We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never felt like home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo's Travellers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Marco Polo's Travellers to your Saves list
Marco Polo's Travellers
236 Padungan Rd, 1st Floor, Kuching 93100, Malaysia   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 71 Kuching B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never felt like home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I was intending to stay for 2 nights, and ended staying for 2 weeks! Marco Polo is the most comfortable, cleanest, and friendliest place I have stayed in. Not only it's a convenient to the bus stops, restaurants and shops, but the staff and the people I met certainly made my stay worthwhile.

They provide a good breakfast - Georgette would wake up early mornings to whip up various treats, as well as good servings of local fresh fruits. She's also lovely to have chats with and showed me wonderful local places to eat at. Sam on the other hand, always had stories to tell and was informative. There was also Druv, their savvy assistant who always made sure we're all having a good time and showed us the best places to go out in town.

Marco Polo also has a really nice balcony where you can spend hours chatting, playing games, having a laugh... or just sitting down listening to the surrounding wind chimes. It's a very peaceful place. I would highly recommend to stay at this place :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcopolo1_12, Owner at Marco Polo's Travellers, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hello Christine Lolanita,

Thank you so much that you're happy & comfortable with your stay in our humble guesthouse.
There's no word that'd describe your 'awesome character' in terms of your personality & attitude.
The two weeks that you've stayed with us is a lifetime of cherished memories that'll never be forgotten,of your culture,struggle & hope. Yes,we wish you'd even stay longer as we've so much
to share in all things.As spoken,we earnestly look forward for your next visit & a promise that
we'll make your stay a most comfortable & memorable one. Rest assured of our love & care.
Warmest Regards,
Sam,Jane,Druv & David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
31
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The guesthouse was such a nice surprise to find. The staff was so helpful and lovely. The room was cheap but efficient. And not too far from the center. Definitely the place to stay if you are on a budget and want peace and quiet. Laundry facilities are available and the breakfast is served so early that you can get it before your day trip. Nice terrace with fresh beers available.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcopolo1_12, Owner at Marco Polo's Travellers, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Caroline G,

Thanks for your positive comment. It's such an honour to have both of you here & feel very comfortable to entertain & welcome you. Though your stay is short but your present is such
a pleasure to us. We hope that you'd come back to Kuching again as there're more to experience.
Yes, We wish both of you having a wonderful & lovely time back home. All Best!

Kindest Regards,
Sam,Jane,Druv & David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

I had a nice stay in Marco Polo in the past 3 nights. The hostel is very clean and tidy, simple but tasty breakfast is served every morning. Samuel and his staff are very nice, helpful and informative. Marco Polo is near the major spots in Kuching, as well as the restaurant. It is sad to me to leave here so soon. Undoubtedly I will go back again and stay in Marco Polo next time.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcopolo1_12, Owner at Marco Polo's Travellers, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Ms Clkyjc,

Just great to meet a sweet & lovely lady, dropping by at Our guesthouse to get a 'feel' of your stay.
Things would work even better if your stay'd stretch longer as Kuching is a 'Calm & homely City'
You'll fall in love with her historical past,national parks, museums & its People. We're awaiting
for your next visit & needless to say,'your present is our earnest desire'
Wishing you the best in your present career & good health to you always!
Warmest Regards
& with thanks,
Sam,Jane,Druv & David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quebec
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed there at end of october. The place is very clean, rooms and shared bathrooms. The breakfast is excellent and each day, there is something different. There is free drinkable water and coffee and tea.
Rooms : it s better to take one inside, even without window (there is , but on corridor), because those on street are very noisy.
The staff is very friendly , we loved them and Georgette is so nice.. she took us to the airport very early in the morning ! and we paid the same price than a day's taxi.
Just his husband is a little bit close to money... we did'nt appreciate !
It is a little bit far from the center , about 30 minutes walk but you can take a bus for nothing.. and the bus to Bako is right in front of the street ! So, in all, we would choose this place again without hesitation :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcopolo1_12, Owner at Marco Polo's Travellers, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Valued guests,

