We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful and relaxing resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Damai Beach Resort

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Expedia.com
and 10 more sites!
Damai Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Teluk Bandung, Santubong, Kuching 93756, Malaysia (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 42 hotels in Kuching
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“peaceful and relaxing resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was my 5th stay at the Damai Beach Resort. Im not sure what all the other reviewers are complaining about. We normally stay in a beach front chalet which has always been roomy enough and great for our stay with 2 children, this year we decided to try a Baruk suite up on the hill. I cant decide which one I love more the beach chalets are great as they are close to the pool area and reception but the Baruk Suites had fantastic views and were large and roomy for a family of 4. The hilltop pool was a 50m walk from our Suite and is much quieter and peaceful than the main pool area. If you dont like stairs then dont choose a hilltop room. Other than that dont know what more guests could want from a hotel that charges $100 AUD a night for a room that sleeps 4 people and includes breakfast. No the hotel is not 5 star and the rooms are a little dated but really for what you are paying what more do you want. They supply you with bottled water every day and rooms are reasonably clean and very comfortable. The hotel runs a shuttle up to the rooms which we used to go up, but we walked down the stairs to the bottom rather than waiting for the shuttle if we needed to go down. I found all staff friendly and happy to talk and make sure our stay was pleasant. The only time the hotel was really busy was weekends when their is an influx of visitors to the hotel for the weekend but as there is plenty to do in and around Kuching and Sarawak why would you stay around the hotel all day. I found the resort to be very relaxing and would definitely be back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    154
    100
    48
    26
See reviews for
158
145
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Over the years since my 1st review, I have been back to stay here many times. My last visit last weekend was a big disappointment. I didn't feel at peace as I usually do at this resort. Firstly, the suite room I usually stay in had the carpet removed and now has unvarnished wooden floors. Though this makes it easier for house keeping to clean, they didn't do a good job. The floor was sandy and dusty. It got worse over the weekend with our comings and goings. That made bed time a sandy affair! Overall, the rooms and facilities need a much needed uplifting.

With the opening of Damai Central next to the hotel, the exclusiveness of the resort is no more. Damai Central is a complex with a noisy bar, so called "flea market", souvenier shop and a Chinese Restaurant. Oh and its also the place to be for big bikers to meet. So generally, it can get crowded over the weekends and holidays. The noise from the bar can be heard at the resort and I couldn't sleep till way after midnight. Damai Central and the hotel share the same owner. Naturally, the now exclusive beach is open to outsiders.

I miss the relative peace and quiet of what this resort used to be. The only time the beach is quiet is at 6 am in the morning and at noon time. If you're looking for a relaxing getaway, don't come to this hotel at the weekends, public holidays and school holidays.

The food isn't anything to shout about. Really gotten worse over the years, particularly so in the last 6 months. Try the Chinese restaurant at Damai Central.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in a beachfront chalet. The room was huge, modern, superb with the beach 5 metres away. The hotel facilities were great, fantastic pool and gym, good restaurants, really friendly staff.

The only downside is there was always tons of teenagers everywhere making lots of noise as they do. We werent too fussed but if you want beach tranquility its probably not the place for you. Or alternatively book a tree hill room which is a bit more secluded

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

What more could anyone want!The ambience of the entire area was just about perfect and the hospitality, friendliness and respect of the Sarawakan staff added just a little bit more icing on the cake. Cleanliness and safety of guests were important to all the staff.Views from the hilltop rooms magnificient.Breakfast inclusive in the tariff, not to mention 6 eating sites.
The resort provided a free shutlle bus to transport guests within the resort grounds( essential to the hilltop rooms) &nearby locations; and for Rm12/person trips into Kuching against Rm 50-60 for a taxi.
Overall a perfect location to soak up the Sarawakan hospitality

Room Tip: Definitely select hilltop room allare spacious with oceanic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have been going there for years, and the property has been deterating for years now. The last review I made was on one of it suites and althought it has a wonderful view of the beach, the room condition is not too good at the moment.

The flooring is full of sand. I was told it was clean hastily, but by looking at the very low occupany rate, I find it very ironic that this can be an excuse. The toilet has a very foul stetch, which I believe is the pipings, and they are a put offs!

The staffs were not too a happy bunch as well, and as I said, if this is the low season, wonder what will happen if it is the high season!

All said and done, this is one of the best properties to visit, period, but they really need to step up, or it will be a 2 star beach front property at a 4 star beach front area!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I remember going to this resort during its heydays. Unfortunately it's no longer what it use to be. Facilities are poorly maintained (the colour of the pool is unhealthy looking), poor quality furnishings, breakfast selection and presentation poor (eggs take forever), stray cats around. The staff are very nice but not empowered or trained to a standard that is required of today's service industry. It attracts locals (family and youth) so I had to call the front desk at midnight to ask them to get our neighbors to turn off the music. The location is beautiful, beach is ok but would not recommend over a holiday weekend when it's full and they just can't cope.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were there end of august. The infrastructure and the rooms are not 5* as in 5* Taj Hotels, Oberoi, Sheraton etc. But this is not a surprise in Asia. The rooms are badly isolated and the neighbor’s voices can easily be heard. The maintenance of the room is poor too; first the drainage of the bathroom sink did not work, then the kettle was totally rusty and last the door lock stopped working. All was fixed. But this is not the ideal vacation feeling in a 4 days stay. Almost every day something broke down.
But the real problem is that the resort is open to the public. For RM 7 a day visitor can use all facilities. As a result the pool is overcrowded and dirty as people swam in the pool fully clothed. There are too few deck chairs available, so we could lie on the sand or grass. There are no personal deck chairs to a room, even though we booked a chalet, which is the 3rd highest room category (standard room, then deluxe, then chalet). Obviously we asked ourselves why we paid RM 700 when a day guest could use the same facility for RM7; and it wasn’t like the breakfast was great neither. When we complained badly at the reception to the duty manager we were allowed to take 2 deck chairs to our chalet and have them for us. The resort bathrooms and showers next to the pool were dirty and stank badly, due to over use.
As the resort is state owned, the state wants to give something back to its people. Nice philosophy but badly implemented. Many day visitors, locals and tourists, didn’t even pay the day visitor fee but just went inside.
With regards to culinary matters, no reason to stay neither. The fish restaurant in the public Damai Central complex was much tastier and cheaper. The welcome drink was a sweet and artificially tasting juice. Prior to the breakfast we had to queue. No booking the evening before was possible. Neither the check-in nor other staff informed us about the breakfast queuing when we asked. Once inside things were slow too. It took ages for a pancake or an omelet and it was best to ignore hygienic aspects as we wouldn’t have eaten anything at all then.
Obivously, we did not relax nor had any romantic moments. The whole are was over crowded and dirty.
Note: beaches are public in Borneo, so I am not sure if the Holiday Inn would be a better choice.

Room Tip: Stay in Kuching and come for the day. Much cheaper and you don't feel cheated as a stupid touris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Damai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Damai Beach Hotel Kuching
Damai Beach Hotel
Damai Beach
Damai Beach Kuching
Holiday Inn Kuching
Damai Beach Resort Kuching, Sarawak
Address: Teluk Bandung, Santubong, Kuching 93756, Malaysia (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Damai Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Beach Resort & newer waterfront chalets (1993) with accommodations in ethnic-design longhouses & chalets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Otel, HotelsClick and Fastbooking so you can book your Damai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damai Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Damai Beach Resort to your Saves list