We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, clean and lovely staff, stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Batu Bata Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Batu Bata Guesthouse to your Saves list
Batu Bata Guesthouse
No. 8, 1st Floor, Carpenter Street | China Town, Kuching 93100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 71 Kuching B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Central, clean and lovely staff, stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This guest house is located right in china town only one street back from the main bazaar and waterfront - perfect. The whole place was clean and tidy, with a lovely homely feel.
We did book a room with a window for the first night but it was too noisy and light from outside, the staff very kindly moved us to another room which was inside and that was perfect. All rooms have aircon. The showers are great and the staff are really friendly and helpful. We couldn't have found anything better!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaNeita, Manager at Batu Bata Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hello there Ms. Alice! We are very pleased that you took the time to write a review on us. Thank you for such a wonderful and detailed review. We highly appreciate that you took much interest in our place and called it 'perfect' also because of the location, also its a good motivation for us to keep up with the good job and will never stop improving ourselves to have a happy and satisfied guests as a result. Your lovely remarks will always be in our heart. We wish you a happy and wonderful travelling experience where ever you go and back home safely. All the best and our Batu Bata Guesthouse door are always open for you. Take care Ms.Alice and husband!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    22
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
28
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mainz, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Batu Bata Guesthouse is a very nice place. I stayed there recently with my girl-friend for a few days, and I really liked the cozy atmosphere there, which made the place feel familiar. The people are very friendly and helpful, and the rooms are clean. Its central location was an additional plus. There is also internet, free coffee, and a laundry service.
- Florian, Germany

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaNeita, Manager at Batu Bata Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi there..! Thank you for your lovely review. It is pleasure to have you and your girlfriend as our guests here. We are delighted to know that you liked our place and most of all had an enjoyable stay with us. We value your comments and looking forward to see you again.

We wish you, and you partner all the best and good luck in all your travelling adventures and undertakings. Regards from all of us here at Batu Bata Guesthouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Warm & cosy place with friendly staff that are always ready to serve you. The bedroom though small is really cosy. The common toilets/bathrooms are really clean. However, it'd be great to have a signage outside as it wasn't that easy to spot the place. The common area outside would be awesome if there's a tv so us guests could laze outside & mingle. But all in all, it was an awesome experience & a strategic location too!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaNeita, Manager at Batu Bata Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hello there! Thank you for taking your time to a write a review on us. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay here at Batu Bata Guesthouse. I have shared your comments to our staff and we appreciate it so much. We look forward to welcome you here again in the future! On the TV part, we will definitely put one there soon. We wish you all the best with your career and good luck!

Take care and see you again..! :))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Whilst travelling you find a lot of places quite grubby and not so clean, but this new guesthouse was really nice and clean with great showers, it makes a nice change. The staff were lovely, helpful and friendly and on hand to give you advice. Mr D and Patricia are very knowledgeable and glad to help out with any questions you might have or trips to book. I would definately recommend this guesthouse. :)

Room Tip: The front room can be annoying above the 7/11 as you can hear the doorbell of the shop and the sign...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaNeita, Manager at Batu Bata Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello there the lovely Estelle..! Thank you for the review. It is pleasure to have you and Stacy as our guests here. We are delighted to know that you find our place nice and clean. Good to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We value your comments and looking forward to see you again in the future! Thank you for choosing Batu Bata Guesthouse as your accomodation here in Kuching!
May you have the best of luck and all the best in all your travelling adventures and undertakings. Regards from all of us here at Batu Bata Guesthouse. :))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

