We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly and well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Margherita Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Margherita Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Margherita Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2362, Kuching 93100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Kuching
Hampshire
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly and well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Great river front location, with a pleasant river side walk to the heart of town. Shopping centre next door and restaurant & 7/11 close by as you walk into town. Across the road and to the left , on top of a multi storey car park is "Top Spot" a good food court which is worth a try.

Very comfortable bed. Room decor a bit old fashioned, especially the bathroom where there was some paint peeling. Good facilities in room - safe, fridge, iron and better quality coffee than some (proper Nescafe)

Pleasant pool area and good breakfast.

Road out front is a bit noisy, but you really don't want a front facing room anyway.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back for river views and no traffic noise. But be aware that there is a regular ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear LoneBrit

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

We are very happy to be able to provide a comfortable, friendly stay experience. Thank you for letting us know about the paint. Rest assured, we have shared your invaluable feedback with our team for rectification.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we will be most happy to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    146
    87
    35
    20
See reviews for
86
97
22
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My colleague and i checked in on the 3/3/14 for a one night stay as we were attending a workshop in the hotel. The rooms were clean but the cleanliness of the walls of the toilet can be further improved. The breakfast was very good and they had a very good spread. Even though we were checking out at 1.00 pm, our towels were changed, toilet rolls and the water bottles were replenished. The staff were very friendly and the service was good too. One drawback was the use of tissue paper instead of serviettes at the tea break and lunch sessions of our workshop.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear gsureshk

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

We are delighted that your colleague and yourself have had a comfortable stay with us. We have also shared your invaluable feedback with our team for service improvements.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we will be most happy to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This hotel may have been nice when it was new, but now it is a ruin. We had an old, damage, filthy room. Everything was half broken. The bathroom was moldy and rusty. The room had not been properly cleaned prior our arrival.
Sound proofing is poor; rooms facing the River are very noisy: loud music from nearby restaurant until midnight and the mosque waking you up at 05:00 AM.
The swimming pool was disgusting: people bathing in street clothing, and kids pissing into the shower. No staff to enforce any rules.

GOOD: The breakfast buffet.

Friends of us stayed at the Pullman, which was at a similar price, but much nicer.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the River are very noisy: loud music from nearby restaurant until midnight and the mosq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear anorak22

Thank you for taking your time to share your stay experience with us. We would like to apologise for not being able to provide a pleasant and comfortable stay this time around.

Rest assured your invaluable feedback has been shared with the team for service improvement. We hope to provide a different stay experience, and have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we will be most happy to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed in 2 renovated rooms. They were clean and well equipped. The breakfast buffet is great and with a lot of different choices. We liked the cereals, yogurt and cheese, that not many hotels provide at the breakfast buffet. The only minus was the connecting door in one of the rooms. Luckily we only had neighbours one night as you can hear anything through the door. So make sure you do not book a room with a connecting door!

Room Tip: Take a renovated room but avoid one with a connecting door, as you will hear everything from the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear lvR2-expat

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts about our hotel and it was a pleasure to have you stayed with us. This recognition is very important to us as our team work hard to provide a pleasant and comfortable stay for our guests.

We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you again with us soon.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know. Alternatively, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we will be most happy to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

If you want to stay here, please reconsider, I'm writing this review at my room in frustration!
The housekeeping never replenish your toilet paper roll, mineral water etc.
You request toilet paper, they give you tissue paper. You request 2 bottles mineral water, it takes more than 30 mins to reach your room (with 3 reminders!). And the funniest thing is my 3rd call to them, they said extra bottles of mineral water will be charged, lol. It's not money issue for me, the service is totally suck!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear cavtan

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Meeting and exceeding guest's expectation is our highest commitment and we are sorry we did not do well on this occasion.

Rest assured your feedback has been shared with our team for improvements. We do hope to welcome you back again.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know. Alternatively, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we will be most happy to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I have just completed a two night stay at this hotel.Our room was large,spacious, attractive and everything was in working order We had a great view over looking the pool and the river. We got a good sleep both nights as we were lucky that it was very quiet. Breakfast was yummy.The staff were very friendly ,helpful and attentive.It was really hard to find any faults at all and we miss Kuching already.If we return we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Some nights it can apparently get noisy depending on time of year so requesting a quietly located ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Julia_B128

Thank you for review and recommendation!

We are so happy that you and your loved one have had a very enjoyable stay with us. We have shared your invaluable feedback with our team and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know. Alternatively, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we will be most happy to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I was a bit disappointed with the hotel service. My room was not given any towels and I requested for few times. I had to wipe myself with my shirt and I had to asked from my aunt for a towel. They never come back to give us the towel. They only give it to use the next day. A great location, but with such a service I still think it's a poor service. Hotel should prepare enough towels for customers.

Toilet was another problem too. We cannot really flush the toilet.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear CindyAlbert

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can improve. We apologise for the poor service experienced during your stay and we would like to make it up to you the next time around.

Rest assured, your invaluable feedback has been shared with the team for service improvement.

We hope that you will stay with us again and to ensure you get unbeatable rates, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we will be most happy to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Margherita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Margherita Hotel

Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2362, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Margherita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city's business, entertainment and shopping district, the hotel offers free WiFi and is 20 minutes drive from the Kuching International Airport. Grand Margherita Hotel is adjacent to the Sarawak Plaza Shopping Complex and the Sarawak Economic Development Corporation Building. Its sister hotel, the Riverside Majestic, is located just across the road. With tourist attractions such as the Kuching Waterfront, Chinese Museum, Tua Pek Kong Chinese Temple, Fort Margherita and Main Bazaar nearby, Grand Margherita Hotel certainly has the best location in the city for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand Margherita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Margherita Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Margherita Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.