We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Kuching Hotel Review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Kuching

Save Saved
You added Hilton Kuching to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Kuching
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2396, Kuching 93100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #5 of 47 hotels in Kuching
Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hilton Kuching Hotel Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My family stayed in this hotel in May 2011 when we first visited Kuching as the other hotels aer fully booked. The service is excellent. We had a great door team member(Mr Ismawi) who never fails to give a smile when you leave the hotel or return back to the hotel as well as Mr Hanabi(the cafe manager) who always ask how is the food when you are having breakfast

The drawback is that as we were staying on the 6th floor (when it was still ungoing renovation)which we were given when we checked in, the facade and the interior of the room looks extremely outdated(late 80s or even earlier). This really mars our experience which i thought do not befit a 5 star hotel or other Hilton hotels which i have stayed at. The pillow given are also very very soft which cause my sleepless nights!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your May 2011 stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we are pleased to inform you that our guestroom renovation was completed in December 2011.

I am glad to hear that Ismawi was helpful! I will be sure to share your comments with him.

I hope you will return should your travels bring you this way and you will get to try our refurbished rooms.

Wishing you and your family a Merry Christmas & Blessed New Year.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    293
    111
    27
    11
See reviews for
106
238
59
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Summary:
We really enjoyed our stay here. Hilton Kuching is an excellent hotel.

Arriving at Hilton Kuching:
We arrived by taxi at around 3pm. My Diamond status was recognised by the lobby staff and we were redirected to the Executive Lounge for a more personalised check-in. And then you first see the view from the lounge: wow!

Rooms:
My Diamond status meant we were upgraded to a very comfortable, river view room - almost a suite. And again the spectacular views made a difference.

Executive Lounge:
The Executive Lounge staff and food/beverage offerings were great. Breakfast is a smaller affair but guests can try the downstairs buffet restaurant if they prefer. Evening drinks and canapés were excellent.

Restaurant - breakfast:
One morning we did try the buffet downstairs and were immensely impressed by the incredible variety.

Room Service:
We ordered this once. It's a tray service, of nice quality and quite good valve. Our room size meant there were tables and chairs enough to sit and eat comfortably.

Restaurants - general
The hotel has an impressive range of dining options. Six restaurants, room service and the Executive Lounge.

Service:
All hotel staff very extremely friendly and helpful, from the doorman to the pool attendant to the lounge staff. - a real asset to the hotel.

Other:
The riverside location is good. You just need to cross the road to go for nice walks along the river. There are good restaurants and even a small shopping centre within easy walking distance.

Leaving Hilton Kuching:
We had an early flight. Check-out was a breeze and the doorman quickly found a taxi for us.

Room Tip: The river view rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction.

Hope to see you return soon.

Wishing you and your family a Merry Christmas & Blessed New Year!

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subang
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Due to my work, i always travel to Kuching and i find that, there is no place better than Hilton to have a nice rest and it is situated at a perfect location.. The room is super clean and cozy and always get an upgrade executive room with a splendid river view. .The PeterThomasRoth toiletries is just perfect match..The staff are really warm and friendly especially ms.sabrina, ms.jasmine, ms.zulaikha and not to forget mr.rashid....always get an upgrade executive room as i'm a gold hhonors member..
At evening u can have a nice evening cocktails...while breakfast at Waterfront Cafe are serving a variety of food..u can also take a breakfast at Executive Lounge for executive guest (10-13 executive floor guest)...
The swimming pool is nice and gym facilities is well organised..but sometime the gym may congested...The waterfront just a in front the hotel, while the shopping street is about 7-8 minutes walking distance...don't forget to go to the Indian Street to a buy a gift for your relatives..
Overall Hilton Kuching is a great hotel and i wish to bring my family to experience it..i'm surely to comeback again and recommended to my friends...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear that our team took such good care of you and you found the facilities and amenities of the property to your liking.

Hope to see you return soon!

