We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! A must stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wo Jia Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Wo Jia Lodge to your Saves list
Wo Jia Lodge
1st Floor, No 17 Main Bazaar, Kuching 93000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Amazing! A must stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

My second stay in Wo Jia and like before it was simply Wonderful. Very helpful staff that will always be happy to help with a smile on their face, beautiful spacious rooms and an amazing situation in the city. A must stay if in Kuching!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    44
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
29
46
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I arrived in Kuching in early morning and the staff checked me in right away without asking me to wait for regular check-in time. Although I stayed in a room on the ground floor but it was very quiet, I did not hear any traffic noise. I must say the location could not be any better; it is central to everything. The place has provisions for guests with different preferences. You can hang out in common areas or stay in your spacious A/C room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful place to stay in the centre of Kuching. I agree with everyone who has commented on how friendly and helpful the staff are - they are great at giving advice on things to do and getting around the area, but they are also great guys to sit and hang out with.

The location is ideal, right in the centre of Kuching overlooking the waterfront. The rooms are certainly 'no frills' (no furniture other than a bed and side table, and the mattresses are pretty thin) but the whole place has a great character and is kept impeccably clean.

At RM40 per night for a single room (which actually has a double bed) is is absolutely outstanding value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Absolutely brilliant staff who were happy to tell us more about the sights and gave us many tipps for the city.
room was really clean, though close to the kitchen. someone was always burning - not cooking - food, which got quite annoying. but otherwise it was very good.
there are movies you can watch and a computer with internet and we had wifi on our phones in the hostel, so that we could even Skype sometimes.
very safe and comfortable, with security code on the doors.
toast and some fruits were for free, which was really nice and the beer was cheaper than in the supermarkets!
Got there. you won't regret it!

Room Tip: If you go there, taking one of the rooms in a less lively corridor would be advisable. The floors ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and had the most incredible time. Kuching is a beautiful city with beautiful people. The same can be said for this hostel. I stayed in a single room and had a big double bed and spacious room. It was very quiet and enough to say that I slept very well each night and was well-rested the following day. Thank you.

But that was not the best thing about the hostel. The best thing is the hosts. Both Art and Syed are the most excellent hosts (and people) you will meet. They offered me excellent advice on planning my activities and gave perfect recommendations on where to eat. These two guys are awesome. They also helped me with booking transportation which made things easy for me. You can ask them whatever you like (touristy stuff or life in general), they are just really easy to talk to.

Thanks for an unforgettable trip guys.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hostel has a perfect location in Kuching: on the waterfont, near the visitor center, the bus station and chinatown.
The room is realy cheap and well decorated and with a window.
The breakfast is included and you have free coffee and tea all day long.
The staff can give you any informations about bus schedule to go to the parks around Kuching.
I definitely stay here again if I come back to Kuching.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Amazing staff and atmosphere! We stayed there for 5 nights and had everything we needed. The rooms are clean and comfy eventhough they are without windows. The walls are thin as in all the old city buildings but guests respect the quiet hours. The staff is friendly, helpful and flexible and it is a good place to meet other backpackers. The atmosphere is fantastic and rare to find any other place.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wo Jia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wo Jia Lodge

Address: 1st Floor, No 17 Main Bazaar, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a place to relax and hangout with a homely oriental style atmosphere? Ideally located in main bazaar with history dated back 1800s with Chinese shop house architecture. Wo Jia offer its guests a superb location for sight seeing, shopping for souvenirs, entertaining and taste of yummy Chinese and Malay foods at main bazaar and waterfront. All rooms are newly furnished and please note that all bathroom/toilets are shared with hot/cold shower as we designed for independent travelers in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Wo Jia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wo Jia Hotel Kuching
Wo Jia Lodge Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wo Jia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.