We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg | Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg, Kuching 93000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Kuching
1 review
“Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

was in this hotel for tennis tournament very nice hotel I come there at midnight and get surprisely good hospitality and very good people work there and the shoping mall is very close to the hotel its very usefull)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    53
    46
    15
    17
See reviews for
46
30
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kajang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

the decor and the state of the room is clearly out of date. the cleanliness also wasnt so satisfactory to me. i dine in their Italian restaurant the night i stayed. although the service was excellent, the food was terrible. the breakfast buffet is just okay. the location is ok, with plaza merdeka is within walking distant.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Hotel In the heart of City of Kuching and nice park and garden surround this hotel, though is an old hotel but pretty much gave me what i want. Walking distance to kuching waterfront which you can enjoy the panorama when the sun goes down. Alots of hawker surround and try the restaurant at kuching waterfront east to west menu with reasonable price. may stay on this hotel when come back to kuching

Room Tip: Get higher floor room for better view overlooking kuching river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The reception staffs very friendly ( Jennifer & Tini ), walking distance to waterfront and Merdeka mall.The room facing car park and bathroom amenities limited choice should have bath gel and lotion.No Slippers in the room (website should edit the facilities). No signage at swimming pool to get pool towel, mixed sex sauna & steam room in the hotel (The facilities should separate) .Taxi driver Lucy Tra was very helpful and friendly (Hotel Taxi).

Room Tip: Don't book standard room (Car Park view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The location is decent. It just a walking distance to waterfront, shopping mall, park and museum. The hotel still maintain their colonial & classic décor in the building. A friend of mine who join the trip complaint about the lift. There was a smell that is too strong inside it.

My room is superior room facing the car park. What a bad view. The room is of course decorated with classic style. But sadly it look pretty old and tired. Most of the lights in my room are too dim. I'm not sure about the cleanliness (because of the dim light) but the room looks clean. The toilet also clean but the hair dryer smells like burning when I use it. Basic amenities provided but no tooth brush.

Buffet breakfast is normal not superb. Just can be rate as okay. One thing I can remember is the bread pudding. Yummy! However, almost same menu during my 2 days stay. In my opinion,they should serve some local dishes at the breakfast buffet. It will help introducing the guest with cultures and famous dishes in Kuching.

Receptionist staffs are friendly but not very helpful with information.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This hotel has a perfect location and the lobby and restaurant areas are beautiful. Staff are friendly and helpful. Sadly, though, the rooms are very disappointing. While they must have been lovely in their day, they are now very tired and in our room, the ceiling was damp to the point that parts of it were to be found on our bathroom floor! Although we stayed in an apartment with a kitchen, there was no cutlery, crockery or cookware beyond the tea and coffee cups and teaspoons. There is a fridge and a microwave so you can heat up your takeaways if you want to.
Bed linen and towels were clean. But the water wasn't too hot.
Not all the power points in the room were working.
View across the river was fantastic from our room.
The price was reasonable for the standard.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket,
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This hotel located right in the centre of the old town near the riverfront, park, chapel and museum plus a large department store called Plaza Merdeka...all are in walking distance that I like it. Hotel itself had enjoyed their pride long time ago with colonial & classical style architectural building & decor. The problem is that they never renovate or may be some renovation only which is too bad and so sad. This could have compared with The Raffle or The Oriental in their prime time. The Lobby light is so dim that hardly see even your palm. I got a deluxe room on the second floor which is a non smoking floor. the room itself is big enough for me with double bed, a sofa and a working table but the room lighting is also dim except a table lamp on the working table that brighter than others, two drinking bottles water and tea/coffee making facility provided with empty refrigerator(at least it's cool). Flat screen TV provided with mostly local channels and BBC news plus a borring English movies channels dated many years back. they have also safe box and iron/ironing board with 5-6 hangers( Ilike it as I stayed for a week) Bathroom has no bathtube ( I do not mind ) but the hot/cold water was not stable (fluctuate all the time) they have separate show corner but the shower curtain is so short that make water spilled out to the rest of the bathroom when using shower. Bathroom amenities is indeed do not want to talk about, please bring your own nescessity. Air-Con is great as I love cool air but because room is fully carpet therefore, some stink can be detected from time to time. As I stayed on second floor,then, no choice but to hear music/drum from the Bar below. it was very annoyed for other but for me I sleep late so the Bar closed before I go to sleep. The elevator is fast and noiceless. Breakfast is a buffet style with all the basic you can imagine for breakfast but do not expect any Pork dishes as they try to serve Muslim as well. service is acceptable in all area, the place is clean & safe...All in all, this place need renovation, refurbishing or repainting the outside building, etc. to win back their good memory and prime

Room Tip: Choose Deluxe Room but on high floor facing Merdeka Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Hotel
Harbour View Hotel
#21 of 47 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental Kuching
0.6 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Riverside Majestic Hotel
#11 of 47 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
0.3 mi away
Dormani Hotel
Dormani Hotel
#27 of 47 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#5 of 47 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 stars 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites

Address: Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg | Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an advantageous strategic location, only 15 minutes from the airport, the regal Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites gives guests privilege across to some of Kuching city's historical jewels such as the Sarawak Museum and one of Kuching's landmarks, Padang Merdeka. Nearby are the Textile Museum, Chinese History Museum and Islamic Museum. The Hotel is just a short walk to the newly-built shopping mall, Plaza Merdeka, and is a 5-minute walk to the Waterfront and Main Bazaar. Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites is home to 213 rooms inclusive of apartment suites. The Hotel offers comprehensive facilities including Wi-Fi access, health centre, gym, swimming pool and sauna, all of which ensures a pleasurable stay for guests. The Hotel has six international standard food and beverage outlets: Ristorante Beccari, the award-winning Italian restaurant; Aurora Court, the all-day dining restaurant; Victoria Arms, the English pub; Yn Cellar; La Habana Cigar Divan; and its cafe bistro, Seattle Coffee & Tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merdeka Palace Kuching
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.