We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel, good hospitality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dormani Hotel

Dormani Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dormani Hotel to your Saves list
Dormani Hotel
Lot 68, Jalan Datuk Ajibah Abol, Kuching 93400, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Kuching
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Clean hotel, good hospitality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for the 2D1N from 8-9 June 2012 for a leisure travel to kch. I have stayed in many hotels before around kuching and I found this hotel in the near kuching town. Clean hotel, near to India Street and several shopping arcade. Easy to find the nearest food stall and malay cafe around. Check-in was fast and given the room that I had booked. Simple decorations and amenities. Breakfast could be better. Staff hospitality was ok. This hotel a bit quiet but I strongly recommend this hotel to others. For malay travellers this hotel could be their good choice as the mosque nearby. Love he evening scenery along sarawak river. For budget travellers, this hotel offers you the choice that you looked for. I would stay in this hotel again...

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
2
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The single room is small just fit a bed. However, noise from next door can be irritating when the next door occupant took shower.

Breakfast is average and could improve with local favorites like Laksa Sarawak, Mee Kolok and Mee Jawa served daily.

Location is within walking distance of the riverside. Its room is clean and there is free wifi.

Room Tip: Dont pick single room as it could be too small and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Our room was small but clean with a great view of the river. Near the mosque and halal food stalls. A ten minute walk to Satok Market and very close to the city bus interchange. All the staff were very polite and helpful especially En. Mohamed. For around RM100, we got a nice clean room, cable TV, free WIFI, basic breakfast and good service. You also get to see a little more of local life compared to staying on the city centre.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011 via mobile

My initial contact was Hanifiah and he was very good. He always oblige to our requests incl early checkin and late checkout. When we arrived ard 12pm, all our 4 rooms are ready. My siblings are travelling with kids so this helped alot to help settle the kids in. The location are great for our family. Its nearby the mosque, waterfront and also many halal warongs and foodstalls are just 2 min walk. We loved the hotel staff friendliness. I could not remember the name of the 2 guys that drove us to Satok by shuttle- both of them are very courteous. Bfast menu on Monday was great. If only theres fresh milk and cereals, it will be great for the kids. Eventhough bfast menu was limited it was good and nice. Our room was huge and bed comfy. I worked in a 5 star hotel in Singapore and will know what to expect when i travelled. Afterall excellent rate for services received. Hope to be in Sarawak again next time and have my second stay in Dormani!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed here for a couple of trips before. Loved the cleanliness. Ample space in our room. Great stay!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dormani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormani Hotel

Address: Lot 68, Jalan Datuk Ajibah Abol, Kuching 93400, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dormani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormani Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dormani Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.