We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay but definitely not 5-star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Kuching

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Kuching to your Saves list
Pullman Kuching
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 1A, Jalan Mathies, Kuching 93100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Kuching
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good stay but definitely not 5-star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We travelled with a family of 5 booking 3 rooms. During our initial booking we specifically requested for non-smoking rooms & when we checked in we were all given smoking rooms without them informing us of checking with us if its fine. When we discovered this we called front office requesting for change of rooms, which she quickly obliged sending the bell boy to our rooms with the new key cards & taking our luggages to the new rooms.

We were not disappointed with rooms neither were we thrilled with it either. Room & bathroom are huge. Bedspread, pillows, towels are clean but shower shelf is falling apart, shower gel & shampoo are not replenished next day. Our face towels were removed but not replaced. In the 2nd room the rain shower is not working & we had to use the handheld shower as we did not want the hassle of changing room again. Minibar is empty. We saw dirty room service tray in the corridor since the evening before & it's cleared out only the following evening. It was raining heavily one morning & we asked the concierge if we could loan an umbrella & we were informed that they had run out of umbrellas. Wifi password also ran out early in the morning but we managed to get one in the late afternoon. Lobby lounge have night live band entertainment which is not really pleasing to the ears(loud & tacky). We had booked the Explorer room package which entitles us to RM50 credit per room(not valid for room service). We were informed upon check in that we could combined all the bills for the 3 rooms to get RM150 credit. On check out they refused to give us the all the credit as they said we had to sign the restaurant bills to each individual room. After a quick heated argument they sorted everything out for us & we got our full credit.

Good points are there is a 24hr convenience store just round the corner of the hotel. It is walking distance to the famous Topspot seafood eating place. You can walk to Kuching Waterfront (15mins walk), where is a night mini bazaar, street performers & you can take the boat across to the other side of the river to buy the famous Sarawak layer cake. Breakfast is awesome too.

Would I stay at this hotel again? No! We will choose the Hilton which is conveniently located at the Kuching Waterfront. Our family friend living in Kuching informed us that Hilton service is far more superior.

Pullman hotel definitely charges 5-star prices (Kuching standard) but does not offer the level of service of a 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Lavillion, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are rest assured and rectify the shortfall for future improvements. I’m looking forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at eric.tan@accor.com.

Best wishes to you!

Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    520
    137
    31
    22
See reviews for
287
432
123
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

very happy to stay a this hotel very comfort and very nice to stay 5 days in here...wonderful moments..very good staff and helpfull...

the food is so delicious....and the room is so clean

the ballroom so big and very comfort, the water is so fresh...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Yohanfengshui, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I would like thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I’m looking forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at eric.tan@accor.com.

Best wishes to you!

Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Overall it's a very good hotel, located right in the golden triangle of Kuching, within walking distance to Waterfront area. The only thing that they need to improve is their service, as a Le Club Platinum member, they should give me welcome drink and gift, but they did not. Also, I did request for some stuff to be send to my room, but it took decades to reach my room. Hope to have a better experience on my upcoming stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear A TripAdvisor Member, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We will review the shortfall for future improvements.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at eric.tan@accor.com.

Best wishes to you!

Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a superb Hotel. The Rooms are smart, fresh and clean. It has lovely swimming pool and a very nice Spa. Its Restaurants serve very good food and its Cafe Chat is great for coffee and snacks. It is fully air-conditioned of course and the Rooms cost from arounf £50 per night. You would pay for times that at least in major European Cities. And the sevice is of the highest level. A delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Terry B, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I would like thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I’m looking forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at eric.tan@accor.com.

Best wishes to you!

Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Pullman Kuching Hotel is a Nice Hotel.
The Staffs very warm feeling and Helpful.
However WIFI Service always need to Input Password a bit Trouble for us.
Also Printing those Small Password Paper NOT ENVIROMENTAL Support.
Waste Lots of Paper and Ink.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear THOMASWAI2005, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I would like thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are rest assured to review the shortfall for future improvements. I'm looking forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at eric.tan@accor.com.

Best wishes to you!

Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night and liked the hotel as a whole, the breakfast was really good and the rooms were spacious, but the view from the window is not as great as Hilton. The service was good but the key to the room kept getting deactivated though we didnt keep it close to any electronic device. so we had to come down a few extra times to activate the key. The hotel pool is awesome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Nithn, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I would like thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are rest assured and review the shortfall for future improvements. I’m looking forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at eric.tan@accor.com.

Best wishes to you!

Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed in this property a couple of times in their superior room. Initially, it was great, new and cheap (during accor hotel sales). However, recently, rooms esp superior are starting to run down, bed not as comfy, bathroom no hot water and not as clean generally. So, not as value for money as before. My last stay, we were upgraded to a Deluxe Room. Twin beds are really tiny, though the room and bathroom are huge. Maybe should try their King bed next time. Now that I have stayed in the deluxe room, I will not mind to pay a little bit extra rather than superior room. Room size is twice as big. Good if you have kids as you will have more space for them to move around.

Pool is ok, kid's pool is rather boring. very business like. A small playground maybe suitable for kids until 3. Gym looks good though did not try.

Location suppose to be good as it is attached to a mall, The Spring. However, apart from a few and limited restaurants, the mall is practically empty. No anchor tenant, no grocery stall to get your basic needs.

So, in conclusion I wouldn't mind staying at this property if the price is right...or else I would prefer the Citadines.

Room Tip: If you must stay, choose Deluxe room or higher for family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Cherryl03, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We will review the shortfall for future improvements. I’m looking forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at eric.tan@accor.com.

Best wishes to you!

Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Kuching

Address: No. 1A, Jalan Mathies, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#1 Family Hotel in Kuching
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
#3 Business Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Kuching 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Kuching is the newest addition to the 5-stars international brand in the city. Located in the heart of Kuching on top of the hill at Jalan Mathies, Pullman Kuching offers astonishing panoramic view of the city and the Sarawak River. The hotel is adjacent to a two storey city life-style shopping centre “Hills Shopping Mall” and within walking distance to commercial centre and city attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Pullman Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Kuching Hotel Kuching
Pullman Kuching Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Kuching, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.