We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 separate visits and only one mistake-- not bad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Kuching

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Kuching to your Saves list
Pullman Kuching
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 1A, Jalan Mathies, Kuching 93100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Kuching
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“2 separate visits and only one mistake-- not bad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed here two separate times, divided by a trip to Bako National Park. I would highly recommend this property. Of all the nice hotels we stayed in in Malaysia, this was by far our favorite. The rooms are beautiful, breakfast excellent (get the laksa sarawak), service great. They have a decent gym and a 25 meter lap swimming pool, which was very welcome.The only mistake made was on our second visit when we were given a room on a smoking floor without the front desk inquiring as to our preference. Not good, as we did smell smoke (people smoke in the hallways). The lobby bar is wildly overpriced - $11 US for a beer. Overall, the hotel is excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Get a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    520
    136
    31
    22
See reviews for
286
432
123
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
namur
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

as it wask ranked high on trip advisor and as a new hotel i chhose the pullman instead of the hilton ( renovation ) yes it is new, yes the rooms are big and modern, yes it has a pool and free wifi but...even with the aircon off you feel a very icy draft on the bad,the pool is all concrete area with no umbrellas and 2 covered large sunbed, the whole hotel is freezingly cold and i felt more like being in a huge concrete train station no charm at all so managed to move the nxt day to the hilton renovation finished, and loads of charm and staff amazing couldnt do enough for you, lovly,quiet pool with umbrellas and palm tree/grass, nice bar
kids pool appart
hilton is a wee bit more expensive but worth the extra money and you are straight on the river with a fantasticview
the pullman is more a business/group hotel

Room Tip: ask to be upgraded toclub floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Valued Customer, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I thank you for your feedbacks regarding your recent stay with us. Rest assured that we will review the shortfall for future improvements. Best wishes to you! Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Our New Years stay was superb. The hotel is located in the centre of everything, so great for walking/exploring Kuching.
Just a few minutes walk from the foodie delights of Top Spot Seafood & The Junk/Blah Blah Blah. Riverfront & Chinatown is close too.
It's very new so everything is spotlessly clean & looks like it will be kept that way.
Rooms & bathrooms were large with very comfortable beds (the most comfortable I've slept in in a long time). Nice extras were the yoga mats & weights. We had evening sunsets over the mountains.
The pool is nice & large, perfect temperature. Didn't try the spa but it also looks good. Used the jacuzzi, steam room & sauna though, which were excellent.
Staff were very courteous and super helpful.
Breakfast buffet is immense. Quality very high and something for everyone. I totally over ate. The coffee is a bit on the weak side but we asked for a stronger one and they brought it quickly & with a smile.
Thank you, all you wonderful staff at Pullman Kuching for making our stay a joy.

Room Tip: The rooms on the pool side get a sunset over the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Valued Customer, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I thank you for your feedbacks regarding your recent stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching. Best wishes to you! Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei Darussalam
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights with a family of 8. The Hotel was very new and clean, in a nice location with an enjoyable walk down to the waterfront.

My only gripe was the lobby. It is an open two story lobby, and there was a family convention going on the entire time we were there. It was uncomfortably loud all day, with cheering and singing from the convention-goers, which one could not escape except by speeding to the elevator to get to one's room.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyong, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We paid a little extra and stayed in a club room. We were treated first class from the moment we arrived with private check-in, welcome drinks, cold washer. Our room was on floor 21 which had awesome views over looking the city. The room was large with king size comfortable bed which included a pillow menu so you get the exact type of pillow you liked. I absolutely loved the bathroom, one of the nicest I have been in ( you could lay in the bath and have an outlook of the city with huge window over the bath. Room service was adequate and housekeeping were excellent, a funny little story, my 8yo daughter was sick in the bed and we needed the sheets changed, we rang housekeeping telling them my daughter was sick and we needed to change the bed, about 6 staff came running to our room to take the whole bed out of the room in a matter of minutes :~) .
Being in club room we got free cocktail and a huge variety of snacks in the evening and free soft drink through the day and free use of computers with internet. The staff were great and when my daughter wasn't there they asked why, telling them she was sick in the room they packed up a plate of food to take to her.
The hotel is new and they did a lovely job with it, the pool area is great with spa bath, and baby pool as well as a huge main pool, lounges with cushions to laze about on as well as pool lounges and table and chairs. The gym seemed big with plenty of people using it.
Breakfast was great with a wide variety. The hotel was in a good location, about a 3 min walk up a slight hill from the river. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Our 1st time staying at this hotel, in a Superior Room, on a non-smoking floor.
We like the following.

- A large shower head in addition to the normal size shower head
- The very comfortable bed & pillows
- The prompt service from housekeeping
- The helpful & well-informed reception staff
- The flexibility of staff (Although the New Year's eve dinner at the 22nd floor was fully booked, a senior staff of them showed us to the top floor dining area. This facility was only meant for exclusive use by hotel guests at the executive floors from 19 to 23).
- proximity to the Waterfront area via a very short downhill walk via Green Hill Rd
- proximity to Top Spot Seafood Centre
- wifi access was easily available
- comfortable & cosy waiting area adjacent to the Reception & outside the Chinese restuarant.

Although the hotel did not have a strategic view of the Sarawak River, this was more than made up for by the above.

Special mention - On New Year's Eve, the staff from different departments, emerged from the restaurant, walked around the lobby, up to the 2nd floor, into the PoolSide bar, banging & clanging pots & pans and other implements to ringing the New Year. That was unexpected & a welcome sight. Kudos to the organising committee responsible for this.

Everything was fine, except for the cab service waiting outside the hotel's entrance, which in our view took advantage & preyed on unsuspecting hotel guests.
We had expected the cab driver to use metered fare.
The cab driver "slapped" a RM15 fare from Pullman Hotel to Spring Shopping centre. a mere 7 to 10 mins drive.
Although this was not directly related to the hotel features &/or services, that negative encounter marred an otherwise great stay experience.

We hope the hotel's management can do something about this.
Either put up notices to warn guests of this unsavoury practice or work out an arrangement with the cabbies to levy a surcharge on top of the metered fare. The surcharge for waiting at the hotel, or something else.
If the hotel can be on top of this, then everything would be tip top.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Kuching

Address: No. 1A, Jalan Mathies, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#1 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#1 Family Hotel in Kuching
#3 Business Hotel in Kuching
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Kuching 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Kuching is the newest addition to the 5-stars international brand in the city. Located in the heart of Kuching on top of the hill at Jalan Mathies, Pullman Kuching offers astonishing panoramic view of the city and the Sarawak River. The hotel is adjacent to a two storey city life-style shopping centre “Hills Shopping Mall” and within walking distance to commercial centre and city attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Pullman Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Kuching Hotel Kuching
Pullman Kuching Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Kuching, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.