We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“serene environment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Borneo Highlands Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Borneo Highlands Resort to your Saves list
Borneo Highlands Resort
Jalan Borneo Heights | Padawan, Kuching 94200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Kuching
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“serene environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Getting there you have to go uphill the road with a very steep and twisting bends. So consider your options planning to get there. The resort is mainly catered for golfers with lots of golf course, and not much trekking can be done, but still the area is nice for a walk and jog. Really enjoyable. At 2300ft above sea level, the atmosphere is just refreshing in the morning. Not a golfer, I'd prob say 2-3 days is enough for all the sights and exploring. Few mountain bike are ready for rent. There's not many guest during the weekdays, barely seen them which makes the experience kind of different and more private. Food, is just ok, but bit too expensive for what they serve. Pleasant staff, friendly and polite. Sadly the only downside is that the wifi service is better off without. It doesn't make any difference.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear waleos,

Pleasant greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort.

We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to review and rate us. We constantly seek to improve our services and facilities in order to provide better comfort to our guests.

It's good to hear that you liked our hospitality and regretted the discomfort caused by the wifi service. While we try to ensure that the Internet connectivity is always 100% but due to the location there are intermittent connectivity issues. Rest assured that we are looking into this to provide a more permanent solution.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
9
21
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Huge under-utilized property with 18 hole golf course. My 2nd visit primarily for photography, the forest trails during day and night-time are highly recommended and again the highlight of my visit. I find the concept of vegetarian menu interesting, but the execution was average only, and there was too much marketing spin on the menu trying to sell the idea, including reduction of carbon footprint, reduced water usage and reduce fossil fuel dependence. All this from a resort that maintain wast areas of manicured lawns and golf driveways in an area that was a pristine prime rainforest before logging in the area was approved. The rooms in the clubhouse are small and a bit noisy in the morning, due to various engines running. Service and housekeeping was good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear PolarbearSingapore

Pleasant greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort.

We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us especially the forest trails and thank you for taking the time to review and rate us. We constantly seek to improve our services and facilities in order to provide better comfort to our guests.

Borneo Highlands Resort is built on top of a barren logged out area and in a way we are rehabilitating the land and our concept of "Back to Nature, Back to Basics" reflects the environmental efforts in trying to reverse the damage done by the previous logging operations. Our golf course also have won environmental award as having minimal impact to the environment.

It's good to hear that you liked our service and housekeeping.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Took our group 3.5 hrs to get to the resort from Kuching. The traffic jam was a nightmare but when we eventually arrived at the resort the scenary was beautiful and the air very refreshing. Staff were very friendly and the guard at the foot of the hill very chatty and provided us with a lot of interesting information while we waited for the resort car. Food was vegetarian and tasty. Liked the deep fied taufu best but the sambal brinjal was a close second. Unfortunately rained most of the time and very windy and cold at night. Room rates fantastic value but daily activities pricey especially if in a family group. Save yourself some money by visiting the various places on your own.Most within walking distance. Fear for the future of the resort as not doing well with very few visitors and obviously no money in the coffer to maintain the place. Virtually like a ghost place. Wish the resot well but may have to change concept to be sustainable.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Teh T,

Pleasant greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort.

We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to review and rate us. We constantly seek to improve our services and facilities in order to provide better comfort to our guests.

It's good to hear that you liked our environment, food, and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I enjoyed my time at Borneo Highland. My family (4 adults and no kids) decided to make a side trip from Kuching to Borneo Highland. It was a short drive (less than 2hours) to get to main entrance (at the foot of the highland). We had arrangements for the resort to pick us up as we did not want to drive up in our car.

As it was raining, the resort sent a car to pick us up (instead of their open trolley bus). For those who are sensitive to motion, be prepared for car sickness. The ride takes about 20 minutes.

The weather was perfect for us. We could see the clouds passing us. Bring a windbreaker as it gets a little chilly in the night. The resort is old and needs some maintenance and refurbishment but it was comfortable enough for us. Breakfast served at the resort was sumptuous even though they dont serve any meat.

We rested well and registered for the optional tours the next morning. As our parents are with us, we cannot engage in activities that are too demanding. We took a tour package that takes us to the Kalimantan border, the flower garden etc. Only the tour to the Kalimantan Border was excellent, the rest were average. Alot of photography opportunities for people who loves to take photograhs. Go at the break of dawn to catch the sunrise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Chameli13,

Pleasant greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort.

We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the excellent review and ratings.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This place is for those who want to get out of the city for a relaxing time for reflection, rest and birding. Food is okay since you can't eat anywhere else at this private resort.Beautiful bungalows to admire, wild orchids, view of Kalimantan from this side of the border. I capture a price picture of honey sucker.. You may also visit a Bidayu Longhouse at the foothills for a taste of kampung life. Don't expect highly for a private resort which the general public can afford and quite a distance from Kucing. Come expecting nature to breathe a fresh prespective of life into your life. Better still, write your journal for a book you can share with you with others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear KayseeT,

Pleasant greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to review and rate us. We constantly seek to improve our services and facilities in order to provide better comfort to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibu, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

A great place to stay away from city chaos. Welcomed by friendly customer service (smooth check-in) and a short brief by the staff what we can do while we're at the resort. We have a relaxing and healthy lifestyles at the resort. The room do not provide television and the food at the cafe is vegetarian (less salt ^__^ ) !! Fresh and cold air at night. Bicycle to ride at cost RM20 for 2 hours. Overall its a pleasant and great holiday with couples or family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear myLauRaz,

Pleasant greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the very good review and ratings.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This resort and golf club is nestled in the mountains along the border with Kalimantan. I stayed there for 3 nights to hike around and do a little birding. I saw over 30 different species. Lovely looking golf course. Resort was in good shape and the staff were all terrific.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear updog247,

Pleasant greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Up to date there are over 200 species of birds can be found at Borneo Highlands Resort and we are located in the Important Bird Area (IBA) MY40 - Gunung Penrissen.

It is good to hear that you enjoyed the environment, the hiking and the birding at Borneo Highlands Resort. Thank you for the very good review and ratings.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borneo Highlands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Highlands Resort

Address: Jalan Borneo Heights | Padawan, Kuching 94200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden treasure in the heart of Borneo’s highland rainforest. Cleverly tucked away in the exotic highland rainforest of Borneo standing at the height of 1,000 meters above sea level on the Sarawak-Kalimantan border. Flushed within 5,000 acres of untouched greens, surrounded by the world’s oldest and 2nd largest tropical rainforest, Borneo Highlands Resort is surely a sanctuary to escape to. Unwind, renew, and rejuvenate with a careful selection of enjoyable retreats, tailored exclusively for you to take care of your inner self while we take care of the rest. Back to Nature, Back to Basics ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Borneo Highlands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Highlands Hotel Kuching
Borneo Highlands Resort Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borneo Highlands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.