We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My room 637 is broken apart” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Margherita Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Margherita Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Margherita Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2362, Kuching 93100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Kuching
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My room 637 is broken apart”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I've been staying in Grand Margherita on last Saturday ( 13 April til 14 April) , only 1 night stay. I supposed to give a treat for my parents who is on their anniversary , unfortunately they have given me the old room, deluxe twin, room 637. The lights is malfunction, suddenly its off, the shower is haywire til I called the maintenance to fix it. The aircon controller, box fall off, When i press the tv button, the light went off.... seriously the room is fallen apart.

I feel being fooled because what i saw from the website is a new room picture. its kinds of a disappointment to me.. in addition i cannot used the wireless even the login and password has been given by the reception.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear SNWS

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can always improve.

We apologise for a less-than-perfect stay experienced by your family. Rest assured, your invaluable feedback has been shared with the relevant departments and management for service improvement.

We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to Kuching perhaps for the Rainforest World Festival, and we'll make it up to you. To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee.

If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    146
    86
    35
    20
See reviews for
86
97
22
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We arrived and were given a room on the 5th floor, overlooking a busy road. As we had chosen this hotel because it was on the river we asked to move. We were promptly given a room on 3rd floor. That night we went to bed early as we had an early start and were kept awake by the worst karaoke ever! There is an open air 'platform' on the opposite bank of the river where desperate people go to make otheres suffer with their wailing! The microphones are at full volume. It went on until 10.45pm - not that late but we were tired and in need of sleep! It started again the following evening at 4.30pm so we asked to move again! Back to the road side - trust me it was preferable! Apparently it is on every night and lasts as long as there are 'customers'! This experience spoiled our 'view' of the hotel! It is in a good spot - we enjoyed walking along the river, not too far to get to the centre. Rooms were ok - maybe not as clean as we would have liked. Towels old and grey! The biggest asset this hotel has is it's staff who were all friendly and helpful. I would not choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Take earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Julie C

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can always improve.

We apologise for a less-than-perfect stay, and rest assured, your invaluable feedback has been shared with the relevant departments and management for service improvement.

We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to Kuching perhaps for the World Rainforest Music Festival, and we'll make it up to you. To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee.

If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Grand Margerita hotel is situated in the best central place - at waterfront. Esplanade along it is nice and safe for night stroll. BUT hotel is very old. It was renovated just partially. Public places like lobby, restaraunt, swimming pool, gym were renewed. But corridors and rooms are filthy, smelly and worn out. Carpets everywhere are really dirty. Breakfasts were good. Another problem - Nobody supervises the children behavior at the pool, so they make a mess there. After I watched washing hair with shampoo and cleaning shoes at the pool, I stopped visiting it. Initially we were rather disappointed with this hotel, but after 2 days we became so excited with amasing national parks, Kuching city and hospitality of malaysian people, that we became pleased with this hotel as well. Nevertheless, next time I would suggest some of neibour hotel like Pullman or Hilton, which are near by.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Maria_Delhi

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can always improve.

We apologise for a less-than-perfect experience and would like to reassure you that your invaluable feedback has been shared with the relevant departments for continuous service improvement.

We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to Kuching, perhaps for the World Rainforest Music Festival, and we'll make it up to you. To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee.

If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Spent three nights here for a short anniversary trip. Had no time to plan and adventure off to some foreign land. So, why not checking in somewhere really close to home? (20 mins drive). The hotel is simple, nothing too fancy but essentially it feels very ethnic. Given it's location in Sarawak, the hotel embraces a lot of local identity in its deco. Kudos to that. But, like what I said, never judge me in my crocs... Was put in an executive suite , thus had access to the executive lounge. The first time I entered the lounge, without my corporate-ish yuppie husband, the receptionist literally stared at me in disbelief. (What the heck is this crocs loving woman doing here)... She was unfriendly and questioned where I was from, which room and the name of the guest . Normal circumstances its either just the room number or no question asked. I felt like I was being interrogated by my fellow locals. I was indeed dismayed plus the food served was bad and staled! As soon as my husband entered, her treatment changed in a blink of an eye... Sad because I did like the hotel but due to one rotten apple, it tainted my experience of having a local holiday. I had never received such treatment abroad even when I'm in my crocs or any cheap looking flip flops. such discrimination just had to happen in my own backyard! Gentle reminder: A nice affordable place but to be treated like a queen in the executive lounge, dress Poshly!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Radinsri

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can always improve.

Rest assured, your invaluable feedback has been shared with the relevant departments for service improvement, and we apologise for a less-than-perfect experience.

We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to Kuching, and we'll make it up to you. To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee.

