We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality/price ratio, w/ a car rented. It is THE choice for u!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Uplands Kuching

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines Uplands Kuching to your Saves list
Citadines Uplands Kuching
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 55 Jalan Simpang, Kuching 93350, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Kuching
China
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good quality/price ratio, w/ a car rented. It is THE choice for u!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We are really happy about our stay. Felt free, the room is clean and taken care. Nice facilities both inside and outside the room (gym, well, really big & nice swimming pool). Comfy bed. And receptionists who are willing to answer to your needs, esp. the woman who currently does the day shift (a bit chubby sorry though to say).
Points to improvement are maybe: the shower, the water does not flow smoothly despite taking off the wired cap, floor default we suppose. And the closet, oh my god, needs to clean a bit from time to time at least to change the strong odor left by the last customer.
Anyhow to conclude, you need a car of course to easily reach daily. But the location is less interesting, if you get a car why care? It is a small town, million times better than staying in the crowded/ tourists flooding/ cheaty center.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the quiet side though, not facing the road; try BF outside too, not much to select f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    59
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
21
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We managed to book the Studio Premier unit with a discounted rate for the Ascott Group's 30th anniversary. It was fantastic value for money- large area with a double bed; satellite TV; kitchen amenities and the other hotel trappings such as daily housekeeping, swimming pool and gymnasium. The place was spotless and everything worked well. The location is also very handy, just a walk across from The Spring mall and within easy driving distance from the airport and other tourist spots.

The only thing I felt which could have been improved was the underground parking. As I rented a car during my stay in Kuching, I relied on the underground parking a lot- it seemed rather dingy and was unguarded. Coming back to the hotel after 11 at night would always be a headache as the staff from the bar at the bottom of the hotel would block access to the parking for reasons best known to them- something the hotel management would do well to take note of. It was otherwise a great stay for me and I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

It was a pleasant stay for us at the Citadines during our recent short trip to Kuching. The rooms are impressive and very tastefully done - perfect for long stays for a homely experience, and we also appreciated the facilities that made our accomodation even more enjoyable- in particular the swimming pool, gym, free wifi and daily housekeeping service. The fact that the Citadines is just a short walk away from the Spring, a local popular shopping mall was a bonus point for us. All in all, a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The service are fast and the place are strategic, near to The Spring shopping Mall, and near to Bangunan Sultan Iskandar, not far from airport. The room are clean, comfort, and all need such as iron, microwave, kitchen tool, freezer are provided. I stay there twice and i will stay there agein for my next trip soon...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibu, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed 4 days 3 nights in this apartment / hotel.
Good:
• Fully equipped with kitchenware such as microwave oven, electric kettle, electric stove, toaster, refrigerator and other necessary utilities u need for cooking. It would be perfect if cooking oil and sauces can be provided.
• Two key cards were given which is very good and important especially for me who travelling with baby. When my baby is sleeping, i still can go out without bringing him. Somestimes it's really annoying when u want to go out for a while and everyone has to follow you.
• Room are modern and quite spacious (my room is studio type) with a queen bed and small 2 seater sofa, a working desk, LCD TV and DVD player, what else u want from an apartment which is below RM150 per night? Of course this is promo price.
• Good security as only person who has key card can access the apartment.
• Big outdoor swimming pool and a kid's pool, a gym.
• A supermarket is located ground floor, The Spring Shopping Mall is just opposite and is linked by a skybridge. Many restaurant nearby.

Need improvement:
• Free WIFI is fast but not stable. Always have to reconnect.
• Buffet breakfast is okay but limited choice and i think it;s not managed but the Citadines itself. I strongly recommended Citadines to set up their own restaurant, i don't mind to pay more for fine dining.
• The direction sign in the basement carpark is confusing and there's no CCTV survaillance in the car park.
• No kids zone / children playground. I noticed that there's is some vacant area outside the gym, would u consider it? I'm sure those who travel with children will love it.

As this apart / hotel is newly opened last year, there are still many can be improved. But i am extremely satisfied with their services. Here's the reason.
When i made my booking online, i requested for at least 5th floor higher and i was given the 10th floor. Thanks! Less than one hour before i checked in, i modified my request as my wife birthday is coming during our stay in Citadines. So i request a small cake from them online. I thought it's too late already... but when the day came, i was surprised when i opened the fridge around 10pm. Their staff already prepared the cake when we are out for shopping. It's really a big surprise as my wife and i only left two hours before her birthday last. Thumbs up! My biggest thanks to all of u.
Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Belait, Brunei Darussalam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed at the Citadines for 3 days after spending about 4 days at Damai beach. The kids instantly loved the pool and kept asking to spend time there. The Spring mall is easy to get to via the overhead bridge. Actual town + river is actually some 20 mins away (RM15 taxi fare) which is alright.
I especially liked the look of the rooms and overall feel of the hotel (reminds me of some of the better hotels in Europe). Breakfast is average but nothing amiss.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I checked in last week for a short 1 night vacation.the check in process was great and they were very polite.Ive booked for 1 bedroom executive for rm150++ under new year promo and get free upgrade to 1 bedroom premier for free and it was also inclusive breakfast for 2!it was slightly bigger than 1 bedroom executive and it was a corner room so this property has only 1 unit each floor for this type of room.nice view from room especially view of kuching city skyline with mount santubong as a background!room was great,love the kitchen with full utilities,large 40inch LED tv in living area and 32 inch led tv in room.room decoration was modern and contemporary.bathroom got no bathtub but rainshower preasure was great.the breakfast was just ok,more to a cafe to me with limited choice but you got the value of what you paid.the hotel located just next to the spring shopping mall where you can find anything there.there are also a groceries shop just under this property.overall im very satisfied and impressed! thank you Citadines Uplands Kuching for making my stay a memorable vacation!

Room Tip: ask for high floor room facing kuching city skyline and santubong mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines Uplands Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Uplands Kuching

Address: No 55 Jalan Simpang, Kuching 93350, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#5 Family Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines Uplands Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the culturally rich city of Kuching, CitadinesUplands is located in the prime location of Jalan SimpangTiga, a hub for education and local federal governmentadministration offices. Across is The Spring ShoppingCentre, one of the largest shopping malls in EastMalaysia, and this strategic location provides a quick10-minute drive to the Samajaya Free Industrial Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Citadines Uplands Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Uplands Kuching Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Uplands Kuching, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.