We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“far off city center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Uplands Kuching

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines Uplands Kuching to your Saves list
Citadines Uplands Kuching
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 55 Jalan Simpang, Kuching 93350, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Kuching
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“far off city center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Room was spacious and mostly clean with a nice view over Kuching, staff was nice.
Pool was nice, however there was a construction site right next to it.
The hotel is located quite far from the center, we took a public bus or a taxi. If you have a car, the location might be ok. On the other street is a mall with a food corner, supermarket etc.

The breakfast was served in an extra space inside an otherwise almost deserted mall. It was quite limited in variety (also the amount of asian food), the service guy there acted weird and was not paying attention.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharleneCUK, Manager at Citadines Uplands Kuching, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Cori86,

Thank you very much for taking time to tell us about your recent stay.

I am sorry to hear about your feedback regarding transportation to the city centre as we did not clearly made known to you that we provide free daily shuttle to the city centre. I have highlighted your feedback to our F&B operator and reiterated that need to improve breakfast variety as well as service standards. My team and I will continue to monitor performance and service delivery.
I would like to apologize also for the inconvenience caused from the works currently being carried our next building. As such we seek for your understanding.

We look forward to hearing from you, giving us another opportunity to serve your better.

Yours sincerely,


Charlene Chan
Assistance Residence Manager
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    59
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
21
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I don't normally review hotel but this is really not something I expected, especially since it is owned by The Ascott Limited. I uploaded some pictures, pictures say more than words. We did some researched on Citadines before we decided to give it a try but still find it disappointing.

Our experience:
On check in time at 3pm, we specifically mention that we want a quiet room and away from The Library (a bar or pub), we got a one bedroom on the 10th floor and was told nobody complain about this room so far.

But at night, we can hear the bass and music from the Library!! It is really loud, no way we can have a good rest in the music on so loudly. We can heard it clearer in the bedroom compare with the kitchen area. Went down to make a complain and was told we can hear it because our room IS JUST BEHIND the Library. This is the best room they have when we check in and blah blah blah. The receptionist said they will give us a room at the end of the other side of Citadines which is far away from the Library next day and mean time they can't do anything about it as is all fully occupied. We don't mind downgrading the room to a studio as long as is far away from the Library.

Next day, went down again was a different shift receptionist and assigned us a room which is just two rooms away from our room, we don't think there is any difference and don't want to have another night hearing the bass. So went down to the reception again and they said they are only told to assigned us to the same room type. Very disappointed with the way the staff communicate between themselves, again we have to address again on our problems and wanted a further room away from the Library.

Waited till noon, assigned us to a studio with a strong cigarette smell on a non smoking floor, go back down to the receptionist and request for another room.

This time room is at 7th floor, no cigarette smell but room is not clean, bed sheet have stains on them (forgot to take picture on that), as the rest you can see it from the PICTURES I UPLOADED. We are just too tire to deal with the receptionist anymore, they have good smile and keep saying sorry, but they need to communicate better between themselves on passing guest request and not good in solving our problem. Still very disappointed when they assigned us to a room so near to the bar on our first night here especially our long journey flight.

other negative about citadines:
1) Breakfast not good
2)wifi is very bad

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ares C, SMT Executive at Citadines Uplands Kuching, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

We read with much concern about the unpleasant experience you encountered during your previous stay with us.

We always encourage our residents to bring their concern to the Duty Manager at the time when the issue arises. The purpose is to ensure that your concerns are addressed promptly with the objective of making your stay with us a pleasant one. In this instance, the management of the property was unaware of the incident and is very sorry to learn that you were left with an unpleasant experience.

Please feel free contact myself at 082-281888 so that we can take remedial action to ensure incident like this will not happen again. Thank you.

