We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, imaginative decor, best view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ranee Boutique Suites

Save Saved
You added The Ranee Boutique Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ranee Boutique Suites
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   No 6 & 7, Main Bazaar, Kuching 93000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 69 Kuching B&B and Inns
East Sussex, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, imaginative decor, best view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed only one night (alas) in Kuching, as R&R on the way back to UK from a work trip to the Pacific. It was my colleague who did the research and chose the Ranee Boutique Suites - and how glad I am that he did!

We arrived pretty shattered, having done three flights from Solomon Islands to Brisbane to Singapore to Kuching, and appreciated the warm and efficient welcome. I managed to lock myself out of my room almost immediately, and the staff couldn't have been nicer! Our rooms (201 and 202) were lovely - well appointed, comfortable, and with a really wow-factor bathroom. And I simply can't believe that there is a better view to be had in Kuching than I had from my room, with the lovely old Steamship Co. building opposite, and a diagonal view from my bed across the river to the Astana. There was a little noise from the street during the night, but it didn't bother me

Our time in Kuching was very limited (only just over 24 hrs), so we were delighted to find the Ranee Suites so ideally located (from our point of view), right near all the old colonial administrative buildings, India Street and Carpenter Street, and a stone's throw from the river. It's a fascinating city, and we loved it.

I thought that the breakfast was superb, and also loved the room it was in, with all its mirrors, tiffin boxes, and living wall. And the work that is currently being done (to make a meeting area?) looks interesting. We loved all the wood, and the very East African (Zanzibari) looking big ornate doors. And the quirky 'library' area, with its old typewriter ... Whoever is responsible for the design has some very nice ideas.

I'm delighted that we chose the Ranee Boutique Suites. We had toyed with the idea of booking at the Merdeka Palace (as we'd heard that it is THE old colonial hotel), but - although the foyer is amazing, and really well worth a visit, it looked (from the outside at least) as though the rest of it might be pretty tired and more than a little depressed - and anyway it's not nearly so well located. If, like us, you're not a Hilton/big hotel chain sort of person, I don't think you could do better than the Ranee. I would certainly stay there again if I'm ever lucky enough to have the opportunity to revisit Kuching, and I thought that it was exceptionally good value.

PS Don't even try to work out the geography of the hotel - it's a real maze; thank goodness for the excellent signposting of room numbers at each of the many turns ...!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theranee, General Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We are indeed very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality and had a memorable stay at our luxury boutique hotel even though it was for one night. Our rooms had been designed with maximum room space in mind; thus the 'maze' which makes it more unique from other hotel layouts.

The person responsible for our great interior ideas and puts character into the hotel is none other than the owner herself.

We hope that you will make a return visit one day soon.
Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    24
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
41
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We only stayed at this hotel for two nights either side of a jungle adventure - but we were not disappointed. This hotel is like a serene and welcoming oasis in Kuching. The rooms are large and very well appointed - everyhting you need is at hand and provided. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and by requesting to stay on the second floor we minimised some random traffic noise we had on the first night so slept very well. It is ideally located (about a 15 minute walk to Top Spot) and is along the river so after dinner walks are just so easy. The staff were brilliant - accommodating, responsive and charming. Breakfast was a choice of 3 set menus - all so good it was hard to decide between them! We would definitely recommend this hotel and we would stay there again without hesitation.
"Top Spot" for a fresh seafood meal is a must while in Kuching!! Great experience, great food and great service and the walk to and from the Ranee along the river was enchanting.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have significantly less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theranee, General Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Greetings! Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay at our luxury boutique hotel and that you had enjoyed the food and hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you to our boutique hotel again should you be travelling to Kuching in the future. Perhaps a longer stay next time!

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I've stayed for 4 nights in this hotel. The room is clean & nice. Recommended for honeymoon and for those who want quiet environment. Its about 5 mins walking to main bazaar and shopping mall. Waterfront just across the road. All about this hotel is good however it is so quiet until no place for us to have supper or hang out at night. I guess i shld have selected Hilton, Grand Margaretas or Pullman hotel instead. Room rates is around RM250 per night,it is quit similar with all those hotels and it is far from topspot. Breakfast here was not a buffet style. it is served and you may need to select the menu. Anyway it is depends on what kind of trip you are in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theranee, General Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We are located on a busy thoroughfare in the heart of the city. Most of the shops along Main Bazaar open until early evening; hence the quietness. Our hotel serves snacks and dinner daily and our café is open daily till 11pm.

