We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Resort My Foot!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Damai Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Damai Beach Resort to your Saves list
Damai Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Teluk Bandung, Santubong, Kuching 93756, Malaysia (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 48 Hotels in Kuching
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“5 Star Resort My Foot!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Me and my family had been staying at this resort many times over the years. A lot have changed since the last management which was under Holiday Inn management. Since then everything is deterioting from better to worse. I meant everything, from the bad condition of the room, the busy front desk service, the unfriendly housekeeping, the unmaintain pool, the lack of privacy, unhygienic towels, pillow case and bedsheet and even washroom, to the unsafe surrounding of falling coconuts and openess to non guest. The rooms were not carpeted as it is wooden flooring. And it is always dusty and sandy. During my stay I asked for the floor to be vacuum but the housekeeper ended up by sweeping the floor with a broom! The reason was to save energy and to stay green. The towels was not prepared when we entered the room and only ONE soap for one room. How the heck they expecting the guest to bath and to wash hand with only one small soap! There were many more dissapointing instances that I'm not going to comment. This is a worse resort and it is not encourage especially to the tourist!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    183
    115
    56
    37
See reviews for
188
169
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We booked a chalet room and we got a chalet that was in the first row from the beach. So the view from the room was great. Chalets are big and we (two adults and two children) had one king size bed and one extra bed. The rooms was a little damp. The main pool was always occupied with the locals so there were no room to swim in. We used the hilltop pool, which was great and quiet. If you are looking for a quiet getaway, this is not the place for you. The hotel is also far from the city, so there isn't much to do in Damai. The cultural village is the must visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is an older hotel but it is well maintained and kept clean. The beach itself is not that great compared to those we have in Australia but is pleasant enough. For the price I think it is reasonable, it is not a glamourous 5 star resort but I think it is charming in its own way.

We stayed in a "chalet" opening on to the beach view. It was a clean and comfortable room with good air conditioning and a reasonable bathroom. The only negative was that there was no in room safe. The room was quite large.

They have some good swimming pools and it is worth getting a ride up to the hilltop area where there is a smaller more exclusive pool which you can use even if you're not staying in the hilltop accommodation.

The breakfast the next morning was average. There was a reasonable selection of food and an egg station. Tea and coffee was self service. As there aren't many places around Damai you are best to have breakfast at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

2nd stay at this resort, the last being in 1998 when it was under Holiday Inn. This time, we stayed at the Baruk Suite and paid for 5 adults via Agoda where an extra single bed was pre-booked. My group was actually 3 adults, 2 children and 1 toddler.

Upon arrival to our room, we found that the room was dated and the furniture was in need of replacement / refurbishment. Tables and chairs had plenty of unsightly scuff marks and the 'queen' size bed seems ot be rather narrow and sagging. Pillows were of the stiff latex type. No extra pillows were made available. The hotel only provided toiletries for 2 adults and that includes only 2 bath towels. I had to call the Housekeeping to remind them to bring another 3 bath towels. They had also omitted to provide hand and face towels as well as the bathrobes. The insulting part was there is this card on the writing desk that states something like "the following are the list of items provided for your stay and if you want to buy them, it is RM... each". They should have made sure that all the items listed were provided in the first place.

The in-room safe was already locked by the previous occupant and I couldn't be troubled to get the housekeeping to come and fix it. Curtains were dated and one wonders if they were washed in recent weeks / months. Due to the nature of the windows, it is essential to draw the curtains for privacy and the hotel should have made sure that these curtains are clean. I also noticed cobwebs on one of the lamps and another table lamp was not working.

The shuttle service from the suite to the lobby was very responsive and we didn't have to wait more than 5 minutes. The Hilltop pool was good and is within 50 metres walking distance and my kids throughly enjoyed themselves. It is certainly much cleaner than the one at the main hotel area which water was unmistakenably green. And yes, you do get cats roaming around the main lobby and swimming pool area (not the hilltop swimming pool).

Breakfast was ordinary and forgettable.

