We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Majestic Hotel

Save Saved
You added Riverside Majestic Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riverside Majestic Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2928, Kuching 93100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
School's Out
Ranked #10 of 45 hotels in Kuching
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pretty good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

Spent 7 days here - was reasonably happy with the stay.
Room was fine - quite high up and on the eastern end up so we had views of the river and the surrounding city.
Service in the restuarant can be slow - we waited 30 minutes for serves of icecream in the mid-afternoon.
Having a restaurant next to the pool is annoying especially if you want to swim while people are eating - and with no poolside shower you need to walk through the diners.
The breakfast is interesting - wide mix of western and local foods, interesting to see what the mix of siners put together as a meal.
Location good and staff courteous although room cleaning was slow.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Slowness of housekeeping
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    85
    48
    10
    5
See reviews for
37
58
15
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
honolulu
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

It must be a cruel joke that this hotel is listed as one of the 100 best budget hotels in the world. There are 100 better hotel in Southeast Asia alone. Main problem is that there is a tremendous mold smell in every corner. First room I was given had such a strong smell I developed a headache within minutes. I asked for another room which was only moderately better. Especially if you turn on the aircon it becomes unbearable. I slept with the aircon off in the Malaysian heat and even then I woke up with my sinuses fully congested and with a headache every morning. There are some nice things about the hotel such as a good location but overall this was one of my worst travel experiences (and I travel very often and almost always in the same price range)

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — moldy rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

I stayed at the hotel in August for 7 nights on the club floor.
Check in was excellent and room was ready for us in the morning we arrived.
Club Floor had very nice furnishings and views. Trying to get a drink for evening cocktails was a bit challenging. They never really had any drinks there and always had to ring to get a bottle of white wine and when asked for a Tiger Beer was told none left and you could have what was there!!!!!! which wasnt much.
The room was an average size but clean and functional. The only negative would be the shower was in a bath tub and I hate that.
Breakfast was ok and when we arrived at 9.30am one morning and asked for an omellete we were told we could only have cheese as the rest of the fillings had finished!! Couldnt they ask the kitchen for more??
The staff very very helpful and friendly.
I think if they want to have the same standard as the Hilton ( and maybe the new Novatel that is being constructed) they need to be more international and not so local.
But for the money overall pretty good.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Trying to get a wine!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

We booked 2 deluxe rooms and spent 3 nights at the hotel before moving to Damai. It is very close to amenities with a shopping centre just next door that has a supermarket, pharmacy and money changer. The Waterfront and Main Bazaar are within walking distance. Topspot (an open air seafood centre above a multi storey carpark) is just a few minutes walk. The seafood was really good and we went there for 2 consecutive nights.

Rooms were clean and spacious. The only thing that I did not like about it was the toilet. The flushing system was pretty loud and noisy. I could hear the flushing from probably the upstairs room very clearly. Other than this, everything else was good. A good spread of breakfast and the hotel staff were really friendly.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Location
  • Disliked — Toilet noise
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

I try to write fair & balanced reviews... talk about the good and the bad. I struggled to find a lot good in this hotel...
Good:
* Location - reasonably close to the centre of town
* Nice (somewhat obstructed) views of the river from the river view rooms. Though with a building right on the river in front of the hotel, it's certainly not the best - Hilton & Holiday Inn are better
* Red Earth toiletries in the bathroom.
* Pillow menu
* Concierge staff were friendly & helpful

The not good.
* The rooms (and that's why we're here). They are an ok size, but the decor is very dated (strange for such a new looking hotel). The bed was worn and lumpy, and very low to the floor. Linen/towels were only bordering on average quality. There was a lot of dust in the out of the way places, and the room smelt when you walked in each time. We booked 2 rooms between friends & they were both the same standard.
* The bedside light switches. Limited & confusing.
* The airconditioning. The only control was the temperature. You could not turn it off, nor control the fan speed.
* The pool was closed without explanation (and we weren't told when we booked). The pool was actually full of water, so not sure why we couldn't use it. It wasn't a very nice pool, but would still have been a welcome escape from the heat of the day.
* The breakfast included quite a variety of food, none of which was good and the dining room smelt really bad (maybe recent vomit?)
* Reception staff were mixed quality. Late checkout was a bit of a problem despite plenty of vacant rooms
* The hot water really wasn't very hot. Showers were taken at full heat strength
* Room maintenance was poor. Flickering light bulbs in one bathroom while the lights stopped working completely in the other bathroom. And one of the toilets overflowed by itself (i.e. not while in use).