Top Spot is about 20-30 minutes walk from the hotel. Normally our front desk would recommend guests to take a taxi.

As for breakfast, we are a 24-room boutique hotel and thus it is not feasible for us to serve buffet breakfast. Our guests can select from our breakfast menu - we have 2 western and 2 locals to choose from..

We thank you for your feedback and am glad to hear that you had a good stay at our hotel.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundsvall, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

After trying out two other hotels in Kuching we were happy to find Ranee. This immaculate hotel has nicely decorated, clean rooms, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The restaurant serves up one of the better laksas we have tasted during our one year stay in Malaysia and the breakfast was very good too. Although Ranee is one of the more expensive accomodation options in Kuching it is well worth the money!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theranee, General Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Indeed we are pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and that you had enjoyed the food.
We thank you for taking the time to write and hope to see you during your next visit to Kuching.
Kind Regards
Mary Chan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The rooms are very comfortable, modern and spacious, and we would certainly stay here again. The Ranee is a converted older building with interesting decor and a friendly atmosphere. The food is excellent in the cafe and the restaurant. Rooms 205 and 207 had different layouts but both were large, and I especially liked the bathrooms. It is value for money and certainly offers a much better experience then staying in a "big name" hotel. I would have liked tour information to be more readily available. Kuching seems "young" in tourism terms so there are a few minor glitches.

Room Tip: We found rooms 205 and 207 very quiet and relaxing. 207 has more privacy. There are rooms with views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theranee, General Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Indeed we are pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and that you had enjoyed the food.
We thank you for taking the time to write and hope to see you during your next visit to Kuching.
Kind Regards
Mary Chan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My partner and I decided to treat ourselves to a night here to celebrate our anniversary. Everything looked lovely when we arrived but we soon found out there was no hot water, we told the staff twice but no one came to check. We both had to take cold showers at night!! Another drawbacks is that the street was very noisy at night we are usually not light sleepers but did not sleep well even if the beds were big and comfortable. Overall a wonderful looking hotel but not a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I chose Ranee mainly because of its location. Despite several feedback relating to noise, I still went ahead with my choice. First impression: marvellous. The room was spacious, bathroom had great cold/hot shower and service was friendly. However, the noise in my room was quite unbearable - mine was facing the Main Bazaar and the sound of vehicles (especially motorbikes) passing by were very loud. I'm unsure if the noise pollution is ultimately reduced if you choose a room located at the back of the hotel -- just bear in mind that every morning, you can hear military aircrafts flying over.

Pros:
1) Good location. Carpenter St is located behind the hotel where there are several eateries that serve local food. The Kuching Waterfront is just opposite the hotel. Plaza Merdeka is just 5 minutes walk away. If you want to purchase kek lapis without taking the sampan to the opposite side of the river, there are plenty stalls set up along the main bazaar or, you can also purchase them from the shops in the alleys.

2) There's a cafe with gelato!

3) Good service from the receptionist.

Cons:
1) Limited breakfast options: Sarawak Laksa, Fried Meehoon or the typical English breakfast with sausages, beans and eggs. All of them come with a basket of bread and fruits. If you choose the English breakfast, you can opt for cereal or yoghurt. My yoghurt was expired so do check on that.

2) Noise (as described above)

3) Pillows are not comfortable. My partner & I had back & neck aches.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ranee Boutique Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ranee Boutique Suites

Address: No 6 & 7, Main Bazaar, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ranee Boutique Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true hidden gem right in the heart of Kuching's picturesque Old Town along the city's famous Waterfront Promenade, only 9km from the airport. The Ranee transports you to a point in history that celebrates the romance of travel, adventure and exploration of far and exotic lands. Lots of history are imbued in this cleverly rebuilt and restored 19th Century shoplot. The Ranee boasts of 24 elegant spacious suites and the design is modern contemporary with attractive accents of traditional Sarawakian artifacts. Facilities include MBar&Bistro, Cafe Trio's, The Reading Lounge. The Ranee is capable of hosting intimate cocktail receptions, product launches, team building, informal business functions, wedding parties for up to 50 pax. Here you will be treated like royalties while taking you on a journey that celebrates the charm and romance of a bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Ranee Boutique Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ranee Boutique Suites Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ranee Boutique Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.