We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quite & Peaceful Place to Stay in the City.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Kuching

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Kuching to your Saves list
Hilton Kuching
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2396, Kuching 93100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Kuching
Kuching, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Quite & Peaceful Place to Stay in the City.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Nothing much to shout about with the Hilton branding for this relatively old hotel in the city. Staff are pretty good and efficient. Not very impress with the quality of foods served at breakfast. The International Buffet are mediocre to say the least but not to pricey for the Hilton class. Room are spacious and clean. Do request for a room with a better view facing the Sarawak River. Watch out for the promotional period with room rates at 'give away prices '.

Room Tip: Request for a room facing the Sarawak River with a clearer view of the Astana building and the local...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

We regret we were not able to provide you with the quality of food you expected. We are constantly working to improve our menu offerings and your comments will help us improve in this area.

We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in the area.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    343
    121
    31
    13
See reviews for
126
268
68
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Nice views, good location, oldish hotel and it does try hard to match the hard product, sadly it gets muddled in its welcome & treatment of the guests..the smile is a bit strained & staff poorly trained. The executive lounge seating was routinely dirty and not cleaned even after pointing out to the staff, the breakfast was ordinary actually i should say, poor. One evening instead of welcoming to the lounge, the staff's first words were ohh sorry the cocktail hour is over- honey am here just for the coffee-- anyways other newer properties around the area offer much better value..am hhonors diamond with a lot of travel in Asia so perhaps i expect more from hotels in general..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Ashkale,

We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience.

Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

A warm welcome was received from efficient reception staff, and I had a good sized, clean room that was well maintained. Fantastice views over the busy river and into the mountains on the horizon. An acceptable, varied breakfast was on offer including 'beef' bacon. I tried it, but never again. It reminded me of eating biltong, which I enjoy.. but not for breakfast. The coffee shop by reception was welcoming and the staff friendly. Good restaurants/bars are nearby along the promonade and worth a visit. Central location meant that the real Kuching was never too far away to discover on foot. I used this hotel as a base, and went on several tours. Bako N. Park, Santubong and the Culture village. All well worth while and within easy reach.

Room Tip: ...get the river side!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Peter,

Thanks for the comments and hope to see you return soon to our hotel.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I spend 1 night in Hilton Hotel, Kuching due to business trip in Sarawak. The location of the hotel is great. My room on the 11th floor views the mosque and river. At night, you can see the lights from the stalls at the side of the river. It is very beautiful.

It is also easy to find food joints around the hotel. So food is not an issue. There is also a cheap seafood joint on top of a carpark nearby. The price was commendable cheap and the taste was not bad.

I stayed in deluxe room no# 1122. It was super huge. Since I stayed there only 1 day, I don't think I managed to utilize everything in the room.. :).

If you are looking to find some "Kek Lapis Sarawak or Terubok fish, you can always take a boat from the riverside to the village across. The price is quite ok and they also provide services to deliver to your hotel if you are leaving on a different day. With that, they will provide and pack fresh fishes for you.

I will surely come again to Hilton, Kuching in future and maybe this time I will bring my family along.

Room Tip: If you can, ask for higher floors as the view is nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Azra,

I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction.

Hope to see you return with your family soon.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Reviewed 9 November 2012
Just returned from 11 nights at the Hilton. It was our third visit to kutching. Everything was great. We had a room on the 13th floor great views. The service was excellent plenty of towels and facilities.
The executive was really good for refreshments during the day and the cocktails in the evenings.The staff were very attentive and made us feel special. We ate breakfast in the waterfront restaurant as we like fresh cooked eggs. All the staff got to know us and knew exactly what we wanted.
The travel agent in the foyer is a great choice with a varied range of trips to suit everyone. During our time we almost did them all. Everyone suited our needs (to take photos) and to our pace to savor the beautiful rainforest and Sarawak culture.
Peter was always available to help us and Our Guide Alex was like a friend after all the time we spent with him. His knowledge of the area was so good and really helped us to understand the culture. Thank you to all the staff at the travel agents there.

All the staff at the Hilton made our stay so special and we would recommend this hotel to everyone. the location was great for many restaurants and shopping as well as a stroll after dinner along the waterfront.

Thank you to everyone.

Our only problem is access to the pool for our mobility the steps are quite steep and I have difficulty getting down them only holding on to the handrails.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.

I am very happy to hear that our team took such good care of you and you found the location and amenities of the property to your liking. I will be sure to share your comments with our them as well as Peter and Alex.

We are constantly working to improve our facilities and services and will take your comments about the steps at our poolside into consideration for review.

We look forward to servicing your travel needs should you return to Kuching.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We used Kuching as our base to visit Bako, and stayed at the Hilton for a couple of days.
The check-in in was very fast and the staff was super efficient. Our room was pretty spacious, lovely king size and very comfy bed, and the entire room was spotless clean. There was a vast choice for the breakfast buffet, and the fruit was so fresh and in general all the food we had here was great.
The location is stunning, just across the road from the river, and couple of minutes walk to the city center, the hotel staff was very helpful with giving information on where to go and what to see.
IF we have to complain about something, it would be the bathroom, a bit too small, and looked a bit old... but very clean and well equipped.
We had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Pick rooms with the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Shawn and Caterina,

I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction.

Hope to see you return soon ... safe travels.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denarau Island, Fiji
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, very near to everything so can't think of a better place to stay in Kuching. The rooms were clean, and the service was particularly efficient. The staff were very helpful, polite and friendly. Fantastic hotel, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Taleibung,

Thanks for your gracious comments about your recent stay at Hilton Kuching.

We hope to see you return again soon. Safe travels.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Kuching

Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2396, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kuching
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#3 Family Hotel in Kuching
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Kuching is located in the heart of the charming city of Kuching, overlooking the tranquil Sarawak River. Kuching's landmark, the hotel commands the best view of the gently winding river and other captivating sights.20 minutes drive (11 km) from Kuching International Airport, whilst the commercial centre and city attractions such as the Main Bazaar, Kuching Waterfront and the Tua Pek Kong Temple are a mere walk away.Modern shopping centres are reachable on foot, as are classic old historical sites are nearby. The hotel makes the perfect base to explore Kuching! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Kuching Hotel Kuching
Hilton International Kuching
Kuching Hilton International
Hilton Kuching Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Kuching, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.