Ares Chong on behalf of Charlene Chan (Assistant Residence Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bintulu, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Citadines Uplands Kuching was one of few new hotel apartments in Kuching. For those who prefer out of Kuching main city, this should be your choice of accommodation. Being new and full arrays of modern facilities, this property was very satisfied to me. I stayed for a night for a company's fuctions in Kuching. For this, I would like to highlight several things which could help fellow readers decision while travel to Kuching later;
1. Citadines Uplands was just opposite a large shopping mall, The Spring in Simpang Tiga, just about 5 minutesdrive from Kuching International Airport. There is a overbridge connected the property with shopping mall. Its really helps for those who like to shopping there as the road was very busy especially during rush hour.
2. The room itself was very new, feel fresh, modern and full arrays of amenities. The kitcheniery was complete and toileteries are sufficients enough for me. Bathroom was very nice and water pressure for hot water was good too.
3. As like others concept of hotel apartments, you will denied access to other floor other than yours. So its quite safe as all your access was contain to your room level only.
4. I have try their breafast. The choice was limited but the environmentwas quite friendly. All the staff was very attentive and helpful. They quite knowledgeable even though sometimes a bit clueless.
5. Apart from shopping mall, the area surrounding was quite good. There a lot of eating spot, entertainment outlet and commercial building. The Swinburne College was just nearby. From my room, the viewwas quite impressive as it overlook most part of Kuching city esoecially during night time.
Overall, my stay was quite pleasant and I seriously consider Citadines Uplands Kuching again should I travel to Kuching in future. Thanks to all the staff and manager, you have doing very nice. KEEP IT UP!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed in studio premier with en suite bath room, microwave oven, induction cooker, basically everything you need in a house except for washing machine.rooms are clean and pool and gym are nice. Nothing else to ask for except breakfast is a bit too plain. Cereal is already not so crunchy because it's exposed to air

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The room was excellent and modern, with a high comfortable bed, little kitchen and clean bathroom. However, the wifi signal did not work for our devices in our rooms on the 10th floor.
It works in the lobby and in the elevator area of the floor. The service at reception was excellent, and if you ask, they have some good cheap tour packages available, but will not try to sell it to you.
The location is not near the city centre and you have to ask reception to call you a taxi. The taxis don't have a meter and seem to charge you whatever they want, plus a fee for the hotel for calling for you. Try to get a metered taxi if possible and call one yourself.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a strong wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This hotel, not yet 2 years old in May 2014, comprises serviced apartments and hotel-style accommodation. The rooms contain cutlery, crockery, microwave etc and you can shop nearby or bring back cooked food to enjoy, adding to the flexibility. We were pleasantly surprised to find that [simple] breakfast was included in the price even though it wasn't advertised as such. As pointed out by some reviewer, the pillows were a little to high. The hotel is very close to shops, restaurants and cafes as well as a mall. The gym and pool are very nice and clean. Staff are very friendly. The main reasons I've given it a 4 are: proximity to the centre, high pillows and blocked shower drain. It should only cost you about 5 USD to go to the centre of town. We extended for an extra two nights and kept our rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the pool have a better view of Kuching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We are really happy about our stay. Felt free, the room is clean and taken care. Nice facilities both inside and outside the room (gym, well, really big & nice swimming pool). Comfy bed. And receptionists who are willing to answer to your needs, esp. the woman who currently does the day shift (a bit chubby sorry though to say).
Points to improvement are maybe: the shower, the water does not flow smoothly despite taking off the wired cap, floor default we suppose. And the closet, oh my god, needs to clean a bit from time to time at least to change the strong odor left by the last customer.
Anyhow to conclude, you need a car of course to easily reach daily. But the location is less interesting, if you get a car why care? It is a small town, million times better than staying in the crowded/ tourists flooding/ cheaty center.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the quiet side though, not facing the road; try BF outside too, not much to select f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines Uplands Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Uplands Kuching

Address: No 55 Jalan Simpang, Kuching 93350, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#5 Family Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines Uplands Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the culturally rich city of Kuching, CitadinesUplands is located in the prime location of Jalan SimpangTiga, a hub for education and local federal governmentadministration offices. Across is The Spring ShoppingCentre, one of the largest shopping malls in EastMalaysia, and this strategic location provides a quick10-minute drive to the Samajaya Free Industrial Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Citadines Uplands Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Uplands Kuching Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Uplands Kuching, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.