We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Kuching

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Kuching to your Saves list
Pullman Kuching
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 1A, Jalan Mathies, Kuching 93100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Kuching
nottingham
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Inexpensive luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed in the Pullman in a very short 2 night stay in Kuching.

The hotel is excellently located and the room was amazing (we had a superior king room - booked via agoda for £74 in total).

The room was very spacious, the staff very friendly. The hotel restaurant is buffet on a weekend, which was good. The view from the hotel was great as well - really nice view of the river.

we were advised by a travel guide in another part of Borneo that Kuching restaurants do not have great hygiene standards, so recommended eatting in hotels. However if you dont fancy the hotel menu, there is also a shopping centre under the hotel which has a few good options from tex mexx to sushi etc.

Also, try out the pastries for breakfast - the pain au chocolate is delicious!

We were there such a short amount of time so didnt get chance to try the bar or pool, but they looked really nice.

The hotel itself is very new, so everything is of a great quality.

whilst in Kuching, take a trip along the waterfront and visit the antique stores - the best are away from the main road along china street.

Room Tip: So inexpensive worth upgrading!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    520
    136
    31
    22
See reviews for
286
432
123
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

The room was nice and the bed was very comfortable. There was an internet access point in the room but no WiFi which only accessible at the lobby area. Need to ask for a complicated username/password from the front desk in order to access the WiFi each time, quite troublesome. The staffs were very helpful and service was good. Good location, very near to TopSpot Seafood center.
Overall, it was a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We booked 2 rooms with another friend & his lovely wife. One of the room was upgraded to a very beautiful Premium Deluxe Room. The view was fantastic, just memorable (we had tea everynight in this room to appreciate the superb view & chit-chat). The staff were all very friendly & attentive. We were greeted & welcomed at any corner, it makes any guest feel really good, especially early in the morning. Check-in/check-out was smooth, fast & v.satisfying. Clean & beautiful rooms were a big plus (we slept very well), very clean bathroom, nice lobby. The only issue was the lobby lounge... we wanted to have a drink in the evening & relax, have a chat. However, the live band was so loud & noisy that it really turned us off. Other than that, all's well and fine, strongly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

The best thing about having to stay there is the value for money! It's slap right in the city centre, the room is clean, service aren't the best as there are still lots of room for improvement. But other than Good Value for money and location.....
I do think that the room needs to be well lid and not too dim...
It gives me free internet access! which is GREAT for a business trip! :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

stayed 4 nights here for business trip. it currently runs a promotion with free internet and chance to win some electronic gadgets. i didn't win any but get a RM50 voucher, which i used for a fantastic lunch. Lunch doesn't have Salmon or Oyster, those familiar food that i am expecting from a 5 star hotel, but is decent. Do try the sarawak laksa and the panini salad, both i find to be nice.

the internet speed is really slow (internet speed test result: http://www.speedtest.net/result/1537396672.png), so i would think it is good to have it for free, but not really worth the money if i am charged for it.

i love the really big gym room with well kept equipment. it even has a big section enough for you to have an aerobic class with 30+ participants. there is also a jacuzzi, sauna and steam bath, and a half olympic size swimming pool, all i find well kept, cozy and well suited for business traveler.

one downside is perhaps due to the relatively new hotel, some of the staffs are pretty inexperienced but is not a big deal as they are courteous will try to get an answer from their superior. However, i do encounter a spoilt air condition system in my room, and it took the hotel 2 nights to solve it. And that is after i made 3 calls to them (the first time no one come, the second time a technican came, promised to fix it the next morning, but didn't show up the next day, the 3rd time another technician came, and eventually he fixed it another morning later). i can't accept the fact that the first and second time my problem gets ignored....

anyhow, overall i still think this is a good hotel to stay for business trip in Kuching. it is located on top of Hills, an upmarket shopping mall with Toyrus and Times bookstore, both i find the most interesting store i have found nearby. it is also pretty near to some city tourist hotspot, like the museum and water front, although i only love the museum

Room Tip: the room has a big window and have a very great panorama view for the sarawak river. my room is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Service is good, room is fine but could have been better if hotel provide full amenities in bathroom.

However, there is no WiFi access in the room, only LAN internet but for Mac Book Air user, it is very inconvenient as I can only use internet in the Lobby and the speed is unacceptably slow.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed here twice. The first time we had a wonderful experience, with a beautiful deluxe room overlooking the city. We were taken back by the view. Everything was great. Newspaper delivered, internet access in room etc. On our return, even though we'd booked a deluxe room we were unable to have one and were put into a family room on the other side of the building. This was a bigger room, however, because we were there, we no longer got access to the internet, we did not get a newspaper in the morning, and even though we had paid more than the first 3 days we were there, it was not nearly as good. Based on our first experience rating would have definitely been 5 stars, but our return was disappointing.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms on a high floor are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Kuching

Address: No. 1A, Jalan Mathies, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#1 Family Hotel in Kuching
#3 Business Hotel in Kuching
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Kuching 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Kuching is the newest addition to the 5-stars international brand in the city. Located in the heart of Kuching on top of the hill at Jalan Mathies, Pullman Kuching offers astonishing panoramic view of the city and the Sarawak River. The hotel is adjacent to a two storey city life-style shopping centre “Hills Shopping Mall” and within walking distance to commercial centre and city attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Pullman Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Kuching Hotel Kuching
Pullman Kuching Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Kuching, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.