For USD160.00, some say that I might be a tad too critical. However, I believe that the items complained off above can be remedied and would help to increase the stay-experience. It's sad to see such a nice place deteriorating away. That would be a real tragedy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is my first visit to Damai Beach Resort even though I have been visiting Kuching for a number of time. The beach resort is situated north of Kuching City near the Santubong mountain.

Upon reaching the place I found that it is a very big complex of resort hotel beside a small beach. They have so many room types from the usual superior and deluxe room to chalets and hillview apartments. You can choose to have sea view or the green view of the hills.

The reception is huge as they require the space to receive large numbers of guests especially group tours.
However, the counter is not that big where you have to queue when there is a large group checking in.

For the program I was given the spacious superior room located next to the lower ground swimming pool near the beach. It is a big room which can easily accomodate two single bed together with the king size bed already in the room. Basic furniture include a two seat sofa and a big working table. Moving with the trend, the hotel has changed the TV to a flat screen monitor. The number of channels is considered better than usual but the quality of the picture is very disappointing. But who wants to watch TV when you have a lot to explore outside. There is also iron and ironing board provided in the room.

Food for breakfast, lunch and dinner is served at the Satang Cafe near the lobby. They also have small souvenir shop, a bar with pool and a small grocery store. You can also purchase nicely crafted jewelery based from mutiara.

Since I was there for a night and we are provided with three meals a day, the quality of food served is very good. However, the selection of food is very limited. They could have include many local favorites such as Mee Kolok and Laksa Sarawak.

The beach is not that nice but there is a lot of activities for you around the resort area. Sarawak Cultiral Village is walking distance away where you can learn about the heritage of Sarawak. Or you can take a short trip to Damai Golf Resort to tee off.

Lastly, the hotel is due for refurbishment. It is still nice but the regulars surely want a change. Anyway, for first timer that would love a variety resort living in Sarawak you can give this place a try.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed in this resort several times in the past 20 years or so, and had pleasant memories. However, serious maintenance and/or renovation is needed to bring it up to international standards. Others have described the parlous state of the rooms but you should look no further than the pool area, which indicates exactly how bad things have deteriorated. The pool isn't clean and broken tiles haven't been replaced.

Stray cats - I kid you not - roam around the pool area, and the hotel management had the temerity to advertise cat feeding sessions as if these stray cats were exotic animals. Sure, Kuching means cat in Malay and I like cats but these animals weren't healthy or looked after properly.

Very sad experience and I won't be going back there anymore.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was my 5th stay at the Damai Beach Resort. Im not sure what all the other reviewers are complaining about. We normally stay in a beach front chalet which has always been roomy enough and great for our stay with 2 children, this year we decided to try a Baruk suite up on the hill. I cant decide which one I love more the beach chalets are great as they are close to the pool area and reception but the Baruk Suites had fantastic views and were large and roomy for a family of 4. The hilltop pool was a 50m walk from our Suite and is much quieter and peaceful than the main pool area. If you dont like stairs then dont choose a hilltop room. Other than that dont know what more guests could want from a hotel that charges $100 AUD a night for a room that sleeps 4 people and includes breakfast. No the hotel is not 5 star and the rooms are a little dated but really for what you are paying what more do you want. They supply you with bottled water every day and rooms are reasonably clean and very comfortable. The hotel runs a shuttle up to the rooms which we used to go up, but we walked down the stairs to the bottom rather than waiting for the shuttle if we needed to go down. I found all staff friendly and happy to talk and make sure our stay was pleasant. The only time the hotel was really busy was weekends when their is an influx of visitors to the hotel for the weekend but as there is plenty to do in and around Kuching and Sarawak why would you stay around the hotel all day. I found the resort to be very relaxing and would definitely be back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Damai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai Beach Resort

Address: Teluk Bandung, Santubong, Kuching 93756, Malaysia (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Damai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Beach Resort & newer waterfront chalets (1993) with accommodations in ethnic-design longhouses & chalets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Damai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Beach Hotel Kuching
Damai Beach Kuching
Holiday Inn Kuching
Damai Beach Resort Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damai Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.