We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable new hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Kuching

Save Saved
You added Pullman Kuching to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pullman Kuching
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 1A, Jalan Mathies, Kuching 93100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 46 hotels in Kuching
Singapore
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Comfortable new hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

It's like what almost every other reviewer here has said - this is a fine hotel to stay in Kuching.

Due to the expectation created by the other reviews, it was not suprising that I too had a good impression of the hotel. The lobby or foyer created a good first impression. It had very high ceiling, and was spacious, neat and bright. I checked in on a Saturday afternoon but surprisingly, it was rather quiet and a bit sleepy if I may say. There were plenty of sofas and seats in the lobby area. The receptionist was not overtly friendly but went about her job with a quiet efficiency.

I had a room on the 6th floor but that already gave quite a good view of the town as the hotel was situated on elevated ground. The room was tidy. There was no stale or other odour from previous occupants . There was a rain-shower as well as a separate bath-tub. The toiletries came in well-designed packs and containers.

My sole complaint about the room was that it did not have wi-fi. You could connect via cable to your laptop but there was no wireless connection. This was very surprising to me given the fact that wi-fi was readily available even in less-posh hotels in places like Thailand and Indonesia. To access wi-fi, you need to go to the hotel lobby. The password was available from the front-desk.

The hotel was said to have a good fitness and health club but I did not have time to try it. Room massage was not available.

The only other facility I tried was the lounge at the lobby. The band was way too loud though and made quiet conversation impossible.

There was a shopping mall connected to the hotel. The lifts to access the mall were quite packed at night as it seemed that many people parked their vehicles in the mall rather than the hotel. The mall was nothing to shout about. You could finish it in 10 minutes.

If you want to stay in a nice and new hotel in Kuching, this undoubtedly is the place to go.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Valued Customer, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I thank you for your feedbacks regarding your recent stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at eric.tan@accor.com.

Best wishes to you!

Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    507
    457
    117
    25
    22
See reviews for
245
389
112
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed at the Pullman for 3 nights, the hotel is grand and can be seen from allover the city, the foyer is elegant and well serviced.
The rooms are large and very clean, there is a great room service menu and the prices were very reasonable.
The hotel has a pool area and a well equipped gym. I will stay here again when I next pass through Sarawak

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Valued Customer, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I thank you for your feedbacks regarding your recent stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at eric.tan@accor.com.

Best wishes to you!

Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusa Dua, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

HOTEL/LOCATION:- Pullman is d newest 5 star hotel in Kuching, about 2 yrs old. Very
reasonably priced@appx US$100 for a large Executive room on d highest floors.

Pullman is situated on highest point of Kuching city, with stunning panoramic views all d way to Santubong beach n d hills. Pullman is also in d heart of Kuching, with an in-house mall which (although is fairly quiet) has several F&B outlets, including local Bing Coffee. RoofTop Seafood is just across d road. Main Bazaar & The Curve mall are just 5 mins walk away. Chinatown &
Kuching's best laksa Chong Choon (sold out by 10am) appx 10mins walk.

Hotel has free basement parking.

SPECIAL MENTION:- Very good Breakfast, with must try Kuching laksa/omelette/noodle soup cooking station. Small Japanese section. Main courses - Western & local options - include nasi lemak, which alternates daily between chicken curry n beef rendang.

ROOMS:- Great size rooms. Firm bed. Pillows just right - not too hard, not too
soft. Beautiful bathroom. Spotless housekeeping. Only negative is AC badly positioned n poor temperature control. AC blows right onto my bed, its freezing cold by 3am, even when I set
AC@24•C. Had to switch AC off@4am every night.


SUGGESTION:- Splurge a little for Executive floor room - well worth it, coz of d
view n d Executive Floor service & perks, chiefly sunset snacks & drinks, including some nice quality wine.

Trip not complete without visit to Kuching's best (non-halal) kolo mee at 182 Green Rd (get there early coz they close by 1pm). So, be an early bird or be an angry bird!

CONCLUSION: Can't wait to visit Kuching again soon just to chill@Pullman for d
weekend. Couldn't recommend Pullman Kuching more.

Room Tip: Worth the money to upgrade to Executive Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Valued Customer, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I thank you for your feedbacks regarding your recent stay with us. Rest assured that we will review the shortfall for future improvements. I look forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at eric.tan@accor.com.

Best wishes to you!

Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

First time me & my family (i came with mom&cousin) arrived, automatically we came forward to the front office to check in. i like the hospitality of the staff, and told her that i booked superior twin room online through accor site. Because we don't want to be seperated, i booked only 1 room.
Afraid i don't get the room considering booked only just one day before, i asked for a deluxe room too.
In my out of expectation, i got the room, even got upgraded to a deluxe room with the same price as superior room. Thankyu Pullman!
i like the way how hotel treat special to their customer, especially their member.

We got room at 1705, a classy clean room with an add of cozy big chair and a big space of bathroom.
Its true according to their ads.. room with fantastic view, the city, the river,
even Mt. Santubong (if im not mistaken), so mesmerizing.
we stayed at pullman 4 days 3nights, turn out that duration wasn't enough for us to explore Khucing.
So sory we didn't have enough time to visit Bako, caves,longhouse, even Jong farm.

For the food, we kinda not to fond with the culinary, or perhaps because unfortunately i had a sore teeth.
But i liked so much the breakfast menu, and Laksa sarawak at pulman, so yummy!

Just a minor lack, is when i read about my reservation package, i should have got F&B worth MYR 50 nett, and spa voucher valid at Pullman.
i told that to staff when we check out, she only told me that next time i should ask for it.

but Overall..
our visit to Khucing with beautiful city, forest&all is so pleasant, and for sure, we got Great hotel to stay in.

Im looking forward to stay again to one of accor hotel.
Definitely!











  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Valued Customer, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I thank you for your feedbacks regarding your recent stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at eric.tan@accor.com.

Best wishes to you!

Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All Over
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights, and got upgraded to a deluxe room as our first room had a very strong smell of cigerettes, even though it was a non smoking room. Great views from the spotless and beautifully finished room, and nice to shower while looking across kuching! Good breakfast, nice cafe and great pool. Wife had a pedicure which she said was excellent.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Valued Customer, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I thank you for your feedbacks regarding your recent stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at eric.tan@accor.com.

Best wishes to you!

Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northamptonshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We spent two nights in Kuching en route between Kota Kinabalu and Singapore. Chose the Pullman on the strength of the Tripadvisor reviews. What a great find. Spacious rooms, nice pool, tasty bar snacks, excellent location. All this at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Valued Customer, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I thank you for your feedbacks regarding your recent stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at eric.tan@accor.com.

Best wishes to you!

Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pullman Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Kuching

Address: No. 1A, Jalan Mathies, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuching
#1 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#3 Business Hotel in Kuching
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Kuching 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Kuching is the newest addition to the 5-stars international brand in the city. Located in the heart of Kuching on top of the hill at Jalan Mathies, Pullman Kuching offers astonishing panoramic view of the city and the Sarawak River. The hotel is adjacent to a two storey city life-style shopping centre “Hills Shopping Mall” and within walking distance to commercial centre and city attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Pullman Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Kuching Hotel Kuching
Pullman Kuching Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Kuching, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.