We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overly priced for nothing much” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sarawak River Cruise

Sarawak River Cruise
Jalan Gambier, Kuching 93000 , Malaysia
+6082240366
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 31 Activities in Kuching
Type: Boat Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Overly priced for nothing much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I've book online for the cruise and was promise dinner, cultural show and sunset cruise. I was given a special price for booking online. When i reach there as being told to,i was told that the dining area is being renovated so there will be no dinner and they will replace it with syrup orange flavoured drinks and Sarawak layer cake. The priced offered so-called discounted online was RM109.80 for 2, since there's no dinner they gave me RM108 for two pax. so the dinner cost RM1.80? If fine i think, at least i hope to enjoy the cultural dance. It was raining and we were all not allowed to sit at the lower deck as it was so-called "being renovated". The rain water sprinkled on us as the wind did, there was a thin canvas to shed us but it wasn't enought to cover us from the rain and the wind. Anyway, nature did its job and gave us such a beautiful sight as the sun sets. It was all nature's work nothing to do with the cruise. And there was NO cultural show whatsoever that they had claim to be.
I would suggest that you take other boat rides which are available around the area and it cost sooo much cheaper that the Sarawak River Cruise are charging to enjoy the same thing nature is providing.
As the cruise only lasted for 1 hour n 30 minutes end, we went thru the lower deck to exit the cruise boat, as to our dissapointment..the tables at the lower deck was all ready and we could definitely smell food prepared under the hood at the buffet table. We were lied and trick! They told us that there will b no dinner due to renovation cut only RM1.80 from our ticket sale. Very bad attitude from this company to trick customer like this. Would never recommend anyone to take this cruise, but should try other boat services to a must see sunset river view. There some on RM20, which is much more worth it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    19
    16
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A pleasant sunset boat ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I have read the other reviews and it must depend how many are on board to how much one enjoys their experience. We went on a weeknight and there weren't many people on our trip . We like so many others thoroughly enjoyed the slow relaxing ride down the river, enjoying a cool drink and the most delicious cake supplied. We were on top deck and I think that added to the enjoyment. Try to choose a weeknight and get to the pier early so you can ensure you get a top deck position. The cultural show was a dance done by a local lady, perhaps not what I would have called "a show" but well performed.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temerloh, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Enjoy sunset and beautiful scenary along Sarawak river bank”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Tips: Book earlier(before 3pm) to get 10% on top of full fare of RM69/person. Enjoy your light refreshment while you endure 1 and half hour cruise ride along Sungai Sarawak. Get get with onboard dancer for Culturul show.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Terrible... and expensive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Paid RM60/person for the cruise and got discount 10%... Once on-board, the upper deck was packed so my family have to stay inside the boat … It supposed to be a 1.5hour trip with commentary, refreshments and a cultural show. But we can’t hear the commentary and we have to queue (long queue) for the free drinks and cakes…. I find most river cruises are pleasant but this cruise bored me and my kids… Actually, for rm60, the boat cruised along the same path few times showing the historic landmarks such as Astana, no such thing of showcasing the local lifestyle, rained heavily so no stunning sunset. Dinner was served (local menu) however as we paid for the discount price, we were not served the dinner (furious as was not informed at the ticket counter). Next time will definitely choose the cheaper cruise (traditional sampan but motorized-RM19/person)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
128 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
400 helpful votes 400 helpful votes
“Enjoyable way to see river life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Sarawak River Cruise goes for 1.5 hours and cost RM60 each, we could have booked a cheaper tour but we liked the look of this big boat. There is unlimited free drinks of orange juice and plates of delicious layer cake and you can also purchase alcohol from the bar.

The cruise was a bit late leaving and we thought it must be tourists who were late but then there was a welcome aboard announcement to the Chief Minister of Sarawak, his wife, children and grandchildren. Of course I took a nice family photo of them all.

We really enjoyed the cruise and the views along the way were beautiful, like the National Assembly Building which was designed using the same principles as the Sydney Opera House and the Eiffel Tower, such an incredible looking building.

We cruised past the beautiful Kuching Mosque, Astana, Fort Margherita and little Malay villages and once the sun started to set the colors were fantastic.

The commentary along the way is very good and there is also a small cultural show.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarawak River Cruise also viewed

 

Been to Sarawak River Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarawak River Cruise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.