Wishing you and your family a Merry Christmas and Blessed New Year.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Located with a great view of the river and 5 min walk to the shopping areas. The hotel also has 3 different restaurants catering to different dietary needs. Friendly staff who provides personalized service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

We thank you for your favorable feedback following your stay with us at the Hilton Kuching and we were delighted to learn that you had and enjoyable and comfortable stay. Indeed the property has a very privileged position within the city.

I have shared your kind comments with the team and we look very much forward to seeing you again soon.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hilton Kuching is still my favorite hotel. It's location is just right for us to move around & is just at the waterfront. They have good & friendly staffs & if you are a regular customer, they will know your name! It's just like my second home in Kuching. Never miss to stay here if you visit Kuching in the state of Sarawak, Malaysia.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

We thank you for your favorable feedback following your stay with us at the Hilton Kuching and we were delighted to learn that you had and enjoyable and comfortable stay. Indeed the property has a very privileged position within the city.

I have shared your kind comments with the team and we look very much forward to seeing you again soon.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Justreturned from 11 nights at the hilton. It was our third visit to kutching. Everything was great. We had a room on the 13th floor great views. The service was excellent pleanty of towels and facilities.
The executive was really good for refreshments during the day and the cocktails in ther evenings.The staff were very attentive and made us feel special. We ate breakfast in the waterfront restaurant as we like fresh cooked eggs. All the staff got to know us and knew exactly what we wanted.
The travel agent in the foyer is a great choice with a varied range of trips to suit everyone. During our time we almost did them all. Everyone suited our needs (to take photos) and to our pace to savour the beatiful rainforest and Sarawak culture.
Peter was always available to help us and Our Guide Alex was like a friend after all the time we spent with him. His knowledge of the area was so good and really helped us to understand the culture. Thank you to all the staff at the travel agents there.

All the staff at the hilton made our stay so special and we would recommend this hotel to everyone. the location was great for many retaurants and shopping as well as a stroll after dinner along the waterfront.

Thank you to everyone.

Our only problem is access to the pool for our mobility the steps are quite steep and I have differculty getting down them only holding on to the handrails.

Room Tip: the front rooms with view of the river are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Very warm greetings from the Hilton Kuching. Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you had enjoyed your stay and all the nice things that you have to say about our facilities and services.

The entire team look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hilton Kuching is situated on a premium property with a view of the sprawling Sarawak River and 5 minutes walk to the famous Main Bazzar where shopping is a pleasant adventure. 2 persons could stay comfortably in a room with enough space to manoeuvre, coffee and tea facilities and easy chairs to relax and watch the sunrise and life on the waterfront . The room is also equipped with facilities for business travellers BUT again and again i have felt that it is the staff who made the difference. Attentive and quick to offer assistance they gave service with a smile and offer service with knowledge of their work and the city of Kuching. At Front Desk and restaurant and housekeeping, porters and concierge they look like they enjoy their job making us feel welcomed as guests. Kudos to the GM who responded to my response on the invite to send feedback.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Warm greetings from the Hilton Kuching.

We thank you for your favorable feedback following your stay with us at the Hilton Kuching and we were delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay. Indeed the property has a very privileged position within the city. Needless to say, all our guests are valued and cared for by all the team members.

The entire team at the Hilton Kuching look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Kuching

Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2396, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kuching
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#4 Family Hotel in Kuching
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Kuching 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Kuching is located in the heart of the charming city of Kuching, overlooking the tranquil Sarawak River. Kuching's landmark, the hotel commands the best view of the gently winding river and other captivating sights.20 minutes drive (11 km) from Kuching International Airport, whilst the commercial centre and city attractions such as the Main Bazaar, Kuching Waterfront and the Tua Pek Kong Temple are a mere walk away.Modern shopping centres are reachable on foot, as are classic old historical sites are nearby. The hotel makes the perfect base to explore Kuching! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Kuching Hotel Kuching
Hilton International Kuching
Kuching Hilton International
Hilton Kuching Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Kuching, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.