We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambience, staff and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tray Cafe

Tray Cafe
45 Jalan Padungan, Kuching, Malaysia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 350 Restaurants in Kuching
Cuisines: Eclectic
Restaurant details
Kuching, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great ambience, staff and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Loved the small but delicate decorations. There's promos on beers everytime. Good to bring a few friends for a chitchat too. The food portion and taste is great as well. Lastly, awesome staff!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Hideout...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very cosy and a nice hideout if you wanna take afternoon away from the busy day. Its dim lighted inside. Food is great. But Chicken Pansoh which i sought for, is not available for the second time, but its still on the menu. They have a bar for you to chill out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
478 helpful votes 478 helpful votes
“Great beer joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I came here because I was intrigue with the design from outside. I see the couch near the pedestrian and it seem nice, but since I was feeling to hot so I got in and found s surprise inside. The decoration inside is beautifully done. Seems like an old local Tavern from middle Ages and our was beautiful.

There's seating for having dinner, small private area to have your date and also the bar. The place is not big but it's very comfy.

They have beer bucket promotion and makes the sits there very affordable. Only RM 27 for 4 cans of Heineken/calsbergs/tiger. If you prefer bottle they give you at around 32. Is very cheap compare to other beer joint in the corner. And g here you get the great atmosphere.

Nice place cozy music great service, the owner really take the time to advice.

Great place.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, decent ambience, furnishings and good location. However ultimately, another simply average Kuching eatery (of which there are many)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia
1 review
“BEST IN KUCHING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Place was nice. Been there every weeks since last year. The food really great with big portion. I've to. Lot of high rating reastaurant in kuching. Well dont judgge abook by its cover. For me, theres no other restaurant can beat my taste bud other than tray cafe. Try it out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tray Cafe also viewed

Kuching, Sarawak
Kuching, Sarawak
 

Been to Tray Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tray Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.