We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly staff and great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Margherita Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Margherita Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Margherita Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2362, Kuching 93100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Kuching
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“very friendly staff and great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

When we arrived at this hotel, we were greeted by a very friendly staff. I've been to this hotel with my family many times and this is the first time i stay here with my husband. Cool place to stay as they have a bar at the ground floor, short walking distance to Top Spot and you can have your evening stroll at the waterfront which is just 3 minutes walking form the hotel. I always love staying here because of the location. Service is good and the room is very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: New wing which they did some renovation for the rooms are a good place to stay. My room faced the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear PamJebbie

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

We are pleased that you and your husband have had a great stay with us, and we look forward to having you back again.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, perhaps for the year-end holidays, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    148
    88
    36
    20
See reviews for
86
98
22
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Grand Margherita Hotel was a wonderful hotel located right in the heart of Kuching. I stayed at this hotel for two nights at the end of september, and was extremely impressed with everything from the rooms, the location, the staff and also the facilities.

Our room was nice and spacious, and the bathroom was clean. The bed was the most comfortable bed that I have ever slept in, and the pillow was soft and perfect for a good nights sleep. The view from the room was relatively nice, and the air conditioner was perfect, and cooled us down after very warm day trips around Kuching. One problem I did face at this hotel was the shower. I struggled to turn it on, but that could have just been my lack of knowledge regarding different showers in foreign countries. Overall, the rooms in the hotel were very impressive and worth every cent spent.

The breakfast at the Grand Margherita was superb. There was a very large variety of food to chose from, such as toast, muffins, fresh fruit, fried rice, noodles and some desserts. The waiters at breakfast were very friendly and we were greeted every morning with a smile and a welcome which was a lovely way to start the day.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful whenever we needed help. They catered for our needs, and always offered a smiling face and a hello when we were in the lobby, which was nice.

Finally, the location of this hotel is perfect. It is located literally steps from the riverfront, and is in close proximity to all of the sights in Kuching. This hotel was wonderful and made our stay in Kuching very memorable. I would highly recommend staying here - it will not fail to disappoint!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear elceehayward

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

We are pleased that you and your friends have had a comfortable and memorable stay with us, and we look forward to having you back again.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, perhaps a special request for breakfast, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is very filthy. Location is in the main area of the city though. Rooms are very tired and the wifi is spotty. The lobby appears clean and large although quite misleading once you see how terribly disgusting the rooms are.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear SGOLD88

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can always improve.

Rest assured, your invaluable feedback has been shared with the relevant departments for service improvement, and we apologise for a less-than-perfect experience.

We hope to have you stay with us again, and we'll make it up to you. To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have been at the Granf Margerhita for three nights, with one left to go. We are a famly of 2 adults and two children aged 14 and 8. We have one large room with two double beds. The room is spacious and clean with a bar fridge, a kettle and tea and coffee. We get complimentary water every day. The bathroom is clean and is kept well stocked with shampoo etc. The location is fantastic. Right on the water front with a terrific view of the Sarawak River. The hotel staff are super friendly and accomodating. The breakfast (included in the price) is a fantastic buffet with western, malay, chinese food. They have a chef on hand to cook your eggs, nooodles and roti! The coffee is terrfic and the service is prompt and polite.
The pool is clean an ample size. There are lounges around the pool and you can order drinks and food from the bar.
I would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear TrudyArarat

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

We are pleased that you and your family have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, perhaps for the coming holidays, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in September. The front office staff when we initially arrived were not very friendly and seemed a bit confused that I had made the booking through an online booking website. The room was clean and quite comfortable, however there was quite a lot of noise throughout the night from the road at the front of the hotel. The location of the hotel is good, being close to the river. For a short stay in Kuching, this hotel would be fine, however, for longer stays it may be possible to find a better hotel in a similar class.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear TravelTroll074

Thank you for your review and recommendation and for letting us know how we can always improve.

Rest assured, we have shared your invaluable feedback with the relevant departments for service improvement.

We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to having you stay with us again - with FREE WiFi in our rooms!

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

As per the title... Looks like recently refurbished cos I was told this is a rather old hotel, but the rooms look modern now and pretty nice.

Stayed only 1 night and didn't venture anywhere. Just make sure you don't get a room on the 1st floor. Mine had the huge flood lights just outside my window! Luckily the curtains were thick and could black out the room.

Breakfast was good. But most people would venture out for Sarawak laksa anyways! :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear BudakKepong

Thank you for your review and recommendation, and for letting us know how we can always improve.

We are pleased that you have enjoyed your brief stay with us, and look forward to having you stay with us again - with FREE WiFi in our rooms!

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed at the Grand Margarita for four nights in September. Room was very comfortable and we slept well. The staff were very helpfully. We particularly liked the breakfast in the morning. It had everything you could possibly want for breakfast. We booked a trip to Baku national park through the tour operator in reception and enjoyed it very much. The hotel is in a great location near the river walkway. There is a seven Eleven nearby where snacks and an ATM are available. There is a mall nearby where you can buy wine and beer. we only had one drink in the bar as it seemed quite expensive for alcohol. It always seemed to be very quiet. Pool area is nice and was adequate for our purposes. Would happily stay here again and I felt it was good value for money

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear sadiecool99

Thank you for your review and recommendation. Rest assured, we have shared your invaluable feedback with the relevant departments.

We are pleased that you have had a pleasant stay, slept well, and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Margherita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Margherita Hotel

Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2362, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Margherita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city's business, entertainment and shopping district, the hotel offers free WiFi and is 20 minutes drive from the Kuching International Airport. Grand Margherita Hotel is adjacent to the Sarawak Plaza Shopping Complex and the Sarawak Economic Development Corporation Building. Its sister hotel, the Riverside Majestic, is located just across the road. With tourist attractions such as the Kuching Waterfront, Chinese Museum, Tua Pek Kong Chinese Temple, Fort Margherita and Main Bazaar nearby, Grand Margherita Hotel certainly has the best location in the city for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand Margherita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Margherita Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Margherita Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.