We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Kuching

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Kuching to your Saves list
Pullman Kuching
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 1A, Jalan Mathies, Kuching 93100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Kuching
Sydney
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The hotel is centrally located, within an easy walk to the town and attractions, and the staff are extremely helpful and courteous. We had a twin room that was very spacious and clean, with its own desk and plenty of space for 2 of us to use our computers. Breakfast was well presented with lots of choices.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear rosscoSdyney,

Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching!

Thank you so much!! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and the foods here at Sarawak, Pullman Kuching. We hope you travel to Sarawak, Malaysia again soon. I’m looking forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at Eric.TAN@accor.com

Thank you and best wishes to you.

Regards,
Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    520
    137
    31
    22
See reviews for
287
432
123
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Pullman Kuching is centrally located. Walking distance to waterfront. You can walk to many places like chinatown. There are many food outlets located nearby. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Requests are immediately attended to. Rooms are very spacious and clean. It is really value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for high floors so that you can enjoy the city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Fook On N,

Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching!

Thanks a lot for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I’m looking forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at Eric.TAN@accor.com

Thank you and best wishes to you.

Regards,
Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Pullman was one of the newest hotel in Kuching even though it is already four years old, as I read somewhered. The first thing that strikes me as I enter the lobby for the first time was the spacious, high-glass ceilinged and walled, reception area. I walked in at around noon and can't help but feel amazed by the wonderful sensation of 'out of this world-ish' grandeur, with the bright sun shining through the ceiling and walls coupled with the cooled, smoke-free, air-conditioned interior. It is also connected to the Hills shopping mall for added convenience plus there are rows of shop houses around it. Taxis are abundant outside the lobby and the river front is also within a short walking distance. I would say that the location is ideal if you are looking to stay in Kuching city area. The room was tile-floored, spacious and clean with comfortable king-size bed and luxurious beddings. The bath room was also spacious with both shower cubicle (the largest amongst all hotels I have been to) and a bath-tub. Basic amenities like coffeee making stuffs, iron and ironing board was provided. However, it was simply too " bright, cold and hard" and too "hygienic" to my liking. In other words, it sort of made sure that you remember, you are just staying temporarily in a hotel room. It lacks that homely, warm and cosy feeling. But I love the coffee mugs, though. For me, I would prefer the other much cheaper hotel in Kuching that I stayed in two weeks ago. It is just a matter of individual preference but to be fair, the Pullman gave good facilities and service all round. The food are also good with a wide buffet choice for breakfast. One small thing, there was a fly that keeps bugging me at my table. Could it be the same one observed by a previous reviewer? Another small grouse is regarding room wi-fi. First, It was not really fast, it fact it took quite a long time for me to download a copy of the STAR e-paper on a Sunday morning. Second, you can only connect one device at a time using the room ID. So, you have to disconnect from one device in order to re-connect to another, which, I think is an unneccesary procedure. If the intention is to limit wi-fi traffic from each room, it does not really work, actually. On the other hand, it could irritate room guests, like it did to me. Nowadays you can always use 'Connectify' to share network among devices. Overall, I would say that the hotel will score well with most people. One last note regarding booking. I called the hotel number to make a reservation but nobody answered. I then called the toll free 1-800 number. It was answered and I was helped with the reservation. However, the call duration was unusually long at 16mins 24seconds, a substantial amount of time spent on spelling out my name and place of work, letter by letter. It was quite annoying for me because my name is quite common and simple in Malaysia and my employer is a very well known organisation in Malaysia. One reason could be language/cultural barrier. Probably I am asking too much because since it was a hotel in Malaysia, I expected a local staff to answer my call. I was also quoted a much higher room rate, but when I mentioned the lower rates published by the hotel website, he asked me how much??, and after a short-to-medium wait, proposed the same rate as on the internet. My advice is to check out several sources for the best room rate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Khairi W,

Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching!

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear you had difficulty experience in our hotel. We always to try to ensure our services in the very best and to get good hospitality service in a timely manner. I’m looking forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at Eric.TAN@accor.com.

Best wishes to you!

Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I'm positively sure that this hotel was build for people who are in town for business. Its very professional looking. The rooms are reasonable in size and the matress are very comfortable. The pillows on the hand are nice and soft but a bit too soft for me. Well, they can't please everybody can they??? I'm sure there are many people out there who loves soft pillows :). The Bathroom is huge, with a shower place and a bathtub.

The breakfast was yummy!!! I like the Laksa, but besides that they had a variety of choices...so it was good! The sad thing to this was, like a review I read on this hotel, there was a fly flying around the pastry section....:(. I was hoping that review would be wrong...but it was right..unfortunately... and I'm actually surprise that none of the staff did anything about it. Why is that so I wonder???

But overall, very nice hotel. If you are on a Business Trip, its the hotel for you. If you down with your Family and would like a really clean hotel, then this is also the hotel for you...but if you want a place that is nice and homey...then maybe not. But I'm guessing most of us are more interested on the cleanliness of the hotel more than anything else.

Ok, getting way too long winded here. That's it from me! Over and out!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear jacqie_yee,

Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching!

I would like to thank you for your feedback on recent stay with us. We will review the shortfall for future improvements. I’m looking forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at Eric.TAN@accor.com.

Best wishes to you!

Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Pullman delivered comfort and convenience during our 2 night stay in Kuching, Sarawak. The staff were professional, our room was spacious with a plush bed and functional facilities, and most importantly, the hotel is within walking distance of most major attractions and restaurants. It is situated just above the Hills shopping mall and is only minutes away from Topspot, an open air seafood foodcourt that is popular with both locals and tourists. The Pullman has definitely set the benchmark for a luxurious hotel accomodation in the heart of Kuching.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Jollivet,

Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching!

Thanks a lot for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I’m looking forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at Eric.TAN@accor.com.

Thank you and best wishes to you.

Regards,
Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi, Malaysia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Though it is 4yrs old, the property still looks new. Excellent!!! I was upgraded to the executive level for some strange unknown reason. Very happy. The girls on the executive floor are super efficient & go out of their way to assist you. True Borneo hospitality that I have been enjoying for a long....long time.

The only downfall is some of the young staffs are totally untrained, forget to smile and has lost their Sarawakian Hospitality. Especially the front desk staffs on night shift. Oh that is a total letdown for Pullman. Kindly train your front liners down there and not to take things for granted as the business can just drop, just because this people.

Nevertheless, I would recommend anyone & everyone to this property still because they have more plus then minus. The banquet staffs for Petra II was awesome too. This is one of a few hotel that enjoy having meals. Normally I avoid. Truly good food.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Baskie,

Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching!

Thanks a lot for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We will review the shortfall for future improvements. I’m looking forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at Eric.TAN@accor.com.

Thank you and best wishes to you.

Regards,
Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Kuching

Address: No. 1A, Jalan Mathies, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#1 Family Hotel in Kuching
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
#3 Business Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Kuching 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Kuching is the newest addition to the 5-stars international brand in the city. Located in the heart of Kuching on top of the hill at Jalan Mathies, Pullman Kuching offers astonishing panoramic view of the city and the Sarawak River. The hotel is adjacent to a two storey city life-style shopping centre “Hills Shopping Mall” and within walking distance to commercial centre and city attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Pullman Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Kuching Hotel Kuching
Pullman Kuching Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Kuching, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.