We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, comfortable, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Kuching

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Kuching to your Saves list
Hilton Kuching
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2396, Kuching 93100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Kuching
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Convenient, comfortable, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

We stayed at the Kuching Hilton for 6 nights as our base for seeing Sarawak. The hotel is probably the best in Kuching for location and comfort, and that's important because there is a lot to see and do in the area but the climate is tiring and one needs a peaceful, no fuss place to rest at the end of the day. Try to get a river view, it makes all the difference! The staff is outstanding..real, genuine service. We didn't care for the breakfast buffet, just not our style, but others seem to love it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    345
    121
    31
    13
See reviews for
127
268
68
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

The hotel is not the newest but the rooms, lobby , pool, gym are in perfect conditions, fully functional and great value. The service is great. They will make this extra step .
We booked a club suite for GBP70.00 a night and this is just amazing value. The lounge is relaxing with good quality of canapes and free alchohol in the evening, amazing views and high level of service. The breakfast is very good in the lounge, relaxted and they will make everythong on order for you. The pool is small but sunny and again not crowded.
Many shopping centres around, very good restaurants in the hotel and also some great deals on sea food just opposite the hotel , there is a small restaurant on the river. But again even the prices for room service are half the price of other hotels in Borneo like Shangri La. Well done to Hilton. Location is also the best on the river.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

I booked this hotel after reading the reviews, and it was definitely worth it! This hotel is superb. The service is impeccable, and the hotel has a great location on the waterfront in Kuching. My room had a view over the river which was stunning. Breakfast was one of the best I've ever had, and there are many other food options in the hotel. Service was unfaultable, and I even used the travel agency in the hotel to arrange some alternative sightseeing trips... Couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

We stayed at the Hilton for 5 nights for the first part of our trip to Borneo for our honeymoon. We had a great time, the service you get from all the staff is brilliant. The hotel is in a great location for exploring Kuching and it has a lovely outdoor pool which is much needed after a day in the heat! We had a room overlooking the river which was a lovely view. The room its self was very clean and had everything we needed. The only slightly negative point about the room, if I'm being pernickety, was that the decor was beginning to look a little outdated. We had breakfast included in our room rate. The choice and quality of food was fantastic, again the service by the staff during breakfast was excellent. Would well recommend a stay at the Hilton and a visit to Kuching.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

Stayed for 3 nights in June and very impressed - great location. Booked an executive room on the 11th floor , with a fantastic view across the river, so we were able to use the executive room and facilities. Service was excellent
The hotel is in a great location to explore Kuching and after a morning exploring in the heat it is great to come back to the hotel and crash out around the pool
Would definitely book again

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

We just returned from 10 days in Kuching and saw many other hotels, and the hilton is by far the best in the area. The rooms are a bit dated, but very well appointed, clean, quiet and in a great location convenient to restaurants, convenience stores etc. We had a room overlooking the Sarawak river on the 11th/executive floor. We found it a great deal to pay for the executive level services, it includes breakfast buffet, sodas & snacks all day/night and cocktails in the evening for 2 hours. Bako is a must see! if you have time, Damai beach resort is nice to visit and don't spend too much time at Semmangoh, the feeding times are at 9am and 3pm. Taxis to all parks are 40-50rm. travel companies tended to be a bit expensive, you can do all the parks easily on your own!

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

I have just returned from staying 6 nights at the Hilton Kuching and I can't fault it. We booked a basic room and the view wasn't beautiful, altho we were hardly in our room, but the service was first class and the friendlines and attentiveness of the staff exceeded every other hotel i have stayed in. Yes, it does cost more to eat there than outside the hotel but you are paying for great quality food. The dinner buffet is great and costs about £15 each for lobster, prawns etc. I think this is great value. This hotel is a bargain for the price and I am so glad i stayed there. The river is a bit of a let down and Kuching itself isn't the greatest city, but this hotel is an excellent base from which to explore Sarawak. Fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Kuching

Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2396, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kuching
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#3 Family Hotel in Kuching
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Kuching is located in the heart of the charming city of Kuching, overlooking the tranquil Sarawak River. Kuching's landmark, the hotel commands the best view of the gently winding river and other captivating sights.20 minutes drive (11 km) from Kuching International Airport, whilst the commercial centre and city attractions such as the Main Bazaar, Kuching Waterfront and the Tua Pek Kong Temple are a mere walk away.Modern shopping centres are reachable on foot, as are classic old historical sites are nearby. The hotel makes the perfect base to explore Kuching! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Kuching Hotel Kuching
Hilton International Kuching
Kuching Hilton International
Hilton Kuching Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Kuching, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.