We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Batu Bata Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Batu Bata Guesthouse to your Saves list
Batu Bata Guesthouse
No. 8, 1st Floor, Carpenter Street | China Town, Kuching 93100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 71 Kuching B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

By far, one of my favorite guesthouse. I stayed here for 4 nights and the staff were amazing. Friendly and informative. They gave my friend and I helpful tips exploring Kuching. The facilities were great. Love the shower, decor, and the outdoor terrace. I'll be back in Kuching in 6 months and will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Pay the extra 10 ringgit for the room with A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaNeita, Manager at Batu Bata Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi there Mr. Marc! Thanks for the review on your recent stay with us. So glad thay both of you liked our place. It is a pleasure for us as a team here to know that we did a good job making your stay a good one here in Kuching. We will improve on what that is weak, and provide the best in our services. We are happy that you loved our shower!

Thank you again for having us as a part of your travelling journey. Wishing the both of you good luck and all the best! From Mr. D, me and our team. We will wait for you to come back again ! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    22
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
28
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. It is very well located in the center of Kuching. 7 Eleven is right next door. Owners are friendly and helpful. Guesthouse is nicely decorated with lovely terrace where you can pass time.

Room Tip: Do not take room without window you would not be able to breathe there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaNeita, Manager at Batu Bata Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hello there Mr. Karel! Thank you for the review. It is pleasure to have you as our guest here. We are delighted to know that you find our place nice and clean. Good to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We value your comments and looking forward to see you again in the future!
Thank you for choosing Batu Bata Guesthouse as your accomodation here in Kuching!
May you have the best of luck and all the best in all your travelling adventures and undertakings. Regards from all of us here at Batu Bata Guesthouse. :))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed at this hostel in July 2013 and found it excellent. It's a fairly newly built premises and as a result is very clean, nicely decorated and works well. I stayed in the aircon with window double room and it was fine, small but comfortable.
The shared toilets and showers were clean as was the shared kitchen area. It also has an outside patio with tables for relaxing outdoors.
The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout especially with regards to trip planning and so on.

The location is in the nice and fairly quiet Chinatown area of Kuching and only a few minutes walk from the waterfront, bus station and shopping mall. Its surrounded by convenience stores and cheap food options.
In short, i'd highly recommend this guesthouse to people.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaNeita, Manager at Batu Bata Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hello there Mr. Richard! We are very pleased that you took the time to write a review on us. Thank you for such a wonderful and detailed review. We highly appreciate that you took much interest on the location to many easy access such as stores and food restaurants and Batu Bata place itself, also its a good motivation for us to keep up with the good job and will never stop improving ourselves to have a happy and satisfied guests as a result.

Your lovely remarks will always be in my heart. We wish you a happy and wonderful travelling experience where ever you go. All the best and our Batu Bata Guesthouse door are always open for you. Take care Mr. Richard! :)))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed at this guesthouse during my first trip to Kuching and it was amazing. The guesthouse is run by a friendly and lovely couple who were so warm, caring, helpful and friendly. While it says that there is no breakfast/food, there is bread and jam, tea and coffee available when i was there. also, there was amazingly fast wifi which worked well in the room and patio also!
very centrally located, walking distance to the river, merdeka plaza and more.
they gave plenty of valuable advice and also guided me where to get quality souvenirs.
oh, and the showers are so heavenly!!!
and the patio is awesome to chill out with awesome backpackers!
and they really went out of their way to make my stay amazing, like letting me use the fridge to keep kek lapis and more!
this is the place to stay when in Kuching.
- Ibrahim from Singapore

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaNeita, Manager at Batu Bata Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hello there Mr. Ibrahim! Thank you for taking your time to a write a review on us. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay here at Batu Bata Guesthouse. I have shared your comments to our staff and we appreciate it so much. Your remarks on our friendliess s is truly appreciated, we do our best to make sure our guests feel comfortable all the time by maintaining the place clean and keeping ourselves informative on all the current and upcoming events and activities.

We will wait for you to come again. Wishing you all the best with your career and good luck in all your undertakings!

Take care and see you again Mr. Ibrahim..!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at the guest house on and off for about 7 nights. In between we were visiting the many nearby national parks. The location is excellent, right in the centre of Kuching across the road from the national parks office and tourist info. 5 minute walk to riverfront and good eateries. The husband and wife owners are so friendly and helpful. The guest house has nice facilities, is very clean and a nice outdoor seating area. They arrange taxis to airport and also give you lots of helpful info to make the most of your stay. Free fast WiFi too! Highly recommended, brilliant little find!

Room Tip: A double room is same price as 2 dorm beds so If a couple or two mates book a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaNeita, Manager at Batu Bata Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello there Mr. Daniel and wife! We are very pleased that you took the time to write a review on us. Thank you for such a wonderful and detailed review. We highly appreciate that you took much interest on the location to many easy access such as stores and food restaurants and Batu Bata place itself, also its a good motivation for us to keep up with the good job and will never stop improving ourselves to have a happy and satisfied guests as a result.

Your lovely remarks will always be in my heart. We wish you a happy and wonderful travelling experience where ever you go. All the best and our Batu Bata Guesthouse door are always open for you. Take care both of you! :)))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We tried to find a cheap guesthouse when we just arrived in Kuching. And we finally decided to stay at Batu Bata Guesthouse. Price is really reasonable, actually double bed room is RM60. Facilities are perfect especially toilets and shower rooms are so much clean. Also Receptionist who has beautiful smile is really friendly, nice and helpful to travellers. If you are planning to visit Kuching, You must stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaNeita, Manager at Batu Bata Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello there! Thank you for taking your time to a write a review on us. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable and a comfortable stay here at Batu Bata Guesthouse. I have shared your comments to our staff and we appreciate it so much. We look forward to welcome you here again in the future! We wish you all the best to you and good luck with everything in life.
Take care and see you again..! :))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Batu Bata is located in the entrance of china town. It is very close to the bus station, merdeka plaza and river! There is clean bed room, dorm, bathroom and very kind staff. When you choose this guesthouse, you never regret to your choice!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaNeita, Manager at Batu Bata Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello there! Thank you for taking your time to a write a review on us. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable and a comfortable stay here at Batu Bata Guesthouse. I have shared your comments to our staff and we appreciate it so much. We look forward to welcome you here again in the future! We wish you all the best to you and good luck with everything in life.
Take care and see you again..! :))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Batu Bata Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batu Bata Guesthouse

Address: No. 8, 1st Floor, Carpenter Street | China Town, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Batu Bata Guesthouse offers you one of the best lodging you can find here in Kuching. We are here because we know we can provide you everything you need in a modest, yet efficient way. Assisting you with guides and informations, and also to make sure comfort and happiness is there during your stay. With a rustic concept, you can feel the ambience straight away as one enters the place. We appreciate bricks here as Batu Bata means bricks in Malay. There is cement screed floors and counters, antique vase, unique plants, handicrafts decor, classic radio and music player, photographs of tribal people and warriors, bamboo shelves, naked brick walls and many more. We have 30 beds here, and our beautiful outdoor balcony with amazing view available on both floors. Our amazing shower tops it off with high power flow from the ceiling shower head not only for a place to bath, but also to refresh your mind when taking a bath. Our amenities here are laundry service, book exchange, free Wi-Fi accessible through top floor, PC, TV room, breakfast area, kitchen, luggage storage and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Batu Bata Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batu Bata Guesthouse Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Batu Bata Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.