We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunningly delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of the.Dyak

the.Dyak
No. 29, Ground Floor, Panovel Commercial Complex | Jalan Simpang Tiga, Kuching 93300, Malaysia
+6082234068
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 350 Restaurants in Kuching
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: 'Dyak' is pronounced 'da-yak'; the old English spelling used by the Brookes to classify generically the various tribes of Borneo. At the.Dyak we serve Dayak cuisine prepared with culinary technique and served on Dayak kitchenware. Alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages available. Air-conditioned with free WiFi. Smokers enjoy al-fresco dining. Open from 12 noon till last order at 9.30 pm every day including public holidays. Close on Sundays. Our table is not kosher as we serve pork.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stunningly delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We went to Dyaks after a local Kuching-ite had recommended this as their favourite restaurant. We convinced them to join us for our dinner so we left the ordering to them. We chose a chicken, a fish and 4 vegetarian dishes and each one was as good as the other. The owners father makes his own home made rice wine which was delicious and the deserts were pretty memorable. I would absolutely recommend this restaurant. Lovely decor and the family were really lovely.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    42
    22
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“New Cuisine - Average Fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The cuisine was of the local Dyak tribe in Sarawak and was certainly different. The Restaurant had good atmosphere and ambiance. The food however, was average at best. The food did not have any distinct taste and the meat pieces were not good either.

We had to sit outside as we did not make any reservation. The restaurant had run out of Mosquito coils so we had to battle the insects & get to our food at the same time. Service was slow but pleasant.

The charges for empty plates was a bit odd and the open request for tips was not customary of for the region.

First time experience was for curiosity but we may not go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuching
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not consistent in quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Serve a good Dayak food but quality can be inconsistent sometimes and expect some disappointment. BBQ pork are sometimes too much fat, tepus guring and petai have different taste each visit. Ayam Pansuh is however taste great. We are surprised by the management at charging us rm0.5 to rm1.00 for each extra empty plate or bowl requested. First of its kind in kuching Ti charge for extra plate I guess.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Authentic with Excellent Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Was introduced to this place by friend from Miri and fell in love with this place. The deco was somewhat museum-like and the owner was ever-so pleasant. We were rushing to the airport for my friend's flight and unfortunately this shop was not opened yet. However the owner said we could order our dessert first and our meals would be cooked as soon as the chef arrives.She was very amicable and shared the story of the place and her background. The food was of excellent quality as the locals with me agreed. The best dish was something with pork (darn, i couldn't remmeber it's name) and the tapai + ice cream dessert. The tapai i've tasted before was horrible (fermented too long and was extremely bitter) but this was amazing (sweet and crunchy) and i was hogging the dessert to myself :) An Excellent place with Excellent food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Disappointed,twice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We went back to The Dyak for a second time after finding the first visit abit disappointing & alittle odd.Maybe the first time was just unlucky,& they had had an off night,so judging the other reviews,we gave it another go,& it was basically a mirror image of the first visit.
To be honest the food was ok,twice I had the 3 layered pork,& as far as I am aware,it was as it should've been,I was with a local,& they agreed.Like another reviewer,i wasnt overly impressed with the vegtables though.The ice cream with the rice wine,I found plain ordinary.
On both occasions,they had no lager,I wasnt driving that night,& was looking forward to a beer with my meal,to no avail,Is it strange that a restaurant can run out both times?
The service was just ok,a couple of times we tried to talk to the waiters about what was displayed,didnt seem to be much interest though,on a plus note,the layout & decor of The Dyak is very good.
On both our visits to the restaurant,there were around 4 or 5 tables occupied through out our stay,& on the first visit,the owner was there,yet we were not spoken to once,either on entering or departing,alittle odd considering the other diners were spoken to.
I do not wish to be seen to criticise to much,tastes differ from one person to the next,as said earlier,the decor is very good,& judging by the many positive reviews,this is obviously a well thought of place,but I have had more enjoyable meals for less cost in Kuching.
They say lightning doesn't strike twice,unfortunately,it did.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the.Dyak also viewed

 

Been to the.Dyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the.Dyak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.