If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel and was told it was newly renovated when I stayed. The rooms are clean, spacious and nicely decorated. The lobby was rather odd though, as it's not located at the main entrance and you will need to turn right and walk for about 50m to reach the main lobby. The only thing to point out was that the air-con was crazily cold at night and depending on individuals this may and may not be a plus point.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Calvin Y

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

We are pleased that you have had a great stay with us, and we look forward to having you back again.

Rest assured, we have shared your feedback with our team for continuous service improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching, perhaps for the World Rainforest Music Festival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here this month. The room was large and immaculate. Lots of useful toiletries, tea/coffee and slippers.There is a medium sized pool which was almost always empty. Location is excellent near shops eateries and many historical buildings. We had a lovely view across the river. There is a nice waterfront walk with information plaques on the pavement. Breakfast was excellent and very extensive with an egg station, fruit and cheese etc and lots of Asian dishes. Tried the Dim Sung which were interesting. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. It was part of a tour so I don't know the room price we paid. We didn't eat any other meals here or go to the bar. Recommended 100%.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear bradless

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

We are pleased that you and your partner have had a great stay with us, and we look forward to having you back again.

Rest assured, we have shared your feedback with our team for continuous service improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching, perhaps for the World Rainforest Music Festival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We booked an Executive Deluxe room located on the Executive Floor on level 5. On the day of arrival, we got to the hotel at about 10am & went to level 5 for our express check-in. To our surprise, we were allowed to enter the room, even though the official check-in time was 2pm. We were also told by the staff that our check-out time will be 6pm instead of 12pm.

Speaking of the staff, generally everyone in the hotel was very friendly & helpful – from the bell boy to the front desk to the chefs & waiters. This is a place where the warm welcome is actually felt, rather than just a display of words lost on some expensive plaques or websites.

Reno, the staff on duty on the Executive Floor is a very warm & friendly lady. Chat with her for 10 minutes & you’d feel like you’ve known each other for years. She even gave us some shopping & sightseeing tips while we were sipping the free flow juices in the executive lounge (which is available the whole day, by the way).

And speaking of the executive lounge, apart from the free flow juices & soft drinks throughout the day, it also provides a cozy & quiet alternative spot for having breakfast or just to hang out. The other location for breakfast is the coffee house & of course if you’re feeling a little more spoilt, you can opt to have your breakfast in bed. The perks of the executive lounge extends to an array of exquisite hors d'oeuvres every day from 5pm to 7pm. As if that’s not enough, welcome fruits are delivered to your room after your check-in. Oh and did we mention the executive lounge is an entirely private area? Noises & chaos of a typical hotel lobby & coffee house is totally passé here.

Our room had a river view, which was nothing short of amazing. It’s big enough & sparkling clean, with an array of toiletries & amenities that will make other 5-star hotels blush in shame. A “pillow menu” was neatly tucked between the folds of the blanket – so that you can customize it to your preference. After all, what’s a good night’s sleep without a perfect set of pillows? Well, if only the bar downstairs can stop blasting the music past midnight, that is. But we were too tired to notice anyway.

We had our breakfast in the coffee house instead of the exec lounge, just so we’d get a sample of the whole menu selection. And a good selection it was – the menu ranges from local delicacies to continental & other international dishes, it whets the appetite of even the most discerning guest. The Laksa Sarawak could’ve been better garnished though, but for a buffet item it was deemed adequate. On an overall, we were happy with the breakfast. Very.
The check-out process was as simple as leaving your key card on the registration counter. They weren’t kidding when they called it express check-out.

What made us love this hotel, if not for the 5-star treatment or the 5-star personnel or the 5-star rooms, was the fact that they took the time & effort to contact us prior to the arrival date for a “do-you-need-us-to-arrange-anything” and after the departure date for a “thank-you-for-staying-with-us”. This service, as trivial as it seems, made us feel as though our stay was not just a stay. It was the beginning of our relationship with the hotel. And this is what will make us come back.

In Grand Margherita Hotel, they say “Try Us, You’ll Love It” – We sure did.

Room Tip: Choose the executive floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear eelza

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

We are pleased that you and your friends have had a great stay with us, and we look forward to having you back again.

Rest assured, we have shared your feedback with our team for continuous service improvement, and also with Reno. She would like us to relay that it was really her pleasure to be able to share Kuching with you.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching, perhaps for the World Rainforest Music Festival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Margherita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Margherita Hotel

Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2362, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Margherita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city's business, entertainment and shopping district, the hotel offers free WiFi and is 20 minutes drive from the Kuching International Airport. Grand Margherita Hotel is adjacent to the Sarawak Plaza Shopping Complex and the Sarawak Economic Development Corporation Building. Its sister hotel, the Riverside Majestic, is located just across the road. With tourist attractions such as the Kuching Waterfront, Chinese Museum, Tua Pek Kong Chinese Temple, Fort Margherita and Main Bazaar nearby, Grand Margherita Hotel certainly has the best location in the city for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand Margherita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Margherita Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Margherita Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.