We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Majestic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Riverside Majestic Hotel to your Saves list
Riverside Majestic Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2928, Kuching 93100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Best Price Guarantee
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Kuching
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
“Modern hotel, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2007

Very nice hotel, excellent location. However, the hotel no longer enjoys unobstructed riverview, as Riverbank Suites just built a new house across the street.

We enjoyed a very unique Steamboat BBQ buffet next to the pool. You can BBQ meat and vegetables on a grill on your table, or for larger pieces, have them grilled for you. The staff helped us very nicely selecting ingredients and how to prepare them. A really special dinner that we can highly recommend. Only down point: it was quite hot, as it was outside... casual clothing is recommended.

The Hilton is just next door, this was convenient for us, as we took the shuttle from the Hilton to the Batang Ai Hilton. On returning from Batang Ai, we took the Holiday Inn shuttle to Damai Beach, which also serves the Crowne Plaza, which was again convenient for us.

  • Liked — Riverview (deluxe room), location
  • Disliked — One of the bellmen was not very friendly, made us feel bad
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    98
    57
    9
    5
See reviews for
43
65
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2007

A very good hotel let down slightly by shaky customer service and poor business facilities. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and fairly spacious, however there was a slight smell of damp in one of our rooms. The buffet breakfast was excellent - one of the best I've come across in fact. There was a large variety of items and when I said I was a vegetarian, I was brought a specially prepared dish.

I was disappointed that the WiFi Internet access was so costly - it was pricier than I've come across in places in the UK. There was no discount for using a laptop in the lobby either as opposed to in the rooms. When we complained about this, the staff didn't seem particularly apologetic. The advice was to go to a local internet cafe outside the hotel. In addition, the concierge staff appear to work on commission. Two of them "competed" to try and sell me a bus tour to the Sarawak Cultural Village. This was totally unprofessional and not something I would expect from the Crowne Plaza.

The leisure facilities are adequate rather than good. The pool feels old and not as well maintained as it could be.

The location is not bad at all - though it's not right next to the river, getting there is just a matter of crossing over the road.

Overall, I'd say this hotel represents very good value for money at the discounted rates offered via a number of online sites - however it's a little short of being excellent... definitely plenty of room for improvement.

  • Liked — Excellent buffet breakfast
  • Disliked — Lack of affordable Internet access
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul, Afghanistan
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2006

Malaysia sometimes bills itself as a land of contrasts and this certainly extends to its hotels. We just spent 5 nights at the Crowne Plaza Riverside Kuching and it was a stay which contrasted with our time at the wonderful Crowne PLaza at KL. Our experience at the Kuching version wasn't of the hotel from hell, perhaps just the hotel from purgatory. The food was edible, the location was good, the service was good, the room was clean and most things worked.

However the negatives rather mounted up and appeared consistently hence our mediocre rating.

Firstly it is by the river as the name implies, however it is directly across the street from a large apartment block which fronts the river and this considerably limits the view, which was otherwise OK. If you want uninterrupted river views, you would get them from the Holiday Inn or the Hilton, both adjacent, but not here.

Secondly the absence of a lounge/bar with comfortable chairs was a minus unless you prefer to consign yourself to the narrow confines of your room, which we don't. The Holiday Inn over the road had this (albeit infested with smokers) and cross charges drinks etc so this was our downstairs haven, but it left us wondering why we were paying a higher rate to stay 100m away.

Our third problem was the shuttle service operated between the CP/HI Hotels in Kuching City and the two HI properties at Damai Beach 30 km or so away. MYR20 each for a seat in a bus was not cheap (for two people comparable with a taxi fare) however we got a package fare which included entrance to the Sarawak Cultural Village at Damai (well worth visiting). The bus driver incorrectly took our chits for entrance into the village, which created some problems for us in gaining entrance. We were told at Kuching we didn't have to book a seat back, which we found to be a nonsense at the end of Ramadan Holiday. The 5 pm bus was full, so we waited for the 7 pm bus. We were denied that one as it was also full and we were told another would be along in another 5 minutes. Some 5 minutes. At 8 it was time to complain which I did abundantly. A bus eventually arrived at about 8.40 and the amazing thing was that we were the only hotel guests using the bus - the remainder were locals off for a night in town.

Fourth our dining experiences were often doubtful. The a la carte dinner and room service meals were OK - and I wouldn't rate them beyond that - and we enjoyed the entertainment in the form of a running contretemps among the wait staff at the Cafe Majestic the first night, but the breakfast buffet provided a limited range of lukewarm dishes that often ran out. The buffets at the two hotels we previously stayed at were both far superior.

So that was our experience. We intend to return to Kuching, a city well worth visiting, but found a number of better hotels during our visit and would stay elsewhere next time.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumatra
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2006

In the middle of August, we stayed there for seven nights and loved every one of it. Rooms are big, clean and with a nice view of the river. The pool is big and the breakfast buffet had pretty much everything you might think of (including freshly squeezed orange juice). Although this hotel seems to be positioned as a meeting and convention center, the front desk managed to book some interesting tours for us.
The Crowne Plaza belongs to the same family as the Holiday Inn hotels so we could access the services at the Holiday Inn Damai Beach resort without problems. A shuttle service (although not for free) runs several times a day between the hotels.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2006

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for five nights and boy, did we hit the jackpot! Right from the moment we arrived and found we had a choice of five different types of pillows, we realised we were in for something special. We had heard much about the genuine friendliness of the people of Kuching but one really has to experience it first hand. Obviously the staff at the Crowne Plaza are carefully chosen because their attention to detail is exceptional, whether it be the concierge staff greeting us by name, or being asked by our regular waitress how our sightseeing had gone that day. Breakfasts are to die for and the Japanese smorgasboards are really something else! Our room was exceptionally clean and comfortable, the pool was spotless and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The doormen in particular had great senses of humour! The position of the hotel is perfect, it's close to markets, shopping, restuarants and surprisingly very quiet. We were sad to leave at the end of our stay but rest assured, we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2006

We (2A & 2C) stayed overnight. Wonderful hotel and obliging staff, very accommodating and efficient. Great breakfast & excellent service. What else can I say, we'll definitely stay in this hotel again & again if we go to Kuching.

Stayed January 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2006

Exceptional is the only word for this hotel. We stayed only 2 nights but wish we could have stayed more. Did not have a single complaint. Room was fantastic, service was unbelievable. Ring house-keeping and they are knocking on the door 2 minutes later. Staff so helpful, they were ringing room re tours before we had unpacked our bags. Has free internet for guests. It is on the river so close to all the things to see. Go to this hotel, great value, you will love it!!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Majestic Hotel

Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2928, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Kuching's business entertainment, dining and shopping district, the Riverside Majestic Hotel offers free WiFi and is the ideal place for business, meetings and leisure.Overlooking the Sarawak River, the hotel commands a panoramic view of the city and the Kuching Waterfront. It is 20 minutes away from the Kuching International Airport and within walking distance of some of the city's major tourist attractions such as the Kuching Waterfront, Chinese Museum, Tua Pek Kong Chinese Temple, Fort Margherita and the Main Bazaar.The hotel is adjacent to the Riverside Shopping Complex, a 5-storey shopping podium featuring a cineplex and bowling centre. Opposite the hotel is its sister property, the Grand Margherita Hotel, plus the Sarawak Plaza Shopping Complex and the Sarawak Economic Development Corporation Building. The kitchen of Café Majestic & River Palace / Coca Thai Restaurant are certified Halal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riverside Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Majestic Kuching
Hotel Riverside Majestic
Riverside Majestic Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Majestic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.