We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Kuching

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Kuching to your Saves list
Pullman Kuching
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 1A, Jalan Mathies, Kuching 93100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Kuching
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Some points on this hotel :
1. Up on a hill. Expect to hike when you are walking back.
2. Next to a mall but nothing much there.
3. Nice comfortable room, pool, jacuzzi.
4. The only irritable point about this hotel is its key card. I am sure all who stay here experienced this. It either does not work in the lift or room. I lost count the number of times we had to go back all the way to reception to reset out cards. Its most irritable when we finally get it to work in the lift but failed at our room door. Waste so much time getting it done each time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear swordfish01,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Pullman Kuching.

At Pullman, we strive hard to ensure the satisfaction of every guest and your review is very important to us.

We sincerely hope you would come back to stay with us again and looking forward to serving you again soon.

Best regards,
Borhan Bin Salleh
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    520
    137
    31
    22
See reviews for
287
432
123
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

just drop by to staying over a night, first thing drop into my eyes was the clean and modern hotel outlook, warm and friendly smile from the receptionist . Mohd Ismail (if I not mistaken XP) he was helpful and lead us to the nice place to enjoy our meal (my first visit to Kuching) and smile is always in his face. Room is clean and the bed is so comfortable until I feel like wanna bring it home lol. Bathroom is big size with bathtub~ love it. Check out and check in was smooth and fast (less than 1 minute). the room is worth for money (2 person, one night, RM245, anyway is business trip, I didn’t paid the bill XDXD). Good location, quite near to bars, near to shopping mall and near to "Topspot", a must visit seafood hacker place. Will drop by again to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: ask for higher floor, which have nicer view and have quiet night ^^
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear ericfong13,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Pullman Kuching.

At Pullman, we strive hard to ensure the satisfaction of every guest and your review is very important to us.

We sincerely hope you would come back to stay with us again and looking forward to serving you again soon.

Best regards,
Borhan Bin Salleh
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Our stay was fantastic. Buffet breakfast was a highlight. The choice was amazing! Western and asian food. Many freshly cooked options at your request too. Pool and gym were also great.

Rooms were large and extremely comfortable. Lovely view over river and town. Bathroom was beautiful with views too. Water and newspaper supplied daily.

Service was always friendly and at the highest quality. Would stay again in a heartbeat. These kinds of hotels elsewhere in the world charge at least 2-3 times more for the same quality and service.

Room Tip: High rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Nicolef494,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Pullman Kuching.

At Pullman, we strive hard to ensure the satisfaction of every guest and your review is very important to us.

We sincerely hope you would come back to stay with us again and looking forward to serving you again soon.

Best regards,
Borhan Bin Salleh
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Easily accessible from the airport, this really is a business hotel. Although lacking the relaxed Malaysia vibe, the Pullman is clean, modern and is centrally located to downtown Kuching.

It has the usual facilities, but be warned - the pool looks nothing like the website and is mostly unshaded, the food and beverage outlets are expensive and the wifi very slow. The room rates however are good value and the rooms are large and comfortably furnished, most with panning city views out of the almost floor to ceiling windows.

The staff are mostly friendly but seem a bit lazy and not willing to go the extra mile for the customer. It is easy to book a tour through the office adjoining the reception and taxis are always stationed out the front. There are plenty of great places to eat down in the city centre and many karaoke bars not far from the hotel.

Overall a good hotel at a cheap price, but could be better.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear PinniTravels,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Pullman Kuching. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Pullman, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Borhan Bin Salleh
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Worth paying that little extra. Very comfortable, rooms spacious, and the staff helpful and friendly. Hotel can organise trips for you, and make you aware of cheaper alternatives. A good choice of restaurants there and a nice bar with a good live band.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear ajgray15,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Pullman Kuching.

At Pullman, we strive hard to ensure the satisfaction of every guest and your review is very important to us.

We sincerely hope you would come back to stay with us again and looking forward to serving you again soon.

Best regards,
Borhan Bin Salleh
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Had a 1 day stayed at this modern hotel. The room was spacious, staff were friendly and well mannered. The hotel is strategically located to many of kuching's attractive places. Impressed although the city seems to be a bit remote from the hotel and overall good stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear altterfly,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Pullman Kuching.

At Pullman, we strive hard to ensure the satisfaction of every guest and your review is very important to us.

We sincerely hope you would come back to stay with us again and looking forward to serving you again soon.

Best regards,
Borhan Bin Salleh
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Airport to hotel cost RM26 and 20mins journey, we reach on the fourth day of Chinese New Year and most shops were still closed. Next to the hotel is a shopping mall where there are a few restaurants but most of the shops in the shopping centre were empty. The hotel is well located, there is a 24/7 convenience shop at the shopping mall and a 7-eleven just across the street, 5mins walk to popular seafood venue "Topspot", "Tau Pek Kong", Riverside, and Mirage Spa & Massage. If you can walk a little more, carpenter street, plaza merdeka, Sarawak Museum is within reach. Room is spacious and clean. We got the corner room and got to see fireworks put up by house owner across the hotel along the corridor down window, it was a nice experience seeing fireworks so close. Breakfast has a good spread, with local, some Japanese, pastry, etc. They also make some change to the menu daily. The Sarawak laksa was good. Swimming pool is good as well, 1.2m to 1.3m deep and there wasn't much people using it during our stay. There is also a gym next to the pool. WiFi is free, but signal in room is weak and slow, we need to reconnect from time to time because of intermittent disconnection. Need to always re-enter the login and password when signal is lost. Service staff were average, we went to ask about getting transport to Borneo Convention Centre, they just say we could get a taxi outside, did not offer further assistance or advise us on the cost.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Hallo6,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Pullman Kuching.

At Pullman, we strive hard to ensure the satisfaction of every guest and your review is very important to us.

We sincerely hope you would come back to stay with us again and looking forward to serving you again soon.

Best regards,
Borhan Bin Salleh
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Kuching

Address: No. 1A, Jalan Mathies, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#1 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#1 Family Hotel in Kuching
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
#3 Business Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Kuching 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Kuching is the newest addition to the 5-stars international brand in the city. Located in the heart of Kuching on top of the hill at Jalan Mathies, Pullman Kuching offers astonishing panoramic view of the city and the Sarawak River. The hotel is adjacent to a two storey city life-style shopping centre “Hills Shopping Mall” and within walking distance to commercial centre and city attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Pullman Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Kuching Hotel Kuching
Pullman Kuching Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Kuching, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.