We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good colonial architecture” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Courthouse

The Old Courthouse
Btwn. Carpenter Street and India Street, Kuching 93400 , Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 67 things to do in Kuching
Attraction details
Prague
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good colonial architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I generally like colonial arhcitecture. The old courthouse is well preserved and very well located in the city center of Kuching. Nice visit and home to few restaurants.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    29
    21
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuching
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A quiet haven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Lovely place to sit and have drinks during the day. An old high ceilinged colonial building with courtyard in front surrounded by trees keeping the traffic noise down. They put out mosi coils as the sun sets.

Wifi was good (it isnt everywhere for Apples), and I sat and caught up with some work on my one month trip to Borneo. Much more enjoyable than sitting in the office.

They were happy to keep refilling my spiced lemon tea with hot water for free - the chilli in the tea went a long way. I didn't eat, but what I saw looked well done, though largely western and a bit limited.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very serene restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The menu is great, staffs are friendly. the price are reasonable. Most of all the ambience of this place is just awesome! Just to relax and enjoy the food.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Such a great location and it could be fabulous, however some money needs to be spent on it. The toilet like wasn't working when we were there and the menu was quite basic. Such a beautiful building. A nice place to go for a quick drink and to check your emails whilst wandering around Kuching.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Could be Great”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

For god sake, burghers of Kuching spend some money to preserve/lift this potentially beautiful and historic old building back to life.

Could be fantastic. Is nearing decrepit.

Restaurant / Cafe areas have so much potential but are run like a roadside stall. Tourist information barely manned. Building itself starting to crumble.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Courthouse also viewed

 

Been to The Old Courthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Courthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.