Overall, it's ok - nothing great. For the low price, it's perhaps acceptable - for $100 you don't expect too much - but for a few Ringgit more I'd try the Hilton next time.

  • Liked — Red Earth toiletries.
  • Disliked — Walking into the room each time. Breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasssoul
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

This hotel was pretty good in most respects, especially the staff who were unbelievably friendly and helpful and really stood out from most of the hotel experiences I've had.

The rooms were quite nice, tastefully decorated, nothing elaborate but nothing too drastic either. The bathroom was pretty clean and the room service food was adequate to nice (I didn't actually eat any but my son ordered and his food was pretty good).

The breakfast was ok. On the second day we flagged breakfast in the hotel and just went to the roti shop up in tin alley or something (right next to the hotel but upstairs in the street above). The staff recommended the place and we had memorable roti (and I eat it quite regularly as I live in the region!) for about 4RM (next to nothing in other words). This was much better for me but I guess if you're on the road for a while roti is a bit tough to handle day in day out so at least the hotel had fruit etc.

The big issue i had with the hotel was the pool which looked green and slimy when I looked and I wouldn't have dreamed of letting my son swim in there, though he was dying to. It put me off a bit. I don't reckon it's that hard to keep a hotel pool clean so it seems a bit odd - maybe it was just when we were there though there was no sign saying that nor did anybody tell us that so i can only imagine that's how it is...

Good location, right across from the river and next to the Hilton. You can walk to everything and the taxis stop regularly at the hotel so it is easy to get anywhere. The hotel booked my tour to Sarawak cultural Village which was fantastic and effortless.

There aren't a lot of eating places easy to find around the hotel, or at least there weren't for us, though there's one touristy 24 hour place over the road which was fine and another tourist job on the river front open during the day. i was told to go to the Junk Restaurant which was good (but I needed directions and a taxi) and also was recommended Top Spot Seafood place (big collection of seafood stalls, locals love it and I will try it next time!)

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — the pool
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2008

We really liked the Crown Plaza and Kuching from the moment we arrived. The hotel is located in the centre of town right beside the river, several shopping malls and restaurants. We had two rooms and one was a magificent corner room with views up and down the river. The rooms were of excellent quality for the cost which was half of a Singapore hotel. Did not see a swimming pool so may not suit young children.
We did not eat evening meals in the hotel as the local restaurants are much cheaper. There is an excellent one just opposite on the river. Two of us had breakfast with our package and it was quite satsfactory however 2 others just bought pastries etc from local shops for a lot less.
The town is quite small, easy walking around with good original local markets and shops as well as shopping malls.
There is a laundry located behind the hotel, not below as advertised in some places.
The hotel staff booked trips to the Orang Utang sanctuary and Bako island for rates that were well under the web rates published by the established organisers. Local village people acted as our guides. The Orang Utangs were great, much better than Sandakan.

  • Liked — Locations and staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riverside Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Majestic Hotel

Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2928, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Majestic Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Kuching's business entertainment, dining and shopping district, the Riverside Majestic Hotel offers free WiFi and is the ideal place for business, meetings and leisure.Overlooking the Sarawak River, the hotel commands a panoramic view of the city and the Kuching Waterfront. It is 20 minutes away from the Kuching International Airport and within walking distance of some of the city's major tourist attractions such as the Kuching Waterfront, Chinese Museum, Tua Pek Kong Chinese Temple, Fort Margherita and the Main Bazaar.The hotel is adjacent to the Riverside Shopping Complex, a 5-storey shopping podium featuring a cineplex and bowling centre. Opposite the hotel is its sister property, the Grand Margherita Hotel, plus the Sarawak Plaza Shopping Complex and the Sarawak Economic Development Corporation Building. The kitchen of Café Majestic & River Palace / Coca Thai Restaurant are certified Halal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riverside Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Majestic Kuching
Hotel Riverside Majestic
Riverside Majestic Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Majestic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.