We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature, fresh air & birding” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Borneo Highlands Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Borneo Highlands Resort to your Saves list
Borneo Highlands Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Borneo Heights | Padawan, Kuching 94200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in Kuching
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nature, fresh air & birding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This place is for those who want to get out of the city for a relaxing time for reflection, rest and birding. Food is okay since you can't eat anywhere else at this private resort.Beautiful bungalows to admire, wild orchids, view of Kalimantan from this side of the border. I capture a price picture of honey sucker.. You may also visit a Bidayu Longhouse at the foothills for a taste of kampung life. Don't expect highly for a private resort which the general public can afford and quite a distance from Kucing. Come expecting nature to breathe a fresh prespective of life into your life. Better still, write your journal for a book you can share with you with others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear KayseeT,

Pleasant greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to review and rate us. We constantly seek to improve our services and facilities in order to provide better comfort to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    19
    10
    5
    7
See reviews for
12
21
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sibu, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

A great place to stay away from city chaos. Welcomed by friendly customer service (smooth check-in) and a short brief by the staff what we can do while we're at the resort. We have a relaxing and healthy lifestyles at the resort. The room do not provide television and the food at the cafe is vegetarian (less salt ^__^ ) !! Fresh and cold air at night. Bicycle to ride at cost RM20 for 2 hours. Overall its a pleasant and great holiday with couples or family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear myLauRaz,

Pleasant greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the very good review and ratings.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This resort and golf club is nestled in the mountains along the border with Kalimantan. I stayed there for 3 nights to hike around and do a little birding. I saw over 30 different species. Lovely looking golf course. Resort was in good shape and the staff were all terrific.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear updog247,

Pleasant greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Up to date there are over 200 species of birds can be found at Borneo Highlands Resort and we are located in the Important Bird Area (IBA) MY40 - Gunung Penrissen.

It is good to hear that you enjoyed the environment, the hiking and the birding at Borneo Highlands Resort. Thank you for the very good review and ratings.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

No doubt at all about the fresh air and a place to be for golfers but the resort is a bit run down. We stayed at a Birdie room (Deluxe) after persuasion from the reservation staff that the Par (standard) room would be too small for the family of four (2 a 2 c). As we were told that the resort serve only vegeterian.. we brought our instant noodles and titbits. Walking around the resort is like walking in the dark without guides. There were no maps to show the walking routesa and for all the activities come with a price.We followed the route of the golf course and the children had fun playing golf without the golf sticks... OUR DISLIKE: When we checked in there were no toilet paper so we had to walk to the reception counter to request for one (no phone in the room). It took nearly an hour b4 a unfriendly housekeeper knocked on the door to say. "NO STOCK". It was so funny to realize that the resort RUN OUT of toilet paper.. In the end we asked for tissue paper instead. Next morning we had our so called Veg bfast. A place were reserved for us and to the horror or joke when we were at the buffet line... it is not a veg buffet. WHat was served were eggs (oh.. the cook at that time do not know what is a "sunny side eggs" He said it is fried egg) Nasi Lemak without the meat, roti canai with some pumpkin at the bottom of the cold curry, bread ( 2 types with a broken down toaster), fruits and That is all folks. Soory..I did not mention there is no TV in the room.
LIKES: Cool and plenty of greenery. The air is fresh and at night it is really peaceful except with the next door kids playing soccer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear matjensel,

Pleasant greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort.

We regretted the discomfort that you experience during your stay with us and thank you for the feedback as it allows us to make improvements.