In the middle of march 2013, we visited at least more than 10 GH in Kuching and Batu Bata was really the best for us, for many reasons :
- the location is ideal (close to the department store, close to the river and so many restaurants...).
- everybody here, the owners, a young and smiling couple, and the staff, is really nice, friendly and helpful, close to you if you are worried about something,
-the guesthouse is so cute, in every aspects, even though the rooms are quite small, some are with windows, the beds are really confortables, the colors of each rooms are originals with a great taste of decoration. We choose the one upstair. And the showers are outside, but it's convenient (not far)
- it s quiet, and there are 2 terrasses to have a nicetime to read or to have coffee (free)
- breakfast is like a real tasty lunch.
That's why we stayed there about 10 days.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaNeita, Manager at Batu Bata Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi there Alan and Elly! Thank you so much for the lovely review. So glad thay both of you liked our place. It is a pleasure for us as a team here to know that we did a good job making your stay a good one here in Kuching. We will improve on what that is weak, and provide the best in our services. 10 days of stay is a long time and we are truly happy that you have chosen Batu Bata Guesthouse as your accomodation!
We will miss you and really looking forward to see you and Elly again soon. We will for sure have a new menu of breakfast for you to choose from when you come and stay with us again! :)
Thank you again for having us as a part of your travelling journey. Wishing the both of you good luck and all the best! From Mr. Has, me and our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Hi everyone,
I travelled a lot around Malaysia, Thailand etc. and this place is one of the best places I stayed. For me backpacking nowadays becomes sadly more and more a business that it sometimes Seems to be hard to find a good place to stay! I don´t really care about the conditions, but I realy appreciate good, characteristic, clean places!!!
First point allways seems to be the price ! Have a look at the List (2bed,dorm, aircon...)! cheap !!! on top you get these conditions -->

-The Location is perfect(restaurants, buses, activities) near by!
-People here are downright friendly! Help you for tripps etc... cheap rent-motorcycle...
-The House is also downright clean and has a great atmosphere(relaxing at the veranda, rooftop)!!
http://www.everyfinehome.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/Rain-shower-head-2.jpg
But for me the big point is the shower !!! awesome ! never, never found a shower like this on my tripps !!! even on my businesstripps, the hotles couldn't give me this comfort ! real luxus!
So if you guys heading to Kuching, I only can recommend Batu Bata!!!
Now I Start sweating again, blessing taking a shower !!!
peace Leo

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaNeita, Manager at Batu Bata Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello there! We are very pleased that you took the time to write a review on us. Thank you for such a wonderful and detailed review. We highly appreciate that you took much interest in our shower and the place itself, also its a good motivation for us to keep up with the good job and will never stop improving ourselves to have a happy and satisfied guests as a result. Your lovely remarks will always be in our heart. We wish you a happy and wonderful travelling experience where ever you go and back to Germany safely. All the best and our Batu Bata Guesthouse door are always open for you. Take care Mr. Leo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed here for one night. The place itself is rustic and its located right in Chinatown in Kuching. It's perfect if you plan on going around Kuching the whole day and just need a place to sleep. Even though it's shared toilets, they're very clean. There's balcony where you can just sit down and hangout or enjoy the warm Kuching weather. It's close to every thing too, the museum, mall, waterfront, you name it. Oh, free Wi-Fi too.

Main entrance is pretty hard to spot at first, but they've put up a poster on the door before I left so you'll know you're there. It's right beside 7-eleven too and that's pretty convenient. The room isn't much but one does not expect the Bellagio here. I'd say it's worth the money.

I like the place, would definitely recommend it to my friends who are coming to Kuching.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaNeita, Manager at Batu Bata Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hello there Nico! Thank you for taking your time to a write a review on us. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable and a comfortable stay here at Batu Bata Guesthouse even just for a night. I have shared your comments to our staff and we appreciate it so much. We look forward to welcome you here again in the future! We wish you all the best for your studies and upcoming career and good luck with everything in life.
Take care and see you again..! :))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Batu Bata Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batu Bata Guesthouse

Address: No. 8, 1st Floor, Carpenter Street | China Town, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Batu Bata Guesthouse offers you one of the best lodging you can find here in Kuching. We are here because we know we can provide you everything you need in a modest, yet efficient way. Assisting you with guides and informations, and also to make sure comfort and happiness is there during your stay. With a rustic concept, you can feel the ambience straight away as one enters the place. We appreciate bricks here as Batu Bata means bricks in Malay. There is cement screed floors and counters, antique vase, unique plants, handicrafts decor, classic radio and music player, photographs of tribal people and warriors, bamboo shelves, naked brick walls and many more. We have 30 beds here, and our beautiful outdoor balcony with amazing view available on both floors. Our amazing shower tops it off with high power flow from the ceiling shower head not only for a place to bath, but also to refresh your mind when taking a bath. Our amenities here are laundry service, book exchange, free Wi-Fi accessible through top floor, PC, TV room, breakfast area, kitchen, luggage storage and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Batu Bata Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batu Bata Guesthouse Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Batu Bata Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.