We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull guesthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wo Jia Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Wo Jia Lodge to your Saves list
Wo Jia Lodge
1st Floor, No 17 Main Bazaar, Kuching 93000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderfull guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

If you go to Kuching you have to stay at Wo Jia Lodge, its definitly the best place. It feels like home there!
The rooms, bathrooms, kitchen, living area are clean and comfortable. There is a great atmosphere and the staff is always friendly and helpfull.
The rooms are big enough for two people and the living area is just welcoming! The location is also great - directly in the center in front of the river and everything in the city is in walking distance.
Next time in Kuching I will go back to this amazing place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    46
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
29
48
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

You have to stay here in Kuching!!! Clean, spacious rooms, well-equipped kitchen, plenty of showers, good atmosphere, staff are all very friendly. The communal area is very spacious and great for socialising and meeting fellow travellers. It is in a really good, central location, not far from the bus stop and many places to eat. The view across the river is very nice. We stayed for 3 weeks, and we were so well taken care of by Wi ming the hostel owner. He was always willing to come to dinner with us and to show us more of the local and cheap places to eat. I would definitely recommend it for budget travellers, single or in groups.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeju, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed at Wo Jia Lodge with two friends in Febrauary 2012. The location and a very helpful staff make this hotel a good choice if you aren't concerned about luxury and ammenities. We stayed for two nights before heading to Bako National park for another two nights. On our last day in Kuching, we were coming back from Bako to spend the day in Kuching before our flight out that evening. The staff let us keep our bags in the hotel even though we weren't staying there at the time.

The rooms themselves are very basic, not the cleanest, but nothing too terrible. Avoid staying on the bottom floor because it feels a bit dreary, plus the communal bathrooms on that floor leave a lot to be desired. There are communal bathrooms on each floor, the others being much better than the bottom floor.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Everything about Wo Jia Lodge in Kuching is awesome! The staff there are very friendly and warm! The facilities of the hostel are quite well maintained, especially the living area! it's cosy and clean with a huge collection of dvds and some books/games. There's also free wifi which is really great! Though the rooms are not the fanciest you can ever find, they are really clean and comfortable! For the price that you pay, I can say it's a 5 star rating! The owner and staff there are all so hospitable that it will make you want to return to Kuching for another visit! Just a short 4-day trip for me left me with the greatest impression of hostels I have ever stayed in! The lodge definitely lives up to its name, in providing travelers a home out of their homes! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

... But the bathrooms weren't really clean making my stay a bit uncomfortable, especially after falling ill. And one guy who was staying there kept smoking on the loo while he did his business.

Friendly helpful staff, and overlooking the river.
Around about the standard price for Kuching.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We travelled in South East Asia for about 2 months, and Wo Jia Lodge was one of our favorite hostels. Most hostels have sort of a "commercial" atmosphere, but this place really feels like home in a way that I've never experienced before. Some people of the staff actually live there, they are super friendly and helpful, and they won't try to sell you anything. The owner drove us to the best places in town for food and drinks, took us out to do jungle trekking, played cards with us in the evening, went clubbing with us, and even drove a friend of us to the airport. The hostel is located right in the center of Kuching. The rooms are unbelievably cheap, there is free internet, free breakfast, a large collection of dvds that you can watch, and cold water and beer is always available at low prices. The facility in general is obviously not luxurious like an expensive hotel, but it is clean, stylish, and comfortable. Trust me, if you're a budget traveler, this is the perfect hostel for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

After traveling in South East Asia for a while, we arrived in Kuching, and needed to find a cheap place to stay. We took a cab to the Waterfront, since we heard it was the best area for backpackers in town. The cab driver intended to take us to the hotel next to Wo Jia, but we found it a bit expensive and not that personal (even though it looked really nice).. So we checked out the neighbors, Wo Jia Lodge. Just by entering the living room/reception/chill out area we knew this was the perfect place.. we ended up spending about 6 nights here. Why?

It felt a bit like being home again. And that's highly appreciated when you have been travelling for some weeks. The living room was so calm and relaxed, they had a lot of movies to watch, free coffee and tea, guitars, a nice comfy couch and free wifi. The bedrooms were very cheap, and very primitive. Basically a bed and an aircon/fan. But you don't want to spend your time in your room anyway, when you can relax in that living room.

The best part, and what we remember best, are the guys working there. So friendly and helpful. They make you feel so welcome (in a TRUE way), and give you all information and recommendations. They even bought take away pizza with us, and took us to a really nice food court about 30 min drive from the lodge. Later that night they wanted to show us the nightlife of Kuching, which was surprisingly good. All this, just for fun, and for being nice as a friend.

Well. Overall it was the perfect place when you are tired of lame hostels and all these boring resorts all over SEA. A place to charge your batteries for the next part of your trip, and at the same time explore all the treasures of Sarawak.

And don't forget to grab a beer with the guys!

Sofie and Per

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wo Jia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wo Jia Lodge

Address: 1st Floor, No 17 Main Bazaar, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a place to relax and hangout with a homely oriental style atmosphere? Ideally located in main bazaar with history dated back 1800s with Chinese shop house architecture. Wo Jia offer its guests a superb location for sight seeing, shopping for souvenirs, entertaining and taste of yummy Chinese and Malay foods at main bazaar and waterfront. All rooms are newly furnished and please note that all bathroom/toilets are shared with hot/cold shower as we designed for independent travelers in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Wo Jia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wo Jia Hotel Kuching
Wo Jia Lodge Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wo Jia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.