Our team has been informed regarding your feedback and necessary steps are taken for improvements.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Went to this resort with friends in 2009, came back with good memories. Went again on 19 August 2012 with family, It is still a wonderful place for relax and rest. Fresh air, beautiful golf course view. Despite of these two, the resort is poorly maintained. However, the staff are friendly and helpful. The hot pool is wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Angie721,

Pleasant greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the feedback on the maintenance part. Our team have taken note of the feedback and will take the necessary steps to make improvements.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Let's start with what it is: A typical Malaysian resort that was once probably amazing but has since been left to deteriorate. The Birdie room in the main house was pretty nice although the mattress was rock hard, which some people like. The golf course is spectacular although the greens are a bit rough but typical by Malaysian standards. I played two rounds and was the only one on the course. The golf “shop” is a joke, no gloves, a few cheap balls and that’s about it. All in all not a bad golfing experience.
The food: A joke, they claim to have a “healthy” vegetarian restaurant, what they really have is a bunch of fried noodles and potatoes soaking in oil. There’s nothing healthy about a plate of greasy noodles. They DO NOT only use veggies from the “farm”. Why not have some REAL vegetarian choices?? Grilled asparagus or fresh sliced tomatoes? Maybe some homemade pasta with fresh garlic and tomatoes? How about a nice salad?? Seriously I felt like I was packing on pounds eating the stuff they served… The breakfast was just plain bad, congee, of course, omelettes, again cooked in grease, undrinkable coffee. The “organic farm” is another sad joke. They grow 2 things, beans and lettuce of some sort. It’s not charming, not pretty and most likely not organic, also, it’s of course very run down.
The location is beautiful and if you’re a golfer it’s worth a visit but be prepared: Bring some snacks, bring some liquor, and bring a good long book. It really was nice and cool and we never missed the AC.
For some strange reason there is no swimming pool…there’s a pit with rocks around it that they called a pool, but it was so dirty you’d be crazy to set foot in it.
We met the marketing “manager” and told him we were going to check out a day earlier than planned and.. this is amazing…HE NEVER ASKED WHY. He’s the MARKETING manager and did not once ask why we wanted to leave early! All he made sure to tell us is there would be no refund…Hilarious right??

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear ObamaExpat,

Pleasant greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort.

We regretted the discomfort that you experienced during your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and feedback. We welcome all feedback as it helps us to make further improvements.

Rest assured, that our team are informed in regards to your feedback and have since taken the necessary steps for improvements.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed in the Jungle Cabin/chalet amidst idyllic tropical surroundings. Although old and in need of maintenance, the traditional design is appealing and spacious, with flat screen TV, fridge and microwave oven. An electric jug is provided but coffee is not. Due to some problems with the shower which could not be fixed instantly, we moved to another chalet. As it is some distance from the Clubhouse (reception/restaurant), we had to rely on the hotel's transport if we did not feel like walking or were in a hurry. We enjoyed our simple vegetarian dishes chosen from the menu with a reasonable selection. For breakfast, you can opt for American, Local or Continental.

Transfer from foothill entrance to hotel (20 mins.) is RM20.00 per person per way.

For folks who love to play golf, commune with nature and have peace of mind, this is a splendid location. The well-landscaped and jungly area is enormous and picturesque, and there are several "adventurous" nature" outings to keep you out of boredom. Your jaw will drop in admiration at the view of the Kalimantan border from the hilltop. We sauntered down to the waterfall (about an hour), immersed in cool water and discovered friendly fish which nibbled soothingly at your feet.

By See Toh Chue Peng/Jeremy Savill
Malaysia/United Kingdom

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear See Toh Chue Peng and Jeremy Savill,

Pleasant greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the very good review and ratings.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borneo Highlands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Highlands Resort

Address: Jalan Borneo Heights | Padawan, Kuching 94200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Borneo Highlands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden treasure in the heart of Borneo’s highland rainforest. Cleverly tucked away in the exotic highland rainforest of Borneo standing at the height of 1,000 meters above sea level on the Sarawak-Kalimantan border. Flushed within 5,000 acres of untouched greens, surrounded by the world’s oldest and 2nd largest tropical rainforest, Borneo Highlands Resort is surely a sanctuary to escape to. Unwind, renew, and rejuvenate with a careful selection of enjoyable retreats, tailored exclusively for you to take care of your inner self while we take care of the rest. Back to Nature, Back to Basics ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and EasyToBook so you can book your Borneo Highlands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Highlands Hotel Kuching
Borneo Highlands Resort Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borneo Highlands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.