We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful mountain resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Borneo Highlands Resort

Save Saved
You added Borneo Highlands Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Borneo Highlands Resort
Jalan Borneo Heights | Padawan, Kuching 94200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 42 hotels in Kuching
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Beautiful mountain resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This resort and golf club is nestled in the mountains along the border with Kalimantan. I stayed there for 3 nights to hike around and do a little birding. I saw over 30 different species. Lovely looking golf course. Resort was in good shape and the staff were all terrific.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear updog247,

Pleasant greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Up to date there are over 200 species of birds can be found at Borneo Highlands Resort and we are located in the Important Bird Area (IBA) MY40 - Gunung Penrissen.

It is good to hear that you enjoyed the environment, the hiking and the birding at Borneo Highlands Resort. Thank you for the very good review and ratings.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
7
15
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

No doubt at all about the fresh air and a place to be for golfers but the resort is a bit run down. We stayed at a Birdie room (Deluxe) after persuasion from the reservation staff that the Par (standard) room would be too small for the family of four (2 a 2 c). As we were told that the resort serve only vegeterian.. we brought our instant noodles and titbits. Walking around the resort is like walking in the dark without guides. There were no maps to show the walking routesa and for all the activities come with a price.We followed the route of the golf course and the children had fun playing golf without the golf sticks... OUR DISLIKE: When we checked in there were no toilet paper so we had to walk to the reception counter to request for one (no phone in the room). It took nearly an hour b4 a unfriendly housekeeper knocked on the door to say. "NO STOCK". It was so funny to realize that the resort RUN OUT of toilet paper.. In the end we asked for tissue paper instead. Next morning we had our so called Veg bfast. A place were reserved for us and to the horror or joke when we were at the buffet line... it is not a veg buffet. WHat was served were eggs (oh.. the cook at that time do not know what is a "sunny side eggs" He said it is fried egg) Nasi Lemak without the meat, roti canai with some pumpkin at the bottom of the cold curry, bread ( 2 types with a broken down toaster), fruits and That is all folks. Soory..I did not mention there is no TV in the room.
LIKES: Cool and plenty of greenery. The air is fresh and at night it is really peaceful except with the next door kids playing soccer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear matjensel,

Pleasant greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort.

We regretted the discomfort that you experience during your stay with us and thank you for the feedback as it allows us to make improvements.

Our team has been informed regarding your feedback and necessary steps are taken for improvements.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Went to this resort with friends in 2009, came back with good memories. Went again on 19 August 2012 with family, It is still a wonderful place for relax and rest. Fresh air, beautiful golf course view. Despite of these two, the resort is poorly maintained. However, the staff are friendly and helpful. The hot pool is wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Angie721,

Pleasant greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the feedback on the maintenance part. Our team have taken note of the feedback and will take the necessary steps to make improvements.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Let's start with what it is: A typical Malaysian resort that was once probably amazing but has since been left to deteriorate. The Birdie room in the main house was pretty nice although the mattress was rock hard, which some people like. The golf course is spectacular although the greens are a bit rough but typical by Malaysian standards. I played two rounds and was the only one on the course. The golf “shop” is a joke, no gloves, a few cheap balls and that’s about it. All in all not a bad golfing experience.
The food: A joke, they claim to have a “healthy” vegetarian restaurant, what they really have is a bunch of fried noodles and potatoes soaking in oil. There’s nothing healthy about a plate of greasy noodles. They DO NOT only use veggies from the “farm”. Why not have some REAL vegetarian choices?? Grilled asparagus or fresh sliced tomatoes? Maybe some homemade pasta with fresh garlic and tomatoes? How about a nice salad?? Seriously I felt like I was packing on pounds eating the stuff they served… The breakfast was just plain bad, congee, of course, omelettes, again cooked in grease, undrinkable coffee. The “organic farm” is another sad joke. They grow 2 things, beans and lettuce of some sort. It’s not charming, not pretty and most likely not organic, also, it’s of course very run down.
The location is beautiful and if you’re a golfer it’s worth a visit but be prepared: Bring some snacks, bring some liquor, and bring a good long book. It really was nice and cool and we never missed the AC.
For some strange reason there is no swimming pool…there’s a pit with rocks around it that they called a pool, but it was so dirty you’d be crazy to set foot in it.
We met the marketing “manager” and told him we were going to check out a day earlier than planned and.. this is amazing…HE NEVER ASKED WHY. He’s the MARKETING manager and did not once ask why we wanted to leave early! All he made sure to tell us is there would be no refund…Hilarious right??

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear ObamaExpat,

Pleasant greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort.

We regretted the discomfort that you experienced during your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and feedback. We welcome all feedback as it helps us to make further improvements.

