We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best staff in the world!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Damai Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Damai Beach Resort to your Saves list
Damai Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Teluk Bandung, Santubong, Kuching 93756, Malaysia (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 48 Hotels in Kuching
Ayr, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The best staff in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Amazing service-the best I have ever experienced. The baruk suite we stayed in had views of the coral sea from the king sized bed, but the decore could do with an update. The staff advised this is coming so we are planning a trip back next year. Even room service was cheap and fantastic. Can't wait to go back. Even golf around the corner. Perfect! And there is a really good tour desk.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    182
    115
    56
    37
See reviews for
188
168
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010 via mobile

When I called earlier for info, the operator mentioned we only need to leave RM50 for deposit but upon check in, we were 'forced' to leave RM100 with no other options unlike other hotels that would offer cash only service. It was disappointing since we had already planned our money just enough for the trip. The duty manager was kind to assist us with the late check out request but when we returned later for the answer, he didn't acknowledge our presence and awang attended to us. He was very rude and not hospitable at all. However, the security Eddie offered to show us the way to our chalet when there was no bellboy. Housekeeper Musa and F&B attendant alex were helpful. Barbara at the restaurant was superb! She was sincere and helpful. A slight annoyance - it was raining in the morning and my partner called at 830am to request for umbrellas so we can go for breakfast. It was only 3 calls and an hour later we got the umbrella, ends up we couldn't really enjoy the breakfast due to limited time. The front desk receptionist should smile more and acknowledge guests.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

We have not stayed at the Damai Beach Resort for 3 years, since it was the Holiday Inn. We think it has improved significantly in that time.

The first thing to note was the staff. New uniforms (since the last visit) make them look brighter and certainly there’s warmth in them reflected by the brightly coloured shirts and tops. The staff were very good indeed, from reception to drivers and restaurant.

We stayed in a hilltop room, which had a fabulous view and is served by the mini shuttle vans on demand (you can walk if you wish up the hill). That was perfectly functional and quick. Our room can with a superb view over the water, curved windows looking out to sea with a balcony area for evening drinks. Wonderful!

We were given a treat by the hotel (with our friend directing) of petals and flowers in our room to reflect our wedding anniversary. Our friends also arranged a special dinner for the 6 of us in the restaurant, which was lovely. The food was good, probably too plentiful, and atmosphere excellent.

This is not a new hotel. Do not expect flash TV screens in your room but you’re at the beach, not there to watch soap operas, so this should not be a real problem. It is not a business hotel. It is true some areas could be refurbished and we could see some have, but overall it is a great experience and I’m looking forward to going back.

THe hotel is also close to the Sarawak Cultural Village and PErmai Rainforest - both of which are good places to visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

A great place for relaxing days at the beach or at the pool.
3 different restaurants to choose from at the hotel itself + nearby seafood restaurants outside the hotel. We especially enjoyed the today's catch at the 'Fishermans Catch' restaurant right by the sea.
Great pool area with a limited offer of free activities including table tennis, kayaks and mini golf (very dated court...). Rainforest trekking posibility close by the hotel. Besides the free activities, lots of tours like a mangrove boat ride and a trip for Bako National Park can be arranged from Damai Beach.
Shuttle to Kuching departs daily.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torbay, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Wonderful location with a superb hill top pool area. Sadly the bar up there was closed - there appeared to be a shortage of staff all around ( no doubt cost cutting by the present operators - no longer Holiday Inn ) Beach chalet was nice but abit dated and in need of a refresh. Food generally good although patchy service in the evenings - pleasant staff but disorganised, no evidence of proper management in attendance. Resort is open to the locals for only 60p per day so at times the place is over-run with locals bringing picnics. Perhaps not what you expect of an idyllic, exotic beach resort !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Stayed here in mid-July. Choose this resort because of the good reviews and to have a quite relaxing time in Kuching. We stayed here for 3 nights. As our plane arrived into Kuching at 9.45pm and we were planning to drive into Kuching and surrounding area for sightseeing on the second day, we had previously booked a rental car from the airport and arrived at the hotel just before 11pm. At check-in they had us listed as a couple and I had to produce my confirmation slip to show that it was booked for 3 people. We had booked a Chalet room which had two queen size beds and the room is quite large. Both room and bathroom were clean. However, due to the mix up about the number of people we had to phone and request extra towel and toileties once we got to our room.

We arrived on the Wednesday night and found that there were not many people in the Resort. This was great for us as there was not any delay in getting breakfast, plenty of room in the pool and quite while seating around under the trees. Coming from Queensland in Australia I found the beach sand dirty but it is better than most within the region.

The breakfast choices were excellent however some of the dishes got cold quickly due to other guests not closing the lids. Food prices at dinner were higher than expected but quality was good.

After our days outing in Kuching the following day, we found that a conference was being held over the weekend. Lots more people about. Next mornings breakfast was a mess. No room in the both the inside and outside dinning areas and we had to sit in the extra table seating in the extended foyer. Most of the food kept running out. Surely the Resort is use to having groups before and they should be served in a different area. We were glad that we were checking out that day.

We felt that the Resort was getting a bit run-down and could do with some fresh painting and the pool needs a good cleaning of the grout.

Room and bathroom were clean. Air conditioner in room was the best that we had come across on our holiday to various locations in Singapore and Malaysia.

Check-out was slow. The girl at the desk had keyed in something wrong and had to redo the bill. She didn’t know how to do this and had to look for the supervisor which took almost 10 minutes. By this time a crowd of other departing guest had lined up behind us. There should have been someone with that knowledge at the counter at that time of the day.

Overall I would recommend this resort but we were glad that we got out on the day the conference started.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durrington UK
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

We stayed at the Damai Beach Resort as part of a "Borneo Adventure" tour organised by Kuoni. On the face of it the Damai Beach was OK, although when we arrived for two nights stay the booking-in was rushed and not particularly welcoming. The room had a tired feel to it - the towels were almost threadbare in places and looked as though they had seen a number of years service.
There was little hotel information in the room, and when we asked at the front desk for basic info we were given one of their glossy leaflets highlighting all the trips that were available. The room had been serviced before our arrival but it was obvioius that certain items of complimentary toileteries were missing.
The staff were OK but often did not seem to know what they were doing - this was particularly so in the main restaurant where the service was very SLOW. Some people in our party waited two and a half hours for their meal to arrive. The food was OK but not as good as advertised. Breakfasts were fine as they were the usual hotel buffet system.
I think our main disappointment was that Kuoni - a tour operator used by us before and which has a good reputation for quality - is still using such a sub-standard place as part of a tour. The Damai Beach Resort has probably been very good in the past but it now needs a sharp injection of cash and some new management to bring it up to an acceptable standard.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Damai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai Beach Resort

Address: Teluk Bandung, Santubong, Kuching 93756, Malaysia (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Damai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Beach Resort & newer waterfront chalets (1993) with accommodations in ethnic-design longhouses & chalets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Damai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Beach Hotel Kuching
Damai Beach Kuching
Holiday Inn Kuching
Damai Beach Resort Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damai Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.