We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairy Caves

Fairy Caves
Bau Town | Bau, Kuching, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 35 Attractions in Kuching
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Cultural
Attraction details
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

It was truly a wind cave as you can feel the wind blowing past as you enter the caves through a steep flight of stone stairs. definitely a place to visit. Only let down was the fairy as i expected something of a natural stone carving but it was just a man made tiny doll sitting up there. the natural cave structure was amazing thought. prepare a good camera setting for dark places. drank from a pool of water insided the cave which was so refreshing and tasty. must visit!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    74
    16
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Bring a Flashlight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This cave was the highlight of our trip to Kuching, because it was a real adventure. Once you climb the concrete stairs four levels to get to the mouth of the cave, you explore it on your own. It can get a little spooky as you work your way from one end to the opposite entrance. A flashlight for each person is a necessity. Note that some of the steps on the wooden stairs inside the cave are broken. Wear decent sneakers as the concrete steps can be slippery.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Really interesting and fun to explore. A bit of exercise involved climbing the stairs and slopes, but not difficult. Take a head torch and or a regular torch. Easy to combine with Wind Cave which makes a half day out from Kuching.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Interesting day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Caves are amazing - but the stairs up to the cave entrance are a bit tiring. Make sure you wear good boots or hiking shoes. Take a torch.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foshan, China
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“Not lit up by coloured lights and rightly so.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

It often annoys me to see negative comments reviewing a cave about how it was dirty and dark...that is what makes it a cave. I get bored of the overly touristy caves that lose their magic because they are constantly lit up by coloured lights.

Outside here there is a large multi storey staircase to get to the entrance; then there is a steep lader and rocks to climb over that a person with mobility problems would struggle with; from then on the main cave has a few concrete step walkways, and dirt underfoot. Inside, the huge main cavern is lit by sunlight.

I was glad I went with a guide as we left the walkways and went to the back of the cave...a place where, if alone, I would not have gone as I would have considered it out of bounds. We walked back through a tunnel that would have been pitch black without our torches, and worked our way towards a rickety wooden ladder way back, that led to a small platform on the outside where you could sit quietly and listen to the birds sing.

Our guide Bong told us stories and pointed out wildlife when in the dark tunnel. He also mentioned that Malaysia has made a deliberate decision not to light up their caves with electric lights as they want tourists to experience real caves. I liked this approach, a did feel like a bit of an explore making my way through a dark tunnel, looking at rock features and trying to spot wildlife.

Don't forget to bring a torch.

I paid 90rm for a morning visting the fairy and wind caves with a guide from Borneo International Travel a full day excursion is not necessary. I was picked up and dropped off at my hotel. I was a single traveller and found there were only 2 other people in the group so it did not feel like being part of a group herded around.

If there are 3 or more people in your group it may be worth hiring a car and driver (easy and cheap) to visit several places in one day.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairy Caves also viewed

 

Been to Fairy Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairy Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.