Thank you so much for your positive comments. It's a great encouragement & inspirational.
We recognized our weaknesses as well & we're working on that, so called "Progressive Improvement" but one thing you can be sure is that we practise 'fair-treatment to all guests'
1st motto is "The guests are always right" & Yet where Principles & integrity are involved,we need
to put them in the 1st Place..............Yes, We look forward to your next coming & rest assured our airport-transfer rate isn't hurting you.........
Warmest Regards,
Sam, Jane, Druv, & David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I've been to Kuching thrice in recent months for work, and once I found Marco Polo I never went anywhere else. Sam and Georgette run a tight ship, ably assisted by Druv et al. The place is peaceful, but the constant trickle of guests arriving means that it's never dull and one gets to meet interesting people with interesting stories to share. Many a night have been spent at the verandah chatting and making new friends. Breakfast is also provided, but unlike the stale/rock-hard/burnt toast and jam combination served at other similarly-priced establishments, the staff at Marco Polo actually get up in the early hours of the day to whip up a decent spread. Sam also provides various other convenience services in order to make your stay as comfortable as he can. I'll definitely be back at Marco Polo. Well done, Sam, Georgette and staff!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcopolo1_12, Owner at Marco Polo's Travellers, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Mr. Fam,

It's been great having you around at our guesthouse cos' it makes a difference with having a Professional,humble Person 'sleeping inside' & yet 'it's never late' to call it a day. Your sharing your thoughts is what matters most as house guests are pretty excited to get 'inspirations' Since your stay has been thrice,we're looking forward to your next arrival, "a warm Welcome"!
We're happy that you're satisfied & comfortable with our Provisions. Pressing forward to provide quality service is still our agenda. Wishing you & family the Best of your Plan & Career future undertakings.......................Warmest Regards, Sam,Jane, Druv & Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Even though it was the rainy season, we had a great time here. Our room was spacious (a nice change having just come from Singapore) and clean. Breakfast was served out on the balcony/terrace area and was tasty. The owners were extremely helpful and showed us how to catch the bus to the Fairy Caves and ordered us a taxi to go to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcopolo1_12, Owner at Marco Polo's Travellers, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Melissa S,

It's great having both of you staying at our guesthouse,though for a few days but having a disciplined guests are so refreshing & relaxing.............just wondering when you'll visit Kuching
again. " Sharing thoughts" about your country is so much in our mind,as we await to Welcome
you both to our Cat City. Yes, We all wish you both a pleasant & happy time back home.
Thank you very much for taking your precious time to write a 'Review' for us.

Warmest Regards,
Sam, Jane, Druv & Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Upon recommendation from a friend, I chose this place to stay for a short 4D3N trip to Kuching. The stay had been nothing but pleasant and warm, thanks to the owners (husband and wife). Felt at home. With decent breakfast provided and the owners being helpful whenever you need anything; nothing I could ask for more. Looking forward to stay here again. :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcopolo1_12, Owner at Marco Polo's Travellers, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear GnetDaniel,

We're glad that your stay here has been satisfactory - Pleasant & warm. That you're contented with our breakfasts & utilities,nothing you'd ask more..........how we wish you'd stay longer as we'd be able to share even more things about Kuching & Sarawak. For your next visit to our city, we earnestly look forward to put a sign that reads,"Welcome to Kuching,the land of Beauty & Nature."
Yes, Wishing you a Wonderful time travelling to Asia & other parts of the World........

Warmest Regards,
Sam,Jane Druv & Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marco Polo's Travellers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo's Travellers

Address: 236 Padungan Rd, 1st Floor, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo is strategically located in Kuching city. Nearby Marco Polo's is the famous Kuching waterfront, main bazaar, Gambir Street, India Street, Sarawak museum, tourism information centre, shopping malls, bus services, entertainment outlets, 24 hour restaurant & cafe(across only). Close to Marco Polo are pubs, bars, reflexology centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Marco Polo's Travellers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo's Travellers Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo's Travellers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.