Rest assured, that our team are informed in regards to your feedback and have since taken the necessary steps for improvements.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed in the Jungle Cabin/chalet amidst idyllic tropical surroundings. Although old and in need of maintenance, the traditional design is appealing and spacious, with flat screen TV, fridge and microwave oven. An electric jug is provided but coffee is not. Due to some problems with the shower which could not be fixed instantly, we moved to another chalet. As it is some distance from the Clubhouse (reception/restaurant), we had to rely on the hotel's transport if we did not feel like walking or were in a hurry. We enjoyed our simple vegetarian dishes chosen from the menu with a reasonable selection. For breakfast, you can opt for American, Local or Continental.

Transfer from foothill entrance to hotel (20 mins.) is RM20.00 per person per way.

For folks who love to play golf, commune with nature and have peace of mind, this is a splendid location. The well-landscaped and jungly area is enormous and picturesque, and there are several "adventurous" nature" outings to keep you out of boredom. Your jaw will drop in admiration at the view of the Kalimantan border from the hilltop. We sauntered down to the waterfall (about an hour), immersed in cool water and discovered friendly fish which nibbled soothingly at your feet.

By See Toh Chue Peng/Jeremy Savill
Malaysia/United Kingdom

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear See Toh Chue Peng and Jeremy Savill,

Pleasant greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the very good review and ratings.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

BHR is an excellent couples getaway, especially for golfers. The resort is a quaint, romantic, understated mountain-top resort with stunning views and surrounded by virgin jungle. The rooms were very pleasant with a lot of light and reminded me somewhat of a Japanese ryokan. The food was simple, well-prepared and very tasty vegetarian cuisine. I recommend the lasagna ratatouille, the vegetable curry and any of the soups. The staff were very pleasant and friendly. The course was well beyond expectations. I don't know how they maintained it so well given how few grounds keepers we saw, but it was immaculate. The highlight of the trip was Margaret, a pint-sized local Bidayuh woman who grew up on the mountain and was full of ghostly tales. In addition, she gave one of the best therapeutic massages I've ever had, actually sorting out a nasty shoulder problem that I've had for months. Go there!

Room Tip: Go for the top floor. Also, there are no phones, tv's or internet in the room, so go to relax n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear PhredOtaku,

Pleasant greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank you for the excellent review and ratings. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Borneo Highlands is a great place for relaxing with beautiful landscape & spectacular view. Weather is cool in the early morning and night.
Paying for MYR199 nett for 1st night & MYR 159nett (Par room) for 2nd night with good hot American
Breakfast, free transfer from the highland foothill (takes 20 mins on a winding road); complementary entrance to the spa during the facebook’s fans promotion is a steal.

The room is small but cozy. There isn't any telephone,fridge or television in the room.
You may watch free movie at the in-house mini theatre or visit the spa with hot and cold Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna.
Ask for Ms Margaret, if you need a good message (20% discount for guest).

They have quite a number of paid activities- Mother Nature Challenge (Mt Penrissen) half day tour to climb to the top of Mt Penrissen – the highest peak
In Kuching at 4,363 above sea level & enjoy the breathtaking view at the top, 2 hrs tour will be Bidayuh Head House Trail, Rainforest Jungle Trail, Highlight Rainforest tour etc.
We took the Highlands Rainforest guided tour MYR30nett/pax – Kalimantan View Pt, Horticulture Nursery, Organic farm etc. Actually it is not difficult to do it yourself if you have strong legs, the path are winding and hilly. It’s better to visit the Kalimantan view point in the early morning.
There’s another spectacular view will be at the horse stable where you can view the distance sea of clouds.
It is about half an hour walk from the resort taking short cut from path facing the Monastery.

We took all our meal at Annah Rais Café which only served vegetarian food, so so and good (20% discount). It will be good to include tofu or dry bean curd in their meal instead of egg.
The vegetables were from their own organic farm.

We had a good time and we will come back again with more people next time when there’s a promotion.

PS: Taxi charges - airport to Borneo highlands resort MYR75, city to BH resort MYR100, Damai beach to BH resort MYR150 (consider good rate as I got another much higher quote), waterfront to The Spring Mall MYR15,
waterfront to Airport MYR23 to MYR26.
Shuttle van Damai beach to City MYR12 to MYR15/pax

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Azumi5,

Pleasant greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the very good review and ratings.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Borneo Highlands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Highlands Resort

Also Known As:
Borneo Highlands Hotel Kuching
Borneo Highlands Resort Kuching, Sarawak
Address: Jalan Borneo Heights | Padawan, Kuching 94200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kuching
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden treasure in the heart of Borneo’s highland rainforest. Cleverly tucked away in the exotic highland rainforest of Borneo standing at the height of 1,000 meters above sea level on the Sarawak-Kalimantan border. Flushed within 5,000 acres of untouched greens, surrounded by the world’s oldest and 2nd largest tropical rainforest, Borneo Highlands Resort is surely a sanctuary to escape to. Unwind, renew, and rejuvenate with a careful selection of enjoyable retreats, tailored exclusively for you to take care of your inner self while we take care of the rest. Back to Nature, Back to Basics ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Borneo Highlands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borneo Highlands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.