living area and small kitchen. The rooms were clean and fairly new and modern. The air cons were in great working condition, providing immediate relief from the heat outside. There were plenty of eating options within walking distance from the hotel as well a well stocked supermarket downstairs. Staff were professional and pleasant enough. Breakfast was very basic and not very appetizing. Taxis are easily available outside the hotel - there is also a complimentary shuttle into the city (we only discovered this on our last day).
All in all this place is value for money particularly if you are travelling as a group. Clean and comfortable - what more could you ask for.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the main road as it can get noisy at night and early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharleneCUK, Manager at Citadines Uplands Kuching, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear MelissaB27,

Thank you very much for your recent feedback and for choosing Citadines Uplands Kuching as your preferred accommodation.

We were delighted with your feedback regarding your recent stay and have shared your compliments with our team. We pride ourselves on the level of customer service that we provide at Citadines Uplands Kuching and feedback such as yours is most encouraging.

Thank you once again for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back to Citadines Uplands Kuching in the near future.

Yours sincerely,


Charlene Chan
Assistance Residence Manager
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines Uplands Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Uplands Kuching

Address: No 55 Jalan Simpang, Kuching 93350, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#5 Family Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines Uplands Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the culturally rich city of Kuching, CitadinesUplands is located in the prime location of Jalan SimpangTiga, a hub for education and local federal governmentadministration offices. Across is The Spring ShoppingCentre, one of the largest shopping malls in EastMalaysia, and this strategic location provides a quick10-minute drive to the Samajaya Free Industrial Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Citadines Uplands Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Uplands Kuching Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Uplands Kuching, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.