We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like coming home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nook B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Nook B&B to your Saves list
Nook B&B
No, 186-187, Level 2-4, | Song Thian Cheok Road, Kuching, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 74 Kuching B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Feels like coming home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed a couple of days in Nook's place. The first time when I arrived, it felt like coming home. Everything was really easygoing, and the atmosphere was excellent. Frankie is very hospitable and she showed me around Kuching. I had a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    11
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
14
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

i stay one week in Kuching at Nook B&B and i was satisfied by this holiday.. the place have a good location, closed to many restaurants, shops and downtown by walk. The beds were confortable with adequate facilities. A special mention for the living room / kitchen and the warm welcome of Franky!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was in Kuching in 2012 & had a couple of "A+" experiences w/ Frankie at The Nook. I didn't stay there, but 2 times we hung around the lounge & patio getting to know some fellow travelers, talking about music & life & Malaysia & having an all-around great time. (Franky also showed a real classy gesture when she made good on a bet we made a couple days earlier)
Thanks for a great time!

hugs & kisses-jj

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I was visit Kuching early this year and was stay at Nook guesthouse. Thank you to the owner ms Francesca for a very worm welcome. Pick and send us to airport. Comfortable accommodation and great location. Easy to walking around the city. Will comeback again soon. Once again thank you for make my visit interesting.

Room Tip: If you need hot water for shower ask for room with ac on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed at the Nook for about 2 weeks. Originally I had only intended on staying for a few nights...but the city of Kuching and the Nook made me stay longer! The hostel has a really cool, laid back vibe that makes you feel at home right away. The rooms are decently sized and there are enough showers to accommodate many guests at the same time. The hostel is in a fantastic location - close to delicious, cheap food, bars and shopping mall. All in all I highly recommend that Nook. It is where I will be staying next time I pay Kuching a visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

You are in for a special treat if u book a room here. Good quality service, comfortable accommodation, great location within the heart of Kuching city. The host is simply superb in entertaining different guests with a special needs who come from different walks of life.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Staying at the Nook is no ordinary experience. Your hostess Franky is crazy (in a good way) and she always puts in a lot of effort to organize special trips for you to experience the real Sarawak. She never asks too much money for these trips. It's more likely that she just asks some money for gas.. I should know, because I stayed there for a month. If you have no problem with using a cold shower, and sharing the sanitaries, the Nook will be your place. You bond with others very easy at the Nook. The living room is a really nice place to hang. I experienced it as home. Oh, and the price is very good, especially when you consider that you are right in the city center! The next time I come to Kuching I will definitely stay at the Nook again.

Room Tip: Discuss your wishes with Franky
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nook B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nook B&B

Address: No, 186-187, Level 2-4, | Song Thian Cheok Road, Kuching, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city center, 2 minutes walk to the waterfront, china town, malls, eating outlets, clubs, bus station and taxi and make convenience, easy for all travelers.4 storey building, lobby and cafe bar is on level 2, with hang-out area for TV, reading, games and meeting friends. At the cafe bar, we serve drink and light food. We have deluxe double room, deluxe single, double, twin, dorm of 4 and 5. At each floor, there are place to sit and chill out. Shower room are make unique, in a very traditional style where you can look out to the sky while shower. Environment are make friendly for everyone. We practice, "Love, Peace and Harmony" concept at The Nook. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Nook B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nook B&